NPM380

Financial Management for the Non-Financial Manager

This course provides an introduction to the fundamentals of financial management for the non-financial manager.

It is intended for managers responsible for the operations of non-profit organizations who will not have direct responsibility for setting up accounts and accounting. The material assumes little to no formal background in accounting and finance.

By the time you complete this course, you’ll be a more confident general manager who understands financial management in the context of a non-profit organization.

Overview

Location: Online
Format: Self-paced within deadlines set by instructor
Duration: 13 weeks
Tuition: $855
Can be applied to:
Non-Profit Management Certificate

Upcoming Offerings

Register for a course at any time, with the option to apply to a program later.

Start Date
Schedule
Location
Instructor
Cost
Seats
Available
Action
Start DateWed, Jan 18, 2023
Schedule
  • Wed, Jan 18 (self-paced all week)
  • Wed, Jan 25 (self-paced all week)
  • Wed, Feb 1 (self-paced all week)
  • Wed, Feb 8 (self-paced all week)
  • Wed, Feb 15 (self-paced all week)
  • Wed, Feb 22 (self-paced all week)
  • Wed, Mar 1 (self-paced all week)
  • Wed, Mar 8 (self-paced all week)
  • Wed, Mar 15 (self-paced all week)
  • Wed, Mar 22 (self-paced all week)
  • Wed, Mar 29 (self-paced all week)
  • Wed, Apr 5 (self-paced all week)
  • Wed, Apr 12 (self-paced all week)
LocationOnline
Instructor-
Cost$855.00
Seats Available28
ActionRegister
Start DateWed, May 10, 2023
Schedule
  • Wed, May 10 (self-paced all week)
  • Wed, May 17 (self-paced all week)
  • Wed, May 24 (self-paced all week)
  • Wed, May 31 (self-paced all week)
  • Wed, Jun 7 (self-paced all week)
  • Wed, Jun 14 (self-paced all week)
  • Wed, Jun 21 (self-paced all week)
  • Wed, Jun 28 (self-paced all week)
  • Wed, Jul 5 (self-paced all week)
  • Wed, Jul 12 (self-paced all week)
  • Wed, Jul 19 (self-paced all week)
  • Wed, Jul 26 (self-paced all week)
  • Wed, Aug 2 (self-paced all week)
LocationOnline
Instructor-
Cost$855.00
Seats Available34
ActionRegister

What you will learn

After completing this course, you’ll be able to do the following:

  • Use basic accounting concepts in a non-profit environment
  • Demonstrate an understanding of accounting and deferred contribution accounting in a non-profit environment
  • Work through the budgeting decision process while considering the relationships between planning, budgeting and financial risk controls
  • Explain role of finance in assisting with decision making
  • Manage budgets and cash flows
  • Demonstrate an understanding of internal controls and the role they play in meeting organizational objectives
  • Manage performance at organizational, business unit and individual level

How you will learn and be evaluated

  • Prepare to spend about 10 hours per week on coursework
  • Expect reading and other assignments on a weekly basis
  • Plan to access the course at least once every few days to keep up with your work and group assignments

You will be evaluated on:

  • Assignments 
  • Participation in online discussions

Learning Materials

No textbook is required. We will provide all course materials online.

Technical Requirements

For online courses, you will need a computer with audio and microphone that is connected to the internet. Canvas is the online system that will be used for the course. For more information and online support, visit Online Learning.