Faculty and Associates

Leslie Armijo
Limited Term Associate Professor
Harbour Centre 7140
leslie_armijo@sfu.ca

Sumercan Bozkurt-Gungen (beginning August 1, 2019)
Visiting Faculty in International Studies

Jeffrey T. Checkel
Professor
Simons Chair in International Law and Human Security
jtcheckel@sfu.ca

Elizabeth Cooper
Assistant Professor
Harbour Centre 7170
778.782.8425
eccooper@sfu.ca

Christopher Gibson
Assistant Professor
Harbour Centre 7150
778.782.9580
clgibson@sfu.ca

Nicole Jackson
Associate Professor
Harbour Centre 7232
778.782.8424
nicole_jackson@sfu.ca

Brenda Lyshaug
Senior Lecturer
Harbour Centre 7160
778.782.4640
blyshaug@sfu.ca

Logan Masilamani
Limited-Term Lecturer
Harbour Centre 7130
masilama@sfu.ca

 

Tamir Moustafa
Director
Professor & Stephen Jarislowsky Chair
Harbour Centre 7238
778.782.8426
tmoustafa@sfu.ca

Gerardo Otero
Professor
Harbour Centre 7248
778.782.4508
otero@sfu.ca

Irene Pang
Assistant Professor
Harbour Centre 7272
778.782.9345
irene_pang@sfu.ca

Amyn B. Sajoo
Scholar-in-Residence and Limited-Term Lecturer
Harbour Centre 7130
asajoo@sfu.ca

Jason Stearns
Assistant Professor
Harbour Centre 7242
778.782.4693
jason_stearns@sfu.ca

FACULTY BY REGIONAL EXPERTISE

Africa

Elizabeth Cooper

Jason Stearns

Central Asia

Nicole Jackson

East Asia

Irene Pang

Europe

Jeffrey T. Checkel

Nicole Jackson

Paul Meyer

Latin America

Leslie Armijo

Christopher Gibson

Gerardo Otero

Middle East

Tamir Moustafa

Russia and the former Soviet Union

Nicole Jackson

South Asia

Leslie Armijo

Christopher Gibson

Irene Pang

Southeast Asia

Christopher Gibson

FACULTY BY RESEARCH FOCUS

Arms Control and Disarmament

Paul Meyer

Civil War

Jeffrey T. Checkel

Jason Stearns

Civil Society and Social Movements

Elizabeth Cooper

Christopher Gibson

Tamir Moustafa

Gerardo Otero

Irene Pang

Jason Stearns

Diplomacy

Paul Meyer

Nicole Jackson

Environment

Brenda Lyshaug

Gerardo Otero

Ethnicity and Ethnic Politics

Food, Agrarian and Rural Studies

Gerardo Otero

Forced Migration

Elizabeth Cooper

Gender

Brenda Lyshaug

Governance

Tamir Moustafa

Irene Pang

Human Rights and Humanitarianism

Jeffrey T. Checkel

Elizabeth Cooper

Brenda Lyshaug

Jason Stearns

Inequality

Christopher Gibson

Gerardo Otero

Irene Pang

International Development

Leslie Armijo

Elizabeth Cooper

Christopher Gibson

Gerardo Otero

Irene Pang

International Relations and International Organization

Jeffrey T. Checkel

Nicole Jackson

Andrew Mack

Paul Meyer

Jason Stearns

Labour

Gerardo Otero

Irene Pang

Law and Society

Tamir Moustafa

Irene Pang

Political Economy

Leslie Armijo

Gerardo Otero

Religion and Politics

Tamir Moustafa

Security Studies

Brenda Lyshaug

Nicole Jackson

Paul Meyer

Jason Stearns

Transnationalism

Jeffrey T. Checkel