TWSA250

Creative Non-Fiction 2

Hone your writing skills and strengthen your storytelling voice in this intensive course designed to help emerging writers of creative non-fiction make informed decisions for their work. What structure should your story take? Whose point-of-view should it be told from? Which parts of an interview should you keep as dialogue, and which parts should you paraphrase?

If you've got the basics down and are looking to develop and polish your work for publication, this hands-on course offers readings, discussions, writing activities and workshops to give you a deeper understanding of your craft as you engage in the important work of writing the true stories that matter to you.

Workshopping and feedback: This course includes instructor feedback on weekly assignments. You'll also submit two pieces for workshopping and receive written feedback from your instructor and other students. In turn, you'll provide feedback to your classmates, and benefit your own writing by seeing feedback on others' work.

Overview

Location: Online
Format: Self-paced within deadlines set by instructor
Duration: 10 weeks
Tuition: $628.95

You may also be interested in:
The Writer's Studio

Upcoming Offerings

Start Date
Schedule
Location
Instructor
Cost
Seats
Available
Action
Start DateThu, Oct 6, 2022
Schedule
  • Thu, Oct 6 (self-paced all week)
  • Thu, Oct 13 (self-paced all week)
  • Thu, Oct 20 (self-paced all week)
  • Thu, Oct 27 (self-paced all week)
  • Thu, Nov 3 (self-paced all week)
  • Wed, Nov 9 (self-paced all week)
  • Wed, Nov 16 (self-paced all week)
  • Wed, Nov 23 (self-paced all week)
  • Wed, Nov 30 (self-paced all week)
  • Wed, Dec 7 (self-paced all week)
LocationOnline
InstructorBrian Payton
Cost$628.95
Seats Available21
ActionRegister
Start DateThu, Feb 23, 2023
Schedule
  • Thu, Feb 23 (self-paced all week)
  • Thu, Mar 2 (self-paced all week)
  • Thu, Mar 9 (self-paced all week)
  • Thu, Mar 16 (self-paced all week)
  • Thu, Mar 23 (self-paced all week)
  • Thu, Mar 30 (self-paced all week)
  • Thu, Apr 6 (self-paced all week)
  • Thu, Apr 13 (self-paced all week)
  • Thu, Apr 20 (self-paced all week)
  • Thu, Apr 27 (self-paced all week)
LocationOnline
InstructorBrian Payton
Cost$628.95
Seats Available25
ActionRegister

What you will learn

By the end of the course, you will be able to do the following:  

  • Make informed storytelling decisions for your work, including: identifying a theme, setting your scenes, and choosing a point-of-view, architecture and arc that serve your material
  • Research and interview effectively, and incorporate material generated in this way into your stories
  • Render your unique storytelling voice on the page
  • Revise your work, incorporating feedback gathered during the workshopping process
  • Use your reading practice to inform your writing and identify possible markets for publication 

How you will learn and be evaluated

  • Read weekly modules
  • Complete additional weekly reading (if assigned)
  • Complete a writing assignment each week for feedback from the instructor
  • Participate in weekly discussions based on readings and activities
  • Read and provide feedback on other students’ work each week
  • Submit two pieces of your own writing for feedback from the instructor and other students

This course is graded using a competency-based grading scale

Who should take this course?

To get the most out of this advanced course, you should have the following experience: 

  • Completion of an introductory non-fiction course
  • Familiarity with the workshopping process (both giving and receiving feedback)

Learning Materials

No textbook is required. We will provide all course materials online.

Technical Requirements

For online courses, you will need a computer with audio and microphone that is connected to the internet. Canvas is the online system that will be used for the course. For more information and online support, visit Online Learning.