CHRM200

Human Resources Management in Canada

Gain an understanding of the Canadian business environment by focusing on the human resources management function as a key driver in organizational success.

You'll explore how HR management supports organizations, including the various roles of an HR practitioner, standards of practice and technology trends. Topics include human resources planning, job analysis, total rewards, occupational health and safety, recruitment, selection, training and development, performance management, employee relations and labour relations.

To hone your ability to influence change in an organization, you’ll build skills in critical analysis, evidence-based research and effective communication, and develop the financial acumen and planning principles that drive decision-making. You will also examine legal compliance, ethical standards, decision-making models, and the principles of risk, change and project management.

Note: If you are new to the field of human resources, you should begin your studies with this course.

Overview

Location: Online
Format: Self-paced within deadlines set by instructor
Duration: 8 weeks
Tuition: $749
Can be applied to:
Human Resources Management Certificate

Upcoming Offerings

Register for a course at any time, with the option to apply to a program later.

Start Date
Schedule
Location
Instructor
Cost
Seats
Available
Action
Start DateMon, Jan 16, 2023
Schedule
  • Mon, Jan 16 (self-paced all week)
  • Mon, Jan 23 (self-paced all week)
  • Mon, Jan 30 (self-paced all week)
  • Mon, Feb 6 (self-paced all week)
  • Mon, Feb 13 (self-paced all week)
  • Mon, Feb 20 (self-paced all week)
  • Mon, Feb 27 (self-paced all week)
  • Mon, Mar 6 (self-paced all week)
LocationOnline
Instructor-
Cost$749.00
Seats Available11
ActionRegister
Start DateMon, May 1, 2023
Schedule
  • Mon, May 1 (self-paced all week)
  • Mon, May 8 (self-paced all week)
  • Mon, May 15 (self-paced all week)
  • Mon, May 22 (self-paced all week)
  • Mon, May 29 (self-paced all week)
  • Mon, Jun 5 (self-paced all week)
  • Mon, Jun 12 (self-paced all week)
  • Mon, Jun 19 (self-paced all week)
LocationOnline
InstructorDebra Finlayson
Cost$749.00
Seats Available30
ActionRegister
Start DateMon, Sep 11, 2023
Schedule
  • Mon, Sep 11 (self-paced all week)
  • Mon, Sep 18 (self-paced all week)
  • Mon, Sep 25 (self-paced all week)
  • Mon, Oct 2 (self-paced all week)
  • Mon, Oct 9 (self-paced all week)
  • Mon, Oct 16 (self-paced all week)
  • Mon, Oct 23 (self-paced all week)
  • Mon, Oct 30 (self-paced all week)
LocationOnline
Instructor-
Cost$749.00
Seats Available29
ActionRegister
Start DateMon, Jan 15, 2024
Schedule
  • Mon, Jan 15 (self-paced all week)
  • Mon, Jan 22 (self-paced all week)
  • Mon, Jan 29 (self-paced all week)
  • Mon, Feb 5 (self-paced all week)
  • Mon, Feb 12 (self-paced all week)
  • Mon, Feb 19 (self-paced all week)
  • Mon, Feb 26 (self-paced all week)
  • Mon, Mar 4 (self-paced all week)
LocationOnline
Instructor-
Cost$749.00
Seats Available30
ActionRegister

What you will learn

After completing this course, you’ll be able to do the following:

  • Explain the roles and standards of practice of an HR professional in Canada
  • Evaluate HR technology trends and their capability in supporting organizational goals
  • Model HR decision-making using risk, change and project management principles
  • Employ HR research methodology to enhance HR and business practices
  • Apply financial acumen to identify optimum HR solutions
  • Describe clear standards of communication in the HR context
  • Apply the professional writing skills required of an HR professional

How you will learn and be evaluated

  • Prepare to spend 7–10 hours per week on coursework
  • Expect readings and other assignments on a weekly basis
  • Plan to access the course at least once every few days to keep up with your work and class discussions

You will be evaluated on:

  • Assignments (individual and group)
  • Participation in online discussions

To earn the certificate, complete all courses with a minimum average grade of C.

Learning Materials

Course fees do not include textbooks. We recommend you purchase your textbook as soon as you’ve registered. We will provide additional course materials online.

Required textbook:

Belcourt, M., Singh, P., Snell, S., Morris, S., Bohlander, G. Managing Human Resources, 9th Canadian Edition. ITP Nelson, 2020. ISBN 0176798056 (print). ISBN 9781774746967 (ebook).

Note: Effective May 2023, a new 10th edition of the textbook will be required. We’ll provide a link to purchase the new edition in the spring.

Technical Requirements

For online courses, you will need a computer with audio and microphone that is connected to the internet. Canvas is the online system that will be used for the course. For more information and online support, visit Online Learning.