NPM360

Human Resources for the Non-Profit Sector

Non-profit organizations recognize that their staff and volunteers are critical to their ongoing success and acknowledge the challenge of finding and keeping those people.

This course will provide you with a strong framework for understanding the functional areas of strategic human resources management and how those areas relate to the non-profit workplace.

Topic areas will include: human resources planning; recruitment, recognition and engagement; discipline and termination practices; the value of exit interviews; and employee and labour relations. We will also discuss global issues in human resources management.

Overview

Location: Online
Format: Self-paced within deadlines set by instructor
Duration: 13 weeks
Tuition: $855
Can be applied to:
Non-Profit Management Certificate

Upcoming Offerings

Register for a course at any time, with the option to apply to a program later.

Start Date
Schedule
Location
Instructor
Cost
Seats
Available
Action
Start DateWed, Jan 18, 2023
Schedule
  • Wed, Jan 18 (self-paced all week)
  • Wed, Jan 25 (self-paced all week)
  • Wed, Feb 1 (self-paced all week)
  • Wed, Feb 8 (self-paced all week)
  • Wed, Feb 15 (self-paced all week)
  • Wed, Feb 22 (self-paced all week)
  • Wed, Mar 1 (self-paced all week)
  • Wed, Mar 8 (self-paced all week)
  • Wed, Mar 15 (self-paced all week)
  • Wed, Mar 22 (self-paced all week)
  • Wed, Mar 29 (self-paced all week)
  • Wed, Apr 5 (self-paced all week)
  • Wed, Apr 12 (self-paced all week)
LocationOnline
InstructorShagun Bhanot
Cost$855.00
Seats Available29
ActionRegister
Start DateWed, Sep 6, 2023
Schedule
  • Wed, Sep 6 (self-paced all week)
  • Wed, Sep 13 (self-paced all week)
  • Wed, Sep 20 (self-paced all week)
  • Wed, Sep 27 (self-paced all week)
  • Wed, Oct 4 (self-paced all week)
  • Wed, Oct 11 (self-paced all week)
  • Wed, Oct 18 (self-paced all week)
  • Wed, Oct 25 (self-paced all week)
  • Wed, Nov 1 (self-paced all week)
  • Wed, Nov 8 (self-paced all week)
  • Wed, Nov 15 (self-paced all week)
  • Wed, Nov 22 (self-paced all week)
  • Wed, Nov 29 (self-paced all week)
LocationOnline
Instructor-
Cost$855.00
Seats Available34
ActionRegister

What you will learn

After completing this course, you’ll be able to do the following:

  • Define and explain various human resources management plans and processes used to achieve an organization’s strategic objective
  • Explain how employment-related issues are governed in Canada and how legislation impacts the workplace
  • Describe the components of compensation and analyze your organization’s compensation approach
  • Explain the strategic importance of total reward strategies
  • Create a job description and understand the connection to both staff and volunteer recruitment and selection processes
  • Describe effective recruiting and retention strategies and the factors that influence their use
  • Understand the strategic value and importance of performance management
  • Understand the training process and its relevance to building organizational capacity
  • Explain the five steps in the labour relations process
  • Describe effective health and safety practices in the workplace
  • Understand risk management, restructuring and contingency planning

How you will learn and be evaluated

  • Prepare to spend about 10 hours per week on coursework
  • Expect reading and other assignments on a weekly basis
  • Plan to access the course at least once every few days to keep up with your work and group assignments

You will be evaluated on:

  • Assignments 
  • Participation in online discussions

Learning Materials

No textbook is required. We will provide all course materials online.

Technical Requirements

For online courses, you will need a computer with audio and microphone that is connected to the internet. Canvas is the online system that will be used for the course. For more information and online support, visit Online Learning.