Research Accounting

Research Accounting is responsible for the financial administration and financial reporting of research fund received from external funding sponsors. This fund consists of grants and contracts funds received by the University for use by academic staff to conduct research.

Research Accounting provides services to the University, to the researchers and research personnel, and to the funding sponsors.  Research Accounting liaises with the Office of Research Services (ORS).

Contact Us

Leeann Liew           
Manager
(778) 782-8092
lhliew@sfu.ca
 
Claudia Faria
Supervisor
(778) 782-4707
claudia_faria@sfu.ca
 
Vivian Poon
Research Accounting Analyst
(778) 782-8978
vtpoon@sfu.ca
 
Chris Claiter
Research Accounting Analyst 
(778) 782-4019
cclaiter@sfu.ca

CFI (excluding CFI funded through other institutions), externally funded research contracts⁄agreements, industrial research grants/contracts, other research grants, NIH

  • Fund 31: 5X4XXX, 8X4XXX
  • Fund 35: 365XXX
  • Fund 36: 36XXXX, EXCLUDING 364XXX and 365XXX
Clarissa Berlian
Research Accounting Officer
(778) 782-3411
clarissa_aurelia_berlian@sfu.ca

SSHRC, Federal or Provincial Government research grants, TRIUMF, research grants from other universities, Endowment funded and Interfund Transfer research grants

 
  • Fund 31: 63XXXX, 640XXX, 729XXX, 74XXXX, 75XXXX, 78XXXX
  • Fund 32: 693XXX
Moses Lo
Research Accounting Analyst 
(778) 782-4495
htlo@sfu.ca

CFI funded through other institutions,  externally funded research contracts⁄agreements, industrial research grants/contracts, other research grants

  •  
  • Fund 31: 5X1XXX-5X3XXX, 8X3XXX
  • Fund 35: 364XXX
  • Fund 36: 364XXX
Winnie Chen
Research Accounting Analyst 
Winnie_chen_10@sfu.ca

Externally restricted non-research contributions

  • Fund 25: 1XXXXX
Amelia Shu
Research Accounting Officer
(778) 782-4875
amelias@sfu.ca

NSERC research non-collaborative programs

  • Fund 31: 611XXX, 613XXX, 617XXX, 618XXX
Ina Hwang
Research Accounting Officer
(778) 782-9734
ina_hwang@sfu.ca

NSERC collaborative grants and all CIHR grants

  • Fund 31: 612XX, 614XXX - 616XXX, 619XXX, 711XXX
Damon Pang
Research Accounting Officer
(778) 782-3053
dpang@sfu.ca

PICS, Heart & Stroke Foundation, NCEs, MITACS, BCIC, C150, CRC, MSFHR, Stem Cell Network, Provincial research grants,

  • Fund 31: 641XXX, 65XXXX, 669XXX, 67XXXX, 681XXX, 719XXX, 724XXX,73XXXX, 76XXXX
Amy Lam
Research Accounting Analyst 
(778) 782-5908
amy_yu_lam@sfu.ca

Externally funded research contracts⁄agreements, industrial research grants/contracts, other research grants

Fund 31: 5X9XXX,  779XXX, 865021, 865023, 8X9XXX

Specific Purpose & Endowment
Shawn Li
Financial Analyst 
Specific Purpose & Endowment
(778) 782-3757
shawn_li@sfu.ca
  • Fund 23, 61 and 62
Heather Bray
Clerk
(778) 782-4020
hbray@sfu.ca
  • Fund 13 and 21

SFU Business #11852 0725 RT0001

Room 3010
Discovery 1
8900 Nelson Way
Burnaby, BC
V5A 4W9

Hours:  Monday - Friday
08:00-16:30
Weekends & Holidays: Closed
res-acct@sfu.ca

If you need assistance, visit Contact Us or email finance@sfu.ca or
phone us (778) 782-8008