Wed, 11 Jan 2023
Events, Seminar Series

Prof. Tehshik Yoon

University of Wisconsin-Madison

Base Metals in Photoredox Oxidation Reactions

Wednesday, January 11, 2023
ASB10900 @ 3:30 p.m.

Host: Dr. Robert Britton



Photocatalysis offers a uniquely facile strategy for the generation of a wide variety of open-shell intermediates, and the development of new photoredox transformations based upon their reactivity has been a major theme of research in the past decade. This broad effort has led to the development of a remarkable variety of net redox-neutral and, to a lesser extent, net-reductive transformations of significant synthetic utility. The development of net-oxidative photoredox transformations, in contrast, has been somewhat slower, due to the incompatibility of photoredox conditions with many of the terminal oxidants that are ideally suited to ground-state oxidative catalysis. We propose that simple base metal salts are inexpensive, earth-abundant, and environmentally benign terminal oxidants that readily support the one-electron oxidation state changes typical of photoredox reactions. Their incorporation into the design of photoredox reactions enable a broad range of useful net oxidative photochemical transformations.

Presenting Author’ Biography

Dr. Tehshik Yoon has been on the faculty at UW-Madison since 2005, where he is a Professor in the Department of Chemistry. He remains intrigued by the unique ability of chemical synthesis to control molecular shape and function with an atomic level of control. His research group is particularly interested in the application of open-shelled reactive intermediates such as heteroatom-centered radicals, alkene radical cations, and electronically excited organic triplets to complex molecule synthesis.


His selected awards include the following:

  • Friedrich Wilhelm Bessel Award (2015)
  • William H. Kiekhofer Distinguished Teaching Award (2013)
  • Eli Lilly Grantee Award (2010)
  • Camille Dreyfus Teacher-Scholar Award (2010)
  • Amgen Young Investigator Award (2009)
  • Alfred P. Sloan Research Fellowship (2009)
  • Cottrell Scholar Award (2008)
  • Beckman Young Investigator Award (2008)
  • NSF CAREER Award (2007)