MGMT250

Financial Accounting Fundamentals

In this course you will learn how accounting fundamentals apply within the Canadian business environment. You will use the full accounting cycle to enhance business reporting and decision making.

You will also analyze accounting concepts applied within different business scenarios, analyze financial statements and other related business practices to improve organizational effectiveness, and engage in collaborative exercises to find opportunities that improve and optimize an organization’s accounting processes.

Overview

Location: Online
Format: Self-paced within deadlines set by instructor
Duration: 12 weeks
Tuition: $649
Can be applied to:
Business Management Certificate
Risk Management Certificate

Upcoming Offerings

Register for a course at any time, with the option to apply to the Business Management Certificate program later. 

Start Date
Schedule
Location
Instructor
Cost
Seats
Available
Action
Start DateMon, Jan 16, 2023
Schedule
  • Mon, Jan 16 (self-paced all week)
  • Mon, Jan 23 (self-paced all week)
  • Mon, Jan 30 (self-paced all week)
  • Mon, Feb 6 (self-paced all week)
  • Mon, Feb 13 (self-paced all week)
  • Mon, Feb 20 (self-paced all week)
  • Mon, Feb 27 (self-paced all week)
  • Mon, Mar 6 (self-paced all week)
  • Mon, Mar 13 (self-paced all week)
  • Mon, Mar 20 (self-paced all week)
  • Mon, Mar 27 (self-paced all week)
LocationOnline
InstructorJaspal Singh
Cost$649.00
Seats Available20
ActionRegister
Start DateMon, Sep 11, 2023
Schedule
  • Mon, Sep 11 (self-paced all week)
  • Mon, Sep 18 (self-paced all week)
  • Mon, Sep 25 (self-paced all week)
  • Mon, Oct 2 (self-paced all week)
  • Mon, Oct 9 (self-paced all week)
  • Mon, Oct 16 (self-paced all week)
  • Mon, Oct 23 (self-paced all week)
  • Mon, Oct 30 (self-paced all week)
  • Mon, Nov 6 (self-paced all week)
  • Mon, Nov 13 (self-paced all week)
  • Mon, Nov 20 (self-paced all week)
LocationOnline
Instructor-
Cost$649.00
Seats Available30
ActionRegister

What you will learn

After completing this course, you’ll be able to do the following:

  • Implement the full accounting cycle to align organizations with accounting standards for private enterprises
  • Evaluate ethics related to a senior manager’s role from an accounting and management perspective
  • Appraise accounting practices that best align with a defined business environment 
  • Analyze accounting issues within a business to propose strategic decisions that enhance organizational processes and efficiencies
  • Create a professional business report to communicate analysis of, and recommendations for, specific accounting challenges faced by organizations

How you will learn and be evaluated

  • Prepare to spend 6–10 hours per week on coursework
  • Expect readings and other assignments on a weekly basis
  • Plan to access the course at least once every few days to keep up with your work and class discussions

You will be evaluated on:

  • Assignments (individual and group)
  • Exercises, quizzes and examinations
  • Participation in online discussions

Learning Materials

No textbook is required. We will provide all course materials online.

Recommended reading:

Larson, K.D. Fundamental Accounting Principles, Volume One, 17th ed. (2022). Print & Connect (ISBN 9781265164270) and eBook & Connect (ISBN 9781264943920) options are available through the publisher McGraw-Hill.

Larson, K.D. Fundamental Accounting Principles, Volume Two, 17th ed. (2022). Print & Connect (ISBN 9781265166588) and eBook & Connect (ISBN 9781264960200) options are available through the publisher McGraw-Hill.

Technical Requirements

For online courses, you will need a computer with audio and microphone that is connected to the internet. Canvas is the online system that will be used for the course. For more information and online support, visit Online Learning.

Professional development credits

This course may meet the requirements for the following designation(s):