BCPW205

Efficient Business and Professional Writing

Do you want to be faster and more effective at writing reports, emails, letters, memos, proposals and other professional documents?

In this course, you'll transform how you write using a proven process that involves inventing, drafting and revising. You’ll practise using effective tools such as free-writing, brainstorming and heuristics. You’ll learn techniques to generate ideas quickly, create draft versions, and review and revise with your document’s purpose and intended audience in mind. As you focus on writing efficiently, you'll also learn how to overcome procrastination.

You should have a strong command of spoken and written English. This is not an EAL course.

Note: this course was formerly called Advanced Study in Writing for Business and the Professions.

Instructional hours: 30

Overview

Location: Online
Format: Self-paced within deadlines set by instructor
Duration:
10 weeks
Tuition: $930
Can be applied to:
Editing Certificate
Plain Language Certificate

Upcoming Offerings

Register for a course at any time, with the option to apply to a program later.

Start Date
Schedule
Location
Instructor
Cost
Seats Available
Action
Start DateThu, May 16, 2024
Schedule
  • Thu, May 16 (self-paced all week)
  • Thu, May 23 (self-paced all week)
  • Thu, May 30 (self-paced all week)
  • Thu, Jun 6 (self-paced all week)
  • Thu, Jun 13 (self-paced all week)
  • Thu, Jun 20 (self-paced all week)
  • Thu, Jun 27 (self-paced all week)
  • Thu, Jul 4 (self-paced all week)
  • Thu, Jul 11 (self-paced all week)
  • Thu, Jul 18 (self-paced all week)
LocationOnline
InstructorNick Rockel
Cost$930.00
Seats Available9
ActionRegister
Start DateThu, Sep 19, 2024
Schedule
  • Thu, Sep 19 (self-paced all week)
  • Thu, Sep 26 (self-paced all week)
  • Thu, Oct 3 (self-paced all week)
  • Thu, Oct 10 (self-paced all week)
  • Thu, Oct 17 (self-paced all week)
  • Thu, Oct 24 (self-paced all week)
  • Thu, Oct 31 (self-paced all week)
  • Thu, Nov 7 (self-paced all week)
  • Thu, Nov 14 (self-paced all week)
  • Thu, Nov 21 (self-paced all week)
LocationOnline
InstructorVlad Konieczny
Cost$930.00
Seats Available8
ActionRegister
Start DateThu, Oct 3, 2024
Schedule
  • Thu, Oct 3 (self-paced all week)
  • Thu, Oct 10 (self-paced all week)
  • Thu, Oct 17 (self-paced all week)
  • Thu, Oct 24 (self-paced all week)
  • Thu, Oct 31 (self-paced all week)
  • Thu, Nov 7 (self-paced all week)
  • Thu, Nov 14 (self-paced all week)
  • Thu, Nov 21 (self-paced all week)
  • Thu, Nov 28 (self-paced all week)
  • Thu, Dec 5 (self-paced all week)
LocationOnline
InstructorNick Rockel
Cost$930.00
Seats Available16
ActionRegister
Start DateThu, Oct 10, 2024
Schedule
  • Thu, Oct 10 (self-paced all week)
  • Thu, Oct 17 (self-paced all week)
  • Thu, Oct 24 (self-paced all week)
  • Thu, Oct 31 (self-paced all week)
  • Thu, Nov 7 (self-paced all week)
  • Thu, Nov 14 (self-paced all week)
  • Thu, Nov 21 (self-paced all week)
  • Thu, Nov 28 (self-paced all week)
  • Thu, Dec 5 (self-paced all week)
  • Thu, Dec 12 (self-paced all week)
LocationOnline
InstructorVlad Konieczny
Cost$930.00
Seats Available19
ActionRegister
Start DateThu, Jan 23, 2025
Schedule
  • Thu, Jan 23 (self-paced all week)
  • Thu, Jan 30 (self-paced all week)
  • Thu, Feb 6 (self-paced all week)
  • Thu, Feb 13 (self-paced all week)
  • Thu, Feb 20 (self-paced all week)
  • Thu, Feb 27 (self-paced all week)
  • Thu, Mar 6 (self-paced all week)
  • Thu, Mar 13 (self-paced all week)
  • Thu, Mar 20 (self-paced all week)
  • Thu, Mar 27 (self-paced all week)
LocationOnline
Instructor-
Cost$930.00
Seats Available19
ActionRegister
Start DateThu, Feb 20, 2025
Schedule
  • Thu, Feb 20 (self-paced all week)
  • Thu, Feb 27 (self-paced all week)
  • Thu, Mar 6 (self-paced all week)
  • Thu, Mar 13 (self-paced all week)
  • Thu, Mar 20 (self-paced all week)
  • Thu, Mar 27 (self-paced all week)
  • Thu, Apr 3 (self-paced all week)
  • Thu, Apr 10 (self-paced all week)
  • Thu, Apr 17 (self-paced all week)
  • Thu, Apr 24 (self-paced all week)
LocationOnline
Instructor-
Cost$930.00
Seats Available20
ActionRegister
Start DateThu, May 8, 2025
Schedule
  • Thu, May 8 (self-paced all week)
  • Thu, May 15 (self-paced all week)
  • Thu, May 22 (self-paced all week)
  • Thu, May 29 (self-paced all week)
  • Thu, Jun 5 (self-paced all week)
  • Thu, Jun 12 (self-paced all week)
  • Thu, Jun 19 (self-paced all week)
  • Thu, Jun 26 (self-paced all week)
  • Thu, Jul 3 (self-paced all week)
  • Thu, Jul 10 (self-paced all week)
LocationOnline
Instructor-
Cost$930.00
Seats Available20
ActionRegister
Start DateThu, May 22, 2025
Schedule
  • Thu, May 22 (self-paced all week)
  • Thu, May 29 (self-paced all week)
  • Thu, Jun 5 (self-paced all week)
  • Thu, Jun 12 (self-paced all week)
  • Thu, Jun 19 (self-paced all week)
  • Thu, Jun 26 (self-paced all week)
  • Thu, Jul 3 (self-paced all week)
  • Thu, Jul 10 (self-paced all week)
  • Thu, Jul 17 (self-paced all week)
  • Thu, Jul 24 (self-paced all week)
LocationOnline
Instructor-
Cost$930.00
Seats Available20
ActionRegister

