MGMT240

Marketing Management

This introductory course is designed to provide an overview and understanding of the important role of marketing in organizational success in the world of business today. You will be introduced to the major principles, concepts and functions of marketing in both profit and non-profit settings.

In addition to learning basic marketing techniques, you will learn to appreciate the importance of strategic market- and customer-focused approaches for organizational success in an ever-competitive and dynamic global environment.

Overview

Location: Online
Duration: 12 weeks
Tuition: $649
Can be applied to:
Business Management Certificate
Risk Management Certificate

Upcoming Offerings

Register for a course at any time, with the option to apply to the Business Management Certificate program later. 

Start Date
Schedule
Location
Instructor
Cost
Seats Available
Action
Start DateTue, May 7, 2024
Schedule
  • Tue, May 7, 6:00 p.m. – 9:30 p.m. Pacific Time (virtual class)
  • Tue, May 14, 6:00 p.m. – 9:30 p.m. Pacific Time (virtual class)
  • Tue, May 21, 6:00 p.m. – 9:30 p.m. Pacific Time (virtual class)
  • Tue, May 28, 6:00 p.m. – 9:30 p.m. Pacific Time (virtual class)
  • Tue, Jun 4, 6:00 p.m. – 9:30 p.m. Pacific Time (virtual class)
  • Tue, Jun 11, 6:00 p.m. – 9:30 p.m. Pacific Time (virtual class)
  • Tue, Jun 18, 6:00 p.m. – 9:30 p.m. Pacific Time (virtual class)
  • Tue, Jun 25, 6:00 p.m. – 9:30 p.m. Pacific Time (virtual class)
  • Tue, Jul 2, 6:00 p.m. – 9:30 p.m. Pacific Time (virtual class)
  • Tue, Jul 9, 6:00 p.m. – 9:30 p.m. Pacific Time (virtual class)
  • Tue, Jul 16, 6:00 p.m. – 9:30 p.m. Pacific Time (virtual class)
  • Tue, Jul 23, 6:00 p.m. – 9:30 p.m. Pacific Time (virtual class)
LocationOnline
InstructorDonna Serviss
Cost$649.00
Seats Available11
ActionRegister
Start DateTue, Jan 14, 2025
Schedule
  • Tue, Jan 14, 6:00 p.m. – 9:30 p.m. Pacific Time (virtual class)
  • Tue, Jan 21, 6:00 p.m. – 9:30 p.m. Pacific Time (virtual class)
  • Tue, Jan 28, 6:00 p.m. – 9:30 p.m. Pacific Time (virtual class)
  • Tue, Feb 4, 6:00 p.m. – 9:30 p.m. Pacific Time (virtual class)
  • Tue, Feb 11, 6:00 p.m. – 9:30 p.m. Pacific Time (virtual class)
  • Tue, Feb 18, 6:00 p.m. – 9:30 p.m. Pacific Time (virtual class)
  • Tue, Feb 25, 6:00 p.m. – 9:30 p.m. Pacific Time (virtual class)
  • Tue, Mar 4, 6:00 p.m. – 9:30 p.m. Pacific Time (virtual class)
  • Tue, Mar 11, 6:00 p.m. – 9:30 p.m. Pacific Time (virtual class)
  • Tue, Mar 18, 6:00 p.m. – 9:30 p.m. Pacific Time (virtual class)
  • Tue, Mar 25, 6:00 p.m. – 9:30 p.m. Pacific Time (virtual class)
  • Tue, Apr 1, 6:00 p.m. – 9:30 p.m. Pacific Time (virtual class)
LocationOnline
InstructorDonna Serviss
Cost$649.00
Seats Available29
ActionRegister
Start DateTue, May 6, 2025
Schedule
  • Tue, May 6, 6:00 p.m. – 9:30 p.m. Pacific Time (virtual class)
  • Tue, May 13, 6:00 p.m. – 9:30 p.m. Pacific Time (virtual class)
  • Tue, May 20, 6:00 p.m. – 9:30 p.m. Pacific Time (virtual class)
  • Tue, May 27, 6:00 p.m. – 9:30 p.m. Pacific Time (virtual class)
  • Tue, Jun 3, 6:00 p.m. – 9:30 p.m. Pacific Time (virtual class)
  • Tue, Jun 10, 6:00 p.m. – 9:30 p.m. Pacific Time (virtual class)
  • Tue, Jun 17, 6:00 p.m. – 9:30 p.m. Pacific Time (virtual class)
  • Tue, Jun 24, 6:00 p.m. – 9:30 p.m. Pacific Time (virtual class)
  • Tue, Jul 1, 6:00 p.m. – 9:30 p.m. Pacific Time (virtual class)
  • Tue, Jul 8, 6:00 p.m. – 9:30 p.m. Pacific Time (virtual class)
  • Tue, Jul 15, 6:00 p.m. – 9:30 p.m. Pacific Time (virtual class)
  • Tue, Jul 22, 6:00 p.m. – 9:30 p.m. Pacific Time (virtual class)
LocationOnline
InstructorDonna Serviss
Cost$649.00
Seats Available30
ActionRegister

What you will learn

After completing this course, you’ll be able to do the following:

  • Assess the role of marketing within an organizational framework
  • Apply effective tools and processes to identify a target market that will drive organizational marketing efforts
  • Interpret internal and external environmental factors and how they affect marketing objectives and strategies
  • Evaluate the components of a strategic marketing plan
  • Create a strategic marketing plan in order to drive organizational growth
  • Develop product positioning strategies and tactics within a competitive context
  • Evaluate appropriate channels of distribution to effectively reach your target market
  • Develop effective promotional strategies and tactics to grow market share

How you will learn and be evaluated

  • Prepare to spend 6–10 hours per week on coursework
  • Expect readings and other assignments on a weekly basis
  • Plan to access the course at least once every few days to keep up with your work and class discussions

You will be evaluated on:

  • Assignments (individual and group)
  • Participation in online discussions
  • Weekly quizzes and exercises
  • Examinations

Learning Materials

Course fees do not include textbooks. We recommend you purchase your textbook as soon as you’ve registered. We will provide additional course materials online.

Required textbook:

Grewal, D., Levy, M., Lichti, S. Marketing, 6th Edition. McGraw-Hill, 2023.

Connect: ISBN 9781264879861

Connect & Print: ISBN 9781265036249

Jan–Apr 2024 students: Please create an account with the publisher to be added to the instructor’s roster to track your work/assignments, etc.

Technical Requirements

For online courses, you will need a computer with audio and microphone that is connected to the internet. Canvas is the online system that will be used for the course. For more information and online support, visit Online Learning.

Professional development credits

This course may meet the requirements for the following designation: