EDIT240

Document Design and Production for Editors

Writers and editors constantly face the challenge of creating documents that are easy to understand. Editors often work as part of a design team when the purpose of a document is to report or persuade. In this course, we’ll examine the elements of design and how they affect usability, production, and cost.

The final assignment for this course is due one week after the course ends.

Instructional hours: 12

Overview

Location: Online
Format: Self-paced within deadlines set by instructor
Duration: 4 weeks
Tuition: $452
Can be applied to:
Editing Certificate

Upcoming Offerings

Register for a course at any time, with the option to apply to a program later.

Start Date
Schedule
Location
Instructor
Cost
Seats Available
Action
Start DateWed, Mar 27, 2024
Schedule
  • Wed, Mar 27 (self-paced all week)
  • Wed, Apr 3 (self-paced all week)
  • Wed, Apr 10 (self-paced all week)
  • Wed, Apr 17 (self-paced all week)
LocationOnline
InstructorFlora Gordon
Cost$452.00
Seats Available9
ActionRegister
Start DateWed, May 8, 2024
Schedule
  • Wed, May 8 (self-paced all week)
  • Wed, May 15 (self-paced all week)
  • Wed, May 22 (self-paced all week)
  • Wed, May 29 (self-paced all week)
LocationOnline
InstructorFlora Gordon
Cost$452.00
Seats Available22
ActionRegister
Start DateWed, Oct 30, 2024
Schedule
  • Wed, Oct 30 (self-paced all week)
  • Wed, Nov 6 (self-paced all week)
  • Wed, Nov 13 (self-paced all week)
  • Wed, Nov 20 (self-paced all week)
LocationOnline
Instructor-
Cost$452.00
Seats Available25
ActionRegister
Start DateWed, Feb 5, 2025
Schedule
  • Wed, Feb 5 (self-paced all week)
  • Wed, Feb 12 (self-paced all week)
  • Wed, Feb 19 (self-paced all week)
  • Wed, Feb 26 (self-paced all week)
LocationOnline
Instructor-
Cost$452.00
Seats Available25
ActionRegister
Start DateWed, Mar 26, 2025
Schedule
  • Wed, Mar 26 (self-paced all week)
  • Wed, Apr 2 (self-paced all week)
  • Wed, Apr 9 (self-paced all week)
  • Wed, Apr 16 (self-paced all week)
LocationOnline
Instructor-
Cost$452.00
Seats Available25
ActionRegister
Start DateWed, May 14, 2025
Schedule
  • Wed, May 14 (self-paced all week)
  • Wed, May 21 (self-paced all week)
  • Wed, May 28 (self-paced all week)
  • Wed, Jun 4 (self-paced all week)
LocationOnline
Instructor-
Cost$452.00
Seats Available25
ActionRegister
Start DateWed, Oct 29, 2025
Schedule
  • Wed, Oct 29 (self-paced all week)
  • Wed, Nov 5 (self-paced all week)
  • Wed, Nov 12 (self-paced all week)
  • Wed, Nov 19 (self-paced all week)
LocationOnline
Instructor-
Cost$452.00
Seats Available25
ActionRegister

What you will learn

At the end of the course, you will be able to do the following:

  • Describe good design and how it applies to technical documents
  • Apply the five guiding principles of effective graphic design
  • Demonstrate your knowledge of the terminology, types, and reasons for using grids for page layout
  • Explain the history, terminology, classifications, and components of typefaces
  • Use tables, charts, graphs, and other graphic elements
  • Demonstrate your knowledge of image file formats, their terminology, and their use
  • Identify document structures, organization methods, and binding
  • Analyze different output processes (printing, electronic) and select the best one based on the project usage, budget, schedule, distribution and accessibility needs

How you will learn and be evaluated

Prepare to spend 6–10 hours per week on coursework, including:

  • Readings
  • Discussions
  • Exercises
  • Assignments

You will be evaluated on:

  • Participation in discussions
  • Assignments (final assignment due 1 week after course ends)

Learning Materials

No textbook is required. We will provide all course materials online.

Technical Requirements

For online courses, you will need a computer with audio and microphone that is connected to the internet. Canvas is the online system that will be used for the course. For more information and online support, visit Online Learning.

This course requires:

To get the most from this course, you should be comfortable with the following MS Word and/or Google Docs functions:

Assignments can also be completed using Microsoft PowerPoint, Microsoft Publisher, Adobe InDesign, or Canva.

English language requirements

To succeed in this course, you will need an advanced level of written and spoken English. If you are unsure whether your English language skills are sufficient, we recommend you complete the International English Language Testing System (IELTS) with the following minimums:

  • Overall band score minimum 6.5
  • No band below 6.0
  • Writing band score minimum 8.0

Please note we can’t refund your registration fees after the course start date if you find your English language skills are not adequate.

If you have questions or concerns about your English language proficiency, we encourage you to contact your local IELTS Test Centre.