What you will learn

After completing this course, you’ll be able to do the following:

  • Describe the stages of the process approach to writing
  • Use the tools of invention (i.e., free-writing and brainstorming) to focus your writing effectively
  • Develop heuristics for your writing projects that will help you generate content
  • Identify your own drafting process
  • Use your drafting process to develop effective writing skills
  • Identify the target audience for each writing task and revise your writing to communicate effectively with that audience
  • Analyze writing for purpose and occasion
  • Revise and edit your writing with confidence

How you will learn and be evaluated

Prepare to spend 6–10 hours per week on coursework, including:

  • Readings
  • Discussions
  • Assignments
  • Independent study

You will be evaluated on:

  • Revisions of your writing
  • Participation in the writing workshop

Learning Materials

Course fees do not include textbooks. We recommend you purchase your textbook as soon as you’ve registered. We will provide additional course materials online.

Required text:

Elbow, Peter. Writing With Power, 2nd Edition. Oxford University Press, 1998. ISBN 978-019-5120189. Available in print or as e-book.

Technical Requirements

For online courses, you will need a computer with audio and microphone that is connected to the internet. Canvas is the online system that will be used for the course. For more information and online support, visit Online Learning.

This course requires:

English language requirements

To succeed in this course, you will need an advanced level of written and spoken English. If you are unsure whether your English language skills are sufficient, we recommend you complete the International English Language Testing System (IELTS) with the following minimums:

  • Overall band score minimum 6.5
  • No band below 6.0
  • Writing band score minimum 8.0

Please note we can’t refund your registration fees after the course start date if you find your English language skills are not adequate.

If you have questions or concerns about your English language proficiency, we encourage you to contact your local IELTS Test Centre.