French Cohort Program in Public and International Affairs

Because our students are driven by curiosity, one discipline is not enough.

The French Cohort Program (FCP) allows you to explore three fields of study on your path towards a BA: Political Science, French and History. While studying topics as broad as international diplomacy, Canadian policy and French, you will not only learn theory, you will apply it through hands-on community projects and bilingual job opportunities. After being fully immersed in a European or Quebecois setting during your third-year student exchange, you will come back inspired and ready to take on life.

Two languages, twice the opportunity.

Our students fearlessly take on the challenge of studying in both English and French because they know they are not alone. You will reap the benefits of attending a large university, while experiencing a personalized education: French language support, exclusive bursaries and, of course, your cohort, the small group that will become your university family.

Program Options

Regular Program

Alternative Programs

  • Major in Political Science with
    Extended Minor in French
  • Major in French with
    Extended Minor in Political Science
  • Double Major in Political Science and
    in French

Studies at SFU ...

Beginning in the Fall term, the FCP is ideally suited for those who plan to pursue full-time studies over a four-year period (see Admission and Enrollment).

The FCP courses offered by the Department of Political Science and the Department of History are taught primarily in French and include such topics as Canadian government and politics, research methods, public administration, public policy, governance, Canadian foreign policy, and Canadian and Quebec History. French courses, offered by the Department of French, consist of studies in French language, linguistics, francophone literatures and cultures (see the list of FCP courses).

In addition to these courses, you will have the opportunity to take elective courses taught in English and in French, participate in field studies and community-based projects, and attend cultural activities and community events.

… and in Quebec or Europe!

During your third year of studies, you will have the opportunity to participate in a student exchange program at a Francophone university in Quebec, France, Belgium or Switzerland further developing your understanding and knowledge of the Francophone world(see Exchange program).

A unique program for a personal learning experience

As part of a cohort, you will attend the majority of classes together with your FCP classmates for the duration of the program.  

  • Small class sizes and courses designed for the FCP
  • Great support network
  • Committed professors representing the Francophone world
  • FCP language tutor
  • FCP Student Advisor
  • Student Lounge and dedicated work space
  • Various scholarships and awards

Where can it take me?

If you are considering a future using both official languages, the FCP prepares you well for a career or graduate studies in various fields.

  • Community services
  • Diplomacy and international affairs
  • Education
  • International relations
  • Journalism
  • Law and justice
  • Private sector
  • Public policy and administration

fassfr

Au sujet du French Cohort Program

Le French Cohort Program (FCP) en administration publique et services communautaires vous offre la chance d’étudier dans les deux langues officielles du Canada à l’Université Simon Fraser (SFU) en Colombie-Britannique. Ce programme pluridisciplinaire, offert majoritairement en langue française, vous permet d’obtenir un B.A. avec les options de concentration en science politique et en français suivantes :

Programme régulier

Programmes alternatifs

  • Majeure en science politique avec
    Mineure prolongée en français
  • Majeure en français avec
    Mineure prolongée en science politique
  • Majeure en science politique et
    Majeure en français

Étudier à SFU …

Le FCP débute au trimestre d'automne chaque année. Il vise particulièrement ceux et celles qui ont l'intention de poursuivre des études universitaires à temps plein sur une période de quatre ans. (voir Admission et inscription).

Les cours du FCP donnés par le Département de science politique et par le Département  d’histoire sont offerts majoritairement en langue française. Ils portent sur des sujets tels que le gouvernement canadien, l’économie politique, la méthodologie de la recherche, l’administration publique, la gouvernance, l’histoire du Canada et l’histoire du Québec. Les cours de français offerts par le Département de français incluent des cours de langue, de linguistique, de littératures et de cultures d'expression française (voir la liste des cours du FCP).

En plus de suivre ces cours, vous aurez l’occasion de suivre des cours au choix en anglais et en français, de participer à des études sur le terrain et à des projets dans le milieu communautaire et d'assister aux activités culturelles et événements communautaires.

… et ailleurs! … au Québec ou en Europe

Durant la troisième année de vos études, vous aurez l’occasion de participer à un programme d’échange qui vous donne la chance d’étudier dans une université francophone au Québec, en France, en Belgique ou en Suisse, et de découvrir la francophonie mondiale (voir Programme d'échange).

Une expérience d'apprentissage personnalisé

En faisant partie d’une cohorte, vous allez suivre la majorité de vos cours ensemble avec vos camarades du FCP pour la durée du programme.

  • Petits groupes et cours conçus pour le FCP
  • Réseau de soutien exceptionnel
  • Corps professoral engagé, représentant toute la richesse de la francophonie mondiale
  • Appui linguistique pour le FCP
  • Conseillère pédagogique pour le FCP
  • Salon des étudiants et espace de travail réservé
  • Variété de bourses disponibles

Quoi faire après?

Si vous envisagez un avenir qui inclut les deux langues officielles, le FCP vous prépare bien pour une carrière ou pour des études supérieures dans plusieurs domaines.

  • Fonction publique du Canada
  • Secteur privé
  • Planification et développement communautaire
  • Administration publique gouvernementale (provinciale et municipale)
  • Politique, affaires étrangères, diplomatie   
  • Analyse des politiques et recherche
  • Droit international, relations internationales
  • Journalisme (presse, radio, télévision, internet)
  • Agences et organisations de développement international
  • Enseignement en français