Sandman Picket 1975 - Pacific Tribune archive

Meet the dedicated people at the heart of our program


Evelyn Encalada Grez

Assistant Professor, Labour Studies and Sociology

Maureen Kihika

Assistant Professor,
Labour Studies and Sociology

Jeannie Morgan

Assistant Professor,
Labour Studies and Indigenous Studies

Kendra Strauss

Associate Professor,


Sylvia Chow

Manager, Academic & Administrative Services

Jeanne Persoon

Secretary to the Director

Melanie Trotto

Program Assistant

Terrence Yang

Undergraduate Student Advisor  

Dasha Cotic-Ehn

Communication & Events Coordinator  

Sessional Instruction

Jonathan Elston

Sessional Instructor

John-Henry Harter

Sessional Instructor

Logan Masilamani

Sessional Instructor

Associate Members and Steering Committee

Enda Brophy

Associate Professor, School of Communication

John Calvert

Associate Professor, Faculty of Health Sciences

Jeff Derksen

Professor, Department of English


Evelyn Encalada Grez

Assistant Professor, Labour Studies and Sociology

Maureen Kihika

Assistant Professor,
Labour Studies and Sociology

Carolyn Lesjak

Associate Professor, Department of English

Jeannie Morgan

Assistant Professor,
Department of First Nations Studies and Labour Studies Program

Malcolm Steinberg

Clinical Assistant Professor, Faculty of Health Sciences

Kendra Strauss

Associate Professor,
Labour Studies Program

Habiba Zaman

Professor, Department of Gender, Sexuality, and Women's Studies


Advisory Committee

Why do we have Advisory and Steering committees? Watch this video to find out more.

Chair of advisory committee: Jim Sinclair
In memoriam, Margaret Morgan

Advisory Committee Members

  • Janet Andrews, Secretary Treasurer, New Westminster & District Labour Council (NW&DLC); member of International Association of Machinists & Aerospace Workers (IAMAW) Local Lodge 764
  • Chuka Ejeckam, Director of Research & Policy, BC Federation of Labour (BDFED); Research Associate, Canadian Centre for Policy Alternatives, BC Office (CCPA-BC)
  • Marjorie Griffin Cohen, Professor Emerita, Department of Political Science and Department of Gender, Sexuality and Women’s Studies, Simon Fraser University
  • Joey Hartman, Chair, BC Labour Heritage Centre
  • Jim Iker, past president, BC Teachers’ Federation (BCTF)
  • Am Johal, Director, Simon Fraser University's Vancity Office of Community Engagement
  • Blair Redlin, retired research representative, Canadian Union of Public Employees (CUPE); former B.C. Deputy Minister
  • Jim Sinclair, past president, BC Federation of Labour. Chair of the Labour Studies advisory committee.
  • Cathy Walker, past director, Canadian Auto Workers (CAW), now Unifor, Health, Safety and Environment Department (retired)  
  • Jennifer Whiteside, Secretary-Business Manager, Hospital Employees’ Union (HEU)