CRIS220

Trauma and Suicide

The link between traumatic experiences and suicidal behaviour has been well documented, highlighting the need for early intervention.

In this course, we explore different consequences of trauma, such as compassion fatigue, depression, vicarious trauma and post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD), examining how we respond to trauma, as well as the possible consequences of our psychological and physiological responses.

You will learn the principles of early detection and intervention, including how to identify warning signs and symptoms. The course will provide you with the resources and tools needed to assess suicide risk and stage appropriate interventions, using crisis intervention, effective communication, safety plans and attentive listening skills. Topics will include suicidal ideation, suicide plans and types of suicide, particularly suicide by cop and chemical suicide.

Overview

Location: Online
Format: Self-paced within deadlines set by instructor
Duration: 10 weeks
Tuition: $650
Can be applied to:
First Responders Trauma Prevention and Recovery Certificate

Upcoming Offerings

Register for a course at any time, with the option to apply to a program later.

Start Date
Schedule
Location
Instructor
Cost
Seats
Available
Action
Start DateTue, Jan 18, 2022
Schedule
  • Tue, Jan 18 (self-paced all week)
  • Tue, Jan 25 (self-paced all week)
  • Tue, Feb 1 (self-paced all week)
  • Tue, Feb 8 (self-paced all week)
  • Tue, Feb 15 (self-paced all week)
  • Tue, Feb 22 (self-paced all week)
  • Tue, Mar 1 (self-paced all week)
  • Tue, Mar 8 (self-paced all week)
  • Tue, Mar 15 (self-paced all week)
  • Tue, Mar 22 (self-paced all week)
LocationOnline
InstructorColleen Kamps
Cost$650.00
Seats Available27
ActionRegister
Start DateTue, Sep 13, 2022
Schedule
  • Tue, Sep 13 (self-paced all week)
  • Tue, Sep 20 (self-paced all week)
  • Tue, Sep 27 (self-paced all week)
  • Tue, Oct 4 (self-paced all week)
  • Tue, Oct 11 (self-paced all week)
  • Tue, Oct 18 (self-paced all week)
  • Tue, Oct 25 (self-paced all week)
  • Tue, Nov 1 (self-paced all week)
  • Tue, Nov 8 (self-paced all week)
  • Tue, Nov 15 (self-paced all week)
LocationOnline
Instructor- TBD
Cost$650.00
Seats Available30
ActionRegister

What you will learn

By the end of the course, you will be able to:

  • Examine self as a growing and strengthening first responder
  • Demonstrate knowledge of how trauma in the workplace impacts individuals
  • Define essential concepts related to trauma and trauma-informed care
  • Explore the consequences of trauma and PTSD
  • Recognize risk factors and warning signs for trauma and suicide
  • Identify protective and resiliency factors against trauma and suicide
  • Explore resources and tools to use for the three levels of response to suicide    

How you will learn and be evaluated

  • Prepare to spend 6–8 hours per week on coursework
  • Expect reading and other assignments on a weekly basis
  • Plan to access the course at least once every few days to keep up with your work and group assignments

You will be evaluated on:

  • Reflective journal
  • Assignments
  • Quizzes
  • Participation in online discussions

To apply this course towards the program certificate, you must achieve a minimum grade of C.

Learning Materials

No textbook is required. We will provide all course materials online.

Technical Requirements

For online courses, you will need a computer with audio and microphone that is connected to the internet. Canvas is the online system that will be used for the course. For more information and online support, visit Online Learning.