CRIS230

Introduction to Addictions

Addiction touches many lives, impacting not only the individual, but also their family, their workplace and their community. In this course, you will review theories on addiction, the stages of addiction, as well as prevention methods and treatment.

This course will provide first responders with the knowledge of addiction required to enhance their working relationships with people with addictions of various types. It will also provide learners with opportunities for personal assessment of addictive behaviour, and to enhance daily mindfulness with respect to addiction warning signs. You will be introduced to frameworks for practice in mental health and addictions, including values, philosophies, and multicultural and indigenous perspectives, as well as current trends, issues and available community resources.

Overview

Location: Online
Format: Self-paced within deadlines set by instructor
Duration:
10 weeks
Tuition: $650
Can be applied to:
First Responders Trauma Prevention and Recovery Certificate

Upcoming Offerings

Register for a course at any time, with the option to apply to a program later.

Start Date
Schedule
Location
Instructor
Cost
Seats
Available
Action
Start DateTue, Jan 18, 2022
Schedule
  • Tue, Jan 18 (self-paced all week)
  • Tue, Jan 25 (self-paced all week)
  • Tue, Feb 1 (self-paced all week)
  • Tue, Feb 8 (self-paced all week)
  • Tue, Feb 15 (self-paced all week)
  • Tue, Feb 22 (self-paced all week)
  • Tue, Mar 1 (self-paced all week)
  • Tue, Mar 8 (self-paced all week)
  • Tue, Mar 15 (self-paced all week)
  • Tue, Mar 22 (self-paced all week)
LocationOnline
Cost$650.00
Seats Available29
ActionRegister
Start DateTue, May 3, 2022
Schedule
  • Tue, May 3 (self-paced all week)
  • Tue, May 10 (self-paced all week)
  • Tue, May 17 (self-paced all week)
  • Tue, May 24 (self-paced all week)
  • Tue, May 31 (self-paced all week)
  • Tue, Jun 7 (self-paced all week)
  • Tue, Jun 14 (self-paced all week)
  • Tue, Jun 21 (self-paced all week)
  • Tue, Jun 28 (self-paced all week)
  • Tue, Jul 5 (self-paced all week)
LocationOnline
Cost$650.00
Seats Available30
ActionRegister

What you will learn

By the end of the course, you will be able to:

  • Define addiction and describe approaches to intervention
  • Identify appropriate assessment, treatment and relapse prevention
  • Explore the diverse needs of individuals and groups dealing with addiction and concurrent disorders
  • Examine addiction warning signs and risk factors, and discuss ways to prevent progression of addiction
  • Identify impacts of addiction and explore assistance, resources and support options

How you will learn and be evaluated

  • Prepare to spend 6–8 hours per week on coursework
  • Expect reading and other assignments on a weekly basis
  • Plan to access the course at least once every few days to keep up with your work and group assignments

You will be evaluated on:

  • Assignments
  • Quizzes
  • Participation in online discussions

To apply this course towards the program certificate, you must achieve a minimum grade of C.

Learning Materials

No textbook is required. We will provide all course materials online.

Technical Requirements

For online courses, you will need a computer with audio and microphone that is connected to the internet. Canvas is the online system that will be used for the course. For more information and online support, visit Online Learning.