People

Sandman Picket 1975 - Pacific Tribune archive

Meet the dedicated people at the heart of our program

Faculty

Evelyn Encalada Grez

Assistant Professor,
Labour Studies and Sociology
evelyn_encalada_grez@sfu.ca

Maureen Kihika

Assistant Professor,
Labour Studies and Sociology
mkihika@sfu.ca

Jeannie Morgan

Assistant Professor,
Labour Studies and Indigenous Studies
jeannie_morgan@sfu.ca

Kendra Strauss

Professor,
Director 
kstrauss@sfu.ca

Administration 

Sylvia Chow

Manager, Academic & Administrative Services
samgr@sfu.ca
778-782-3726

Jeanne Persoon

Secretary to the Director
sachrsec@sfu.ca
778-782-3144

Terrence Yang

Undergraduate Student Advisor
saadvise@sfu.ca
778-782-9452

Vacant (this email continues to be monitored)

Coordinator, Communication & Events
sacomm@sfu.ca
778-782-7077

Melanie D. Trotto

Program Assistant
gradsecsa@sfu.ca
778-782-9821

Esther Wong

Undergraduate Program Assistant
saugrdpa@sfu.ca
778-782-3518

Term Teaching

Logan Masilamani

Term Lecturer
masilama@sfu.ca

Sonya Sabet-Rasekh

Visiting Faculty
ssabetra@sfu.ca

Associate Members and Steering Committee

Enda Brophy

Associate Professor, School of Communication
enda_brophy@sfu.ca

Jeff Derksen

Professor, Department of English
jderksen@sfu.ca

 

Evelyn Encalada Grez

Assistant Professor, Labour Studies and Sociology
evelyn_encalada_grez@sfu.ca

Maureen Kihika

Assistant Professor,
Labour Studies and Sociology
mkihika@sfu.ca

Carolyn Lesjak

Professor, Department of English
clesjak@sfu.ca

Jeannie Morgan

Assistant Professor,
Department of First Nations Studies and Labour Studies Program
jeannie_morgan@sfu.ca

Gerardo Otero

Professor, School for International Studies
otero@sfu.ca

Malcolm Steinberg

Clinical Assistant Professor, Faculty of Health Sciences
malcolm_steinberg@sfu.ca

Kendra Strauss

Professor and Director,
Labour Studies Program
kstrauss@sfu.ca

Advisory Committee

Why do we have Advisory and Steering committees? Watch this video to find out more.

Chair of advisory committee: Jim Sinclair
In memoriam, Margaret Morgan

Advisory Committee Members

  • Janet Andrews, Secretary Treasurer, New Westminster & District Labour Council (NW&DLC); member of International Association of Machinists & Aerospace Workers (IAMAW) Local Lodge 764
  • Joey Hartman, Chair, BC Labour Heritage Centre
  • Jim Iker, past president, BC Teachers’ Federation (BCTF)
  • Am Johal, Director, Simon Fraser University's Vancity Office of Community Engagement
  • Blair Redlin, retired research representative, Canadian Union of Public Employees (CUPE); former B.C. Deputy Minister
  • Jim Sinclair, past president, BC Federation of Labour. Chair of the Labour Studies advisory committee
  • Stephen von Sychowski, President, Vancouver & District Labour Council
  • Cathy Walker, past director, Canadian Auto Workers (CAW), now Unifor, Health, Safety and Environment Department (retired)