ASI110

Chinese/English Simultaneous Interpretation

If you're a trained Mandarin Chinese/English interpreter, this two-month course offers training for you to ultimately become a simultaneous interpreter. You'll acquire basic skills and commonly used strategies and techniques through hands-on practice combined with lessons in cultural nuances.

Take advantage of the early bird discount and guarantee your seat today. Register 10 days before the start date, and we will reduce your course fee by 10%.

PRE-REGISTRATION EXERCISES

We encourage you to take our online pre-registration exercises before registering. These exercises will give you a general idea of the skills you need to master during training in the course. They are the building blocks for simultaneous interpreting (SI) skills.

Overview

Location: Online
Duration: 2 months
Tuition: $2,550

You may also be interested in:

Upcoming Offerings

Start Date
Schedule
Location
Instructor
Cost
Seats
Available
Action
Start DateFri, Jul 7, 2023
Schedule
  • Fri, Jul 7, 6:30 p.m. – 9:30 p.m. Pacific Time (virtual class)
  • Sat, Jul 8, 6:30 p.m. – 9:30 p.m. Pacific Time (virtual class)
  • Fri, Jul 14, 6:30 p.m. – 9:30 p.m. Pacific Time (virtual class)
  • Sat, Jul 15, 6:30 p.m. – 9:30 p.m. Pacific Time (virtual class)
  • Fri, Jul 21, 6:30 p.m. – 9:30 p.m. Pacific Time (virtual class)
  • Sat, Jul 22, 6:30 p.m. – 9:30 p.m. Pacific Time (virtual class)
  • Fri, Jul 28, 6:30 p.m. – 9:30 p.m. Pacific Time (virtual class)
  • Sat, Jul 29, 6:30 p.m. – 9:30 p.m. Pacific Time (virtual class)
  • Fri, Aug 4, 6:30 p.m. – 9:30 p.m. Pacific Time (virtual class)
  • Sat, Aug 5, 6:30 p.m. – 9:30 p.m. Pacific Time (virtual class)
  • Fri, Aug 11, 6:30 p.m. – 9:30 p.m. Pacific Time (virtual class)
  • Sat, Aug 12, 6:30 p.m. – 9:30 p.m. Pacific Time (virtual class)
  • Fri, Aug 18, 6:30 p.m. – 9:30 p.m. Pacific Time (virtual class)
  • Sat, Aug 19, 6:30 p.m. – 9:30 p.m. Pacific Time (virtual class)
  • Fri, Aug 25, 6:30 p.m. – 9:30 p.m. Pacific Time (virtual class)
  • Sat, Aug 26, 6:30 p.m. – 9:30 p.m. Pacific Time (virtual class)
LocationOnline
InstructorHaiou Tan
Cost$2550.00
Seats Available30
ActionRegister
Start DateTue, Jul 2, 2024
Schedule
  • Tue, Jul 2, 6:30 p.m. – 8:30 p.m. Pacific Time (virtual class)
  • Sat, Jul 6, 1:00 p.m. – 5:00 p.m. Pacific Time (virtual class)
  • Tue, Jul 9, 6:30 p.m. – 8:30 p.m. Pacific Time (virtual class)
  • Sat, Jul 13, 1:00 p.m. – 5:00 p.m. Pacific Time (virtual class)
  • Tue, Jul 16, 6:30 p.m. – 8:30 p.m. Pacific Time (virtual class)
  • Sat, Jul 20, 1:00 p.m. – 5:00 p.m. Pacific Time (virtual class)
  • Tue, Jul 23, 6:30 p.m. – 8:30 p.m. Pacific Time (virtual class)
  • Sat, Jul 27, 1:00 p.m. – 5:00 p.m. Pacific Time (virtual class)
  • Tue, Jul 30, 6:30 p.m. – 8:30 p.m. Pacific Time (virtual class)
  • Sat, Aug 3, 1:00 p.m. – 5:00 p.m. Pacific Time (virtual class)
  • Tue, Aug 6, 6:30 p.m. – 8:30 p.m. Pacific Time (virtual class)
  • Sat, Aug 10, 1:00 p.m. – 5:00 p.m. Pacific Time (virtual class)
  • Tue, Aug 13, 6:30 p.m. – 8:30 p.m. Pacific Time (virtual class)
  • Sat, Aug 17, 1:00 p.m. – 5:00 p.m. Pacific Time (virtual class)
  • Tue, Aug 20, 6:30 p.m. – 8:30 p.m. Pacific Time (virtual class)
  • Sat, Aug 24, 1:00 p.m. – 5:00 p.m. Pacific Time (virtual class)
  • Tue, Aug 27, 6:30 p.m. – 8:30 p.m. Pacific Time (virtual class)
LocationOnline
InstructorHaiou Tan
Cost$2550.00
Seats Available30
ActionRegister

What you will learn

After completing this course, you’ll be able to do the following:

  • Be familiar with the fundamentals of the practice of simultaneous interpreting (SI)
  • Improve and develop verbal fluency, speed, diction, information load and terminology
  • Prepare and practise for various SI assignments
  • Understand commonly used SI knowledge, protocol and etiquette in various settings
  • Develop, perform, identify and demonstrate competency via real-life SI practices

How you will learn and be evaluated

  • Prepare to spend six to ten hours per week on coursework
  • Expect reading and other assignments on a weekly basis
  • Plan to access the course at least three times a week to keep up with your work and assignments

You will be evaluated on a pass/fail basis on:

  • Assignments and exercises
  • Participation in online discussions
  • Quizzes and examinations

Learning Materials

No textbook is required. We will provide all course materials online.

Technical Requirements

For online courses, you will need a computer with audio and microphone that is connected to the internet. Canvas is the online system that will be used for the course. For more information and online support, visit Online Learning.