CHRM240

Accounting and Financial Management Essentials

Build financial management skills and knowledge that will increase confidence when assessing financial matters impacting the performance of your organization. Develop the skills you need to apply in your daily work as a manager to make informed financial decisions and meaningful contributions to your organization.

You will start with a general overview of the concepts and language of financial management and accounting topics followed by an introduction to the accounting cycle and financial statements such as the balance sheet, income statement and statement of cash flows.

By the end of this course you will have calculated financial ratios, developed a budget, explained variances, differentiated between various types of costs, and analyzed financial risk. You will have been introduced to sources of capital and capital budgeting as well as the application of financial decision-making to support business decisions within your organization. You will be able to analyze and interpret the information before you to measure financial performance.

Overview

Location: Online
Format: Self-paced within deadlines set by instructor
Duration: 8 weeks
Tuition: $749
Can be applied to:
Human Resources Management Certificate

Upcoming Offerings

Register for a course at any time, with the option to apply to a program later.

Start Date
Schedule
Location
Instructor
Cost
Seats Available
Action
Start DateMon, May 13, 2024
Schedule
  • Mon, May 13 (self-paced all week)
  • Mon, May 20 (self-paced all week)
  • Mon, May 27 (self-paced all week)
  • Mon, Jun 3 (self-paced all week)
  • Mon, Jun 10 (self-paced all week)
  • Mon, Jun 17 (self-paced all week)
  • Mon, Jun 24 (self-paced all week)
  • Mon, Jul 1 (self-paced all week)
LocationOnline
Instructor-
Cost$749.00
Seats Available25
ActionRegister
Start DateMon, Sep 23, 2024
Schedule
  • Mon, Sep 23 (self-paced all week)
  • Mon, Sep 30 (self-paced all week)
  • Mon, Oct 7 (self-paced all week)
  • Mon, Oct 14 (self-paced all week)
  • Mon, Oct 21 (self-paced all week)
  • Mon, Oct 28 (self-paced all week)
  • Mon, Nov 4 (self-paced all week)
  • Mon, Nov 11 (self-paced all week)
LocationOnline
Instructor-
Cost$749.00
Seats Available25
ActionRegister
Start DateMon, Jan 20, 2025
Schedule
  • Mon, Jan 20 (self-paced all week)
  • Mon, Jan 27 (self-paced all week)
  • Mon, Feb 3 (self-paced all week)
  • Mon, Feb 10 (self-paced all week)
  • Mon, Feb 17 (self-paced all week)
  • Mon, Feb 24 (self-paced all week)
  • Mon, Mar 3 (self-paced all week)
  • Mon, Mar 10 (self-paced all week)
LocationOnline
Instructor-
Cost$749.00
Seats Available30
ActionRegister
Start DateMon, May 12, 2025
Schedule
  • Mon, May 12 (self-paced all week)
  • Mon, May 19 (self-paced all week)
  • Mon, May 26 (self-paced all week)
  • Mon, Jun 2 (self-paced all week)
  • Mon, Jun 9 (self-paced all week)
  • Mon, Jun 16 (self-paced all week)
  • Mon, Jun 23 (self-paced all week)
  • Mon, Jun 30 (self-paced all week)
LocationOnline
Instructor-
Cost$749.00
Seats Available30
ActionRegister
Start DateMon, Sep 22, 2025
Schedule
  • Mon, Sep 22 (self-paced all week)
  • Mon, Sep 29 (self-paced all week)
  • Mon, Oct 6 (self-paced all week)
  • Mon, Oct 13 (self-paced all week)
  • Mon, Oct 20 (self-paced all week)
  • Mon, Oct 27 (self-paced all week)
  • Mon, Nov 3 (self-paced all week)
  • Mon, Nov 10 (self-paced all week)
LocationOnline
Instructor-
Cost$749.00
Seats Available29
ActionRegister

What you will learn

After completing this course, you’ll be able to do the following:

  • Compare the purpose and objectives of financial and management accounting
  • Interpret financial statements
  • Apply financial ratios to drive organizational goals
  • Develop an operating budget
  • Analyze variances in relation to the budget
  • Assess the impact of different types of costs on organizational operations
  • Evaluate the interaction between budget planning, implementation and internal controls
  • Implement financial forecasting methodologies to assist in decision-making
  • Apply financial decision-making to support business decisions

How you will learn and be evaluated

  • Prepare to spend 7–10 hours per week on coursework
  • Expect readings and other assignments on a weekly basis
  • Plan to access the course at least once every few days to keep up with your work and class discussions
  • Connect with the instructor via email, online posts, and optional live Q&A Zoom sessions scheduled by the instructor (summaries/recordings available)

You will be evaluated on:

  • Assignments
  • Participation in online discussions

To earn the certificate, complete all courses with a minimum average grade of C.

Learning Materials

No textbook is required. We will provide all course materials online.

Recommended reading:

Fields, E. The Essentials of Finance and Accounting for Nonfinancial Managers, 3rd Edition. AMACOM, 2016. Available from Amazon.ca.

This textbook is not mandatory but may be useful as an additional resource to reinforce concepts when reviewing the topics covered in the course syllabus.

Technical Requirements

For online courses, you will need a computer with audio and microphone that is connected to the internet. Canvas is the online system that will be used for the course. For more information and online support, visit Online Learning.