NPM320

Planning, Monitoring and Evaluation

We live in a complex world that demands innovative and collaborative responses to the challenges of non-profit management. Leaders must understand real-world problems and work toward transformative change that promises a more resilient and just future. Program planning, monitoring and evaluation lie at the heart of this work. The old paradigm of a linear, sequential cycle where programs are designed, implemented and then evaluated for their success no longer works.

In this course, you will explore the theory, methods and practices for effective and responsive program planning that involves multi-stakeholder collaboration and ongoing evaluation. Effective design and delivery require sophisticated planning approaches that embed iterative and continuous evaluation processes. They also require monitoring and measuring quantitative and summative data.

Effective program planning creates a need for learning-focused, flexible, adaptive and process-oriented approaches that harness the nuances of change. Strategies for involving community- and private-sector stakeholders are becoming integral to planning and evaluation processes, and are leading to larger-scale social impact where several interventions create meaningful and sustained change. At the same time, high demands for accountability and transparency necessitate systems that also inform funding agencies, governing agencies and other stakeholders on the impact and progress of projects and programs.

Overview

Location: Online
Format: Self-paced within deadlines set by instructor
Duration: 13 weeks
Tuition: $855
Can be applied to:
Non-Profit Management Certificate

Upcoming Offerings

Register for a course at any time, with the option to apply to a program later.

Start Date
Schedule
Location
Instructor
Cost
Seats
Available
Action
Start DateWed, Sep 7, 2022
Schedule
  • Wed, Sep 7 (self-paced all week)
  • Wed, Sep 14 (self-paced all week)
  • Wed, Sep 21 (self-paced all week)
  • Wed, Sep 28 (self-paced all week)
  • Wed, Oct 5 (self-paced all week)
  • Wed, Oct 12 (self-paced all week)
  • Wed, Oct 19 (self-paced all week)
  • Wed, Oct 26 (self-paced all week)
  • Wed, Nov 2 (self-paced all week)
  • Wed, Nov 9 (self-paced all week)
  • Wed, Nov 16 (self-paced all week)
  • Wed, Nov 23 (self-paced all week)
  • Wed, Nov 30 (self-paced all week)
LocationOnline
Cost$855.00
Seats Available26
ActionRegister
Start DateWed, May 10, 2023
Schedule
  • Wed, May 10 (self-paced all week)
  • Wed, May 17 (self-paced all week)
  • Wed, May 24 (self-paced all week)
  • Wed, May 31 (self-paced all week)
  • Wed, Jun 7 (self-paced all week)
  • Wed, Jun 14 (self-paced all week)
  • Wed, Jun 21 (self-paced all week)
  • Wed, Jun 28 (self-paced all week)
  • Wed, Jul 5 (self-paced all week)
  • Wed, Jul 12 (self-paced all week)
  • Wed, Jul 19 (self-paced all week)
  • Wed, Jul 26 (self-paced all week)
  • Wed, Aug 2 (self-paced all week)
LocationOnline
Cost$855.00
Seats Available33
ActionRegister

What you will learn

After completing this course, you’ll be able to do the following:

  • Examine systems thinking using new and emerging theories to respond to complexity with practical methodologies
  • Design and implement effective programs that embed continuous monitoring and integrated evaluation processes
  • Generate and implement effective stakeholder engagement strategies
  • Compose clear, coherent program goals, objectives, work plans and monitoring and evaluation plans
  • Collect and analyze quantitative and qualitative data to support ongoing planning, learning and doing
  • Write reports documenting stories of transformative change
  • Measure and communicate the contributions of your programs using evidence-informed distribution designs and methodologies
  • Delineate and articulate the new knowledge you create from practice
  • Identify evaluation standards, principles and codes of behaviour relevant to non-profit management
  • Locate and explain new and emerging organizational structures that position planning, monitoring and evaluation as a leadership function
  • Outline emerging evaluation approaches, which include developmental evaluation and principle-focused evaluation

How you will learn and be evaluated

  • Prepare to spend about 10 hours per week on coursework
  • Expect reading and other assignments on a weekly basis
  • Plan to access the course at least once every few days to keep up with your work and group assignments

You will be evaluated on:

  • Assignments 
  • Participation in online discussions

Learning Materials

No textbook is required. We will provide all course materials online.

Technical Requirements

For online courses, you will need a computer with audio and microphone that is connected to the internet. Canvas is the online system that will be used for the course. For more information and online support, visit Online Learning.