TWJ110

Japanese/English Translation

Billions of words are translated among the world’s languages every year. The translation world is constantly changing with technology, and the volume is rising as more and more content is produced in every field. This course is ideal for bilingual Japanese and English speakers who want to pursue careers as freelance translators in North America. It may also benefit working professionals who translate in business or social settings. Both Japanese and English will be used during classes, so the course is targeted for individuals who have an intermediate level of Japanese comprehension, both spoken and written.

Overview

Location: Online
Duration: 12 weeks
Tuition: $795

You may also be interested in:

Upcoming Offerings

Start Date
Schedule
Location
Instructor
Cost
Seats
Available
Action
Start DateTue, Apr 11, 2023
Schedule
  • Tue, Apr 11, 6:30 p.m. – 9:00 p.m. Pacific Time (virtual class)
  • Tue, Apr 18, 6:30 p.m. – 9:00 p.m. Pacific Time (virtual class)
  • Tue, Apr 25, 6:30 p.m. – 9:00 p.m. Pacific Time (virtual class)
  • Tue, May 2, 6:30 p.m. – 9:00 p.m. Pacific Time (virtual class)
  • Tue, May 9, 6:30 p.m. – 9:00 p.m. Pacific Time (virtual class)
  • Tue, May 16, 6:30 p.m. – 9:00 p.m. Pacific Time (virtual class)
  • Tue, May 23, 6:30 p.m. – 9:00 p.m. Pacific Time (virtual class)
  • Tue, May 30, 6:30 p.m. – 9:00 p.m. Pacific Time (virtual class)
  • Tue, Jun 6, 6:30 p.m. – 9:00 p.m. Pacific Time (virtual class)
  • Tue, Jun 13, 6:30 p.m. – 9:00 p.m. Pacific Time (virtual class)
  • Tue, Jun 20, 6:30 p.m. – 9:00 p.m. Pacific Time (virtual class)
  • Tue, Jun 27, 6:30 p.m. – 9:00 p.m. Pacific Time (virtual class)
LocationOnline
InstructorRandal Helten
Cost$795.00
Seats Available30
ActionRegister
Start DateTue, Sep 12, 2023
Schedule
  • Tue, Sep 12, 6:30 p.m. – 9:00 p.m. Pacific Time (virtual class)
  • Tue, Sep 19, 6:30 p.m. – 9:00 p.m. Pacific Time (virtual class)
  • Tue, Sep 26, 6:30 p.m. – 9:00 p.m. Pacific Time (virtual class)
  • Tue, Oct 3, 6:30 p.m. – 9:00 p.m. Pacific Time (virtual class)
  • Tue, Oct 10, 6:30 p.m. – 9:00 p.m. Pacific Time (virtual class)
  • Tue, Oct 17, 6:30 p.m. – 9:00 p.m. Pacific Time (virtual class)
  • Tue, Oct 24, 6:30 p.m. – 9:00 p.m. Pacific Time (virtual class)
  • Tue, Oct 31, 6:30 p.m. – 9:00 p.m. Pacific Time (virtual class)
  • Tue, Nov 7, 6:30 p.m. – 9:00 p.m. Pacific Time (virtual class)
  • Tue, Nov 14, 6:30 p.m. – 9:00 p.m. Pacific Time (virtual class)
  • Tue, Nov 21, 6:30 p.m. – 9:00 p.m. Pacific Time (virtual class)
  • Tue, Nov 28, 6:30 p.m. – 9:00 p.m. Pacific Time (virtual class)
LocationOnline
InstructorRandal Helten
Cost$795.00
Seats Available30
ActionRegister

What you will learn

After completing this course, you’ll be able to do the following:

  • Transfer meaning between Japanese and English precisely and concisely in official documents, marketing projects and business materials
  • Use standard editing techniques and translation equipment and software
  • Analyze and contrast English and Japanese syntax
  • Enter the translation market in North America and build a client base
  • Manage your time and set pricing for freelance work
  • Identify professional certification options in B.C. and Canada

How you will learn and be evaluated

  • Prepare to spend six to ten hours per week on coursework
  • Expect reading and other assignments on a weekly basis
  • Plan to access the course at least once every few days to keep up with your work and group assignments

You will be evaluated on a pass/fail basis on:

  • Assignments (individual and group)
  • Participation in online discussions
  • Quizzes and examinations
  • Final project

Learning Materials

No textbook is required. We will provide all course materials online.

Technical Requirements

For online courses, you will need a computer with audio and microphone that is connected to the internet. Canvas is the online system that will be used for the course. For more information and online support, visit Online Learning.

Language requirements

To succeed in this course, you must be proficient in written English and Japanese and able to communicate verbally. You should also be able to input English and Japanese on computers and/or mobile devices.