CLM435

Climate Justice: Building Just and Equitable Communities

Equitable and effective climate action must, by definition, centre the people and communities that are most vulnerable to climate impacts. But organizations are often juggling multiple priorities and financial constraints alongside their climate planning, and equity and justice can take a back seat. This course will help you navigate and address those tensions. You'll sharpen your understandings of climate justice and learn how to design more equitable and resilient climate solutions.

Overview

Location: Online
Format: Self-paced within deadlines set by instructor
Duration:
 6 weeks
Tuition: $699
Can be applied to:
Climate Action Certificate

Upcoming Offerings

Start Date
Schedule
Location
Instructor
Cost
Seats Available
Action
Start DateWed, May 8, 2024
Schedule
  • Wed, May 8 (self-paced all week)
  • Wed, May 15 (self-paced all week)
  • Wed, May 22 (self-paced all week)
  • Wed, May 29 (self-paced all week)
  • Wed, Jun 5 (self-paced all week)
  • Wed, Jun 12 (self-paced all week)
LocationOnline
Cost$699.00
Seats Available27
ActionRegister
Start DateWed, Nov 6, 2024
Schedule
  • Wed, Nov 6 (self-paced all week)
  • Wed, Nov 13 (self-paced all week)
  • Wed, Nov 20 (self-paced all week)
  • Wed, Nov 27 (self-paced all week)
  • Wed, Dec 4 (self-paced all week)
  • Wed, Dec 11 (self-paced all week)
LocationOnline
Cost$699.00
Seats Available30
ActionRegister
Start DateWed, Mar 5, 2025
Schedule
  • Wed, Mar 5 (self-paced all week)
  • Wed, Mar 12 (self-paced all week)
  • Wed, Mar 19 (self-paced all week)
  • Wed, Mar 26 (self-paced all week)
  • Wed, Apr 2 (self-paced all week)
  • Wed, Apr 9 (self-paced all week)
LocationOnline
Cost$699.00
Seats Available30
ActionRegister

What you will learn

After completing this course, you’ll be able to do the following:

  • Explain the importance of climate justice, the history of environmental justice movements and their evolution to effective climate solutions
  • Analyze systemic patterns of oppression in the environmental movement in order to more effectively dismantle them
  • Develop strategies to mitigate the impact of environmental inequities (e.g., environmental racism, classism, sexism, etc.)
  • Recognize how your identity and social location impact your lenses on justice, equity, diversity and inclusion
  • Apply an intersectional analysis and collaborative approaches to design more equitable and resilient climate solutions

How you will learn and be evaluated

  • Prepare to spend about 8 hours per week on coursework
  • Expect reading, videos, online discussions and skill-building activities
  • Optional: Meet online with the class and instructor or guest speaker as scheduled by the instructor (recording available)

Learning Materials

No textbook is required. We will provide all course materials online.

Technical Requirements

For online courses, you will need a computer with audio and microphone that is connected to the internet. Canvas is the online system that will be used for the course. For more information and online support, visit Online Learning.

Professional development credits

AIBC CES participants, PIBC members and BCSLA members may self-report for continuing education learning unit consideration.

Sign up for email updates

To stay informed about climate action offerings, please fill out the form below.

Yes, sign me up for the Climate Action email list.

About our Collection of Personal Information policy.