Associate Members

El Chénier (they/them)

Professor, History

History; sexuality and gender

echenier@sfu.ca

Dara Culhane (she/her)

Professor, Anthropology

Colonialism, neo-colonialism and postcolonialism; subalternity; gender, generation and sexuality; Indigenous peoples of Canada; Ireland.

culhane@sfu.ca

Peter Dickinson (he/him)

Professor, School for the Contemporary Arts; Director, Institute for Performance Studies

Performance studies, dance and theatre studies, film studies, comparative Canadian cultural studies: with queer theory and gender studies always the connecting thread

peter_dickinson@sfu.ca

Evdoxios Doxiadis (he/him)

Assistant Professor, Hellenic Studies and History

Modern Greek Social History; Gender; Minorities; Mediterranean and Balkan History

edoxiadi@sfu.ca

Sheri Fabian (she/her/hers)

University Lecturer, Criminology

Criminal harassment; intimate partner violence, research methods, policy analysis, academic dishonesty.

sfabian@sfu.ca

Lindsey Freeman (she/they)

Associate Professor, Sociology

Writing, poetics, experimental methods, affect, atmosphere, art, memory, and rain.

lindsey_freeman@sfu.ca

Michael Hathaway (he/him)

Professor, Anthropology

michael_hathaway@sfu.ca

Willeen G. Keough (she/her)

Professor, History

Gender history (Canada, Ireland, Britain, US), ethnicity, immigration, masculinities, oral history

wkeough@sfu.ca

Eirini Kotsovili (she/her)

Lecturer, Hellenic Studies

Modern Greek and Comparative Literature; Life Writing; Gender; Identity and Politics; War Literature

dkotsovi@sfu.ca

Moninder Lalli (she/her)

Liaison Librarian

Business at Vancouver; Sociology/Anthropology; GSWS, Labour Studies; and South Asian Initiatives.

You can schedule one-to-one research consultations at 778.782.4264 or 
moninder_lalli@sfu.ca

Jeannie Morgan (she/her)

Assistant Professor, Indigenous Studies and Labour Studies

Examination of federal and provincial policies and how these shape the intersecting experiences of health and wellbeing and work for Indigenous communities.

 jeannie_morgan@sfu.ca

Bidisha Ray (she/her)

Senior Lecturer, History

Modern (post- 1757) South Asia, imperialism, gender, sexuality, popular religious practice, public theatre in colonial societies, historical anthropology; especially ethno-history, history of prostitution, postcolonial studies and transnational histories.

bidisha_ray@sfu.ca

 

Deanna Reder (she/her)

Associate Professor, English

Indigenous literatures in Canada, Indigenous literary theories and epistemologies, and autobiography theory

deanna_reder@sfu.ca

Özlem Sensoy (she/her, White immigrant Settler of Middle East heritage)

Professor, Faculty of Education

Social justice education, critical multicultural education, anti-oppression education, anti-racism and whiteness studies, critical media literacy, popular culture of youth, Middle East & Islamic cultures in school, feminist postcolonial theory, visual research methods 

ozlem@sfu.ca

Lisa Shapiro (she/her)

Professor, Philosophy

History of modern philosophy, feminism and philosophy, philosophy of emotions (and so moral psychology and philosophy of mind), philosophy of personal identity

lisa_shapiro@sfu.ca

Diana Solomon (she/her)

Associate Professor, English

Restoration and eighteenth-century theatre, comedy, performance studies, and print culture

https://dianasolomon.wordpress.com/

diana_solomon@sfu.ca

Jennifer Spear (she/her)

Associate Professor, History

Early North American history; gender and sexuality; comparative colonization, slavery, and race

jennifer_spear@sfu.ca

Travers (they/them)

Professor, Sociology

Sociological theory (feminist and queer); gender and technology; sociology of sport; social issues and movements.

atravers@sfu.ca
webpage...
BC Women’s Health Research Network - Trans Inclusion Workshop featuring Ann Travers

Amanda D. Watson (she/her)

Lecturer, Sociology
Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences Teaching Fellow

Care, labour, feelings, reproduction, disability, and media representation of maternal labour and identity. She teaches on global problems and the culture of capitalism, politics of family, the formation of self and identity in contemporary Western cultures, and power and conflict in Canadian society

adwatson@sfu.ca