ASI110

Chinese/English Simultaneous Interpretation

If you're a trained Mandarin Chinese/English interpreter, this two-month course offers training to work as a simultaneous interpreter. You'll acquire basic skills and commonly used strategies and techniques through hands-on practice combined with lessons in cultural nuances.

Take advantage of the early bird discount and guarantee your seat today. Register 10 days before the start date and we will reduce your course fee by 10%.

SELF-SCREENING TEST REQUIREMENT

Before you register, you will need to complete an online self-screening test to ensure you have the required skills to succeed in this course. To schedule your test, email us at caip@sfu.ca.

For the test, you’ll need a computer with internet, audio input/output, a webcam and an optional microphone. You will have one hour to complete two tasks:

1. Translate a written text orally from English to Chinese.

2. Demonstrate your oral consecutive interpretation skills by interpreting sentences that are read out to you.

We’ll contact you with your results within one week. If you wish, you’re welcome to try a practice test in advance: Practice Test.

Overview

Location: Online
Duration: 2 months
Tuition: $2,550

You may also be interested in:

Upcoming Offerings

Start Date
Schedule
Location
Instructor
Cost
Seats
Available
Action
Start DateTue, Jul 4, 2023
Schedule
  • Tue, Jul 4, 6:30 p.m. – 8:30 p.m. Pacific Time (virtual class)
  • Sat, Jul 8, 1:00 p.m. – 5:00 p.m. Pacific Time (virtual class)
  • Tue, Jul 11, 6:30 p.m. – 8:30 p.m. Pacific Time (virtual class)
  • Sat, Jul 15, 1:00 p.m. – 5:00 p.m. Pacific Time (virtual class)
  • Tue, Jul 18, 6:30 p.m. – 8:30 p.m. Pacific Time (virtual class)
  • Sat, Jul 22, 1:00 p.m. – 5:00 p.m. Pacific Time (virtual class)
  • Tue, Jul 25, 6:30 p.m. – 8:30 p.m. Pacific Time (virtual class)
  • Sat, Jul 29, 1:00 p.m. – 5:00 p.m. Pacific Time (virtual class)
  • Tue, Aug 1, 6:30 p.m. – 8:30 p.m. Pacific Time (virtual class)
  • Sat, Aug 5, 1:00 p.m. – 5:00 p.m. Pacific Time (virtual class)
  • Tue, Aug 8, 6:30 p.m. – 8:30 p.m. Pacific Time (virtual class)
  • Sat, Aug 12, 1:00 p.m. – 5:00 p.m. Pacific Time (virtual class)
  • Tue, Aug 15, 6:30 p.m. – 8:30 p.m. Pacific Time (virtual class)
  • Sat, Aug 19, 1:00 p.m. – 5:00 p.m. Pacific Time (virtual class)
  • Tue, Aug 22, 6:30 p.m. – 8:30 p.m. Pacific Time (virtual class)
  • Sat, Aug 26, 1:00 p.m. – 5:00 p.m. Pacific Time (virtual class)
  • Tue, Aug 29, 6:30 p.m. – 8:30 p.m. Pacific Time (virtual class)
LocationOnline
InstructorHaiou Tan
Cost$2550.00
Seats Available30
ActionRegister
Start DateTue, Jul 2, 2024
Schedule
  • Tue, Jul 2, 6:30 p.m. – 8:30 p.m. Pacific Time (virtual class)
  • Sat, Jul 6, 1:00 p.m. – 5:00 p.m. Pacific Time (virtual class)
  • Tue, Jul 9, 6:30 p.m. – 8:30 p.m. Pacific Time (virtual class)
  • Sat, Jul 13, 1:00 p.m. – 5:00 p.m. Pacific Time (virtual class)
  • Tue, Jul 16, 6:30 p.m. – 8:30 p.m. Pacific Time (virtual class)
  • Sat, Jul 20, 1:00 p.m. – 5:00 p.m. Pacific Time (virtual class)
  • Tue, Jul 23, 6:30 p.m. – 8:30 p.m. Pacific Time (virtual class)
  • Sat, Jul 27, 1:00 p.m. – 5:00 p.m. Pacific Time (virtual class)
  • Tue, Jul 30, 6:30 p.m. – 8:30 p.m. Pacific Time (virtual class)
  • Sat, Aug 3, 1:00 p.m. – 5:00 p.m. Pacific Time (virtual class)
  • Tue, Aug 6, 6:30 p.m. – 8:30 p.m. Pacific Time (virtual class)
  • Sat, Aug 10, 1:00 p.m. – 5:00 p.m. Pacific Time (virtual class)
  • Tue, Aug 13, 6:30 p.m. – 8:30 p.m. Pacific Time (virtual class)
  • Sat, Aug 17, 1:00 p.m. – 5:00 p.m. Pacific Time (virtual class)
  • Tue, Aug 20, 6:30 p.m. – 8:30 p.m. Pacific Time (virtual class)
  • Sat, Aug 24, 1:00 p.m. – 5:00 p.m. Pacific Time (virtual class)
  • Tue, Aug 27, 6:30 p.m. – 8:30 p.m. Pacific Time (virtual class)
LocationOnline
InstructorHaiou Tan
Cost$2550.00
Seats Available30
ActionRegister

What you will learn

After completing this course, you’ll be able to do the following:

  • Be familiar with the fundamentals of the practice of simultaneous interpreting (SI)
  • Improve and develop verbal fluency, speed, diction, information load and terminology
  • Prepare and practise for various SI assignments
  • Understand commonly used SI knowledge, protocol and etiquette in various settings
  • Develop, perform, identify and demonstrate competency via real-life SI practices

How you will learn and be evaluated

  • Prepare to spend six to ten hours per week on coursework
  • Expect reading and other assignments on a weekly basis
  • Plan to access the course at least three times a week to keep up with your work and assignments

You will be evaluated on a pass/fail basis on:

  • Assignments and exercises
  • Participation in online discussions
  • Quizzes and examinations

Learning Materials

No textbook is required. We will provide all course materials online.

Technical Requirements

For online courses, you will need a computer with audio and microphone that is connected to the internet. Canvas is the online system that will be used for the course. For more information and online support, visit Online Learning.