Message From the Inaugural School Director

Welcome to the School of Sustainable Energy Engineering.  Established in 2019, the School is housed in a purpose-built expansion to SFU’s Surrey Campus, providing a state of the art immersive learning and research environment.  I am humbled and honoured to serve as the School’s Inaugural Director, and am deeply grateful to have worked alongside a team of extraordinary people in designing, developing, launching and expanding the School.

Our mission is to inspire and foster transformative innovations in energy systems that benefit society and the natural environment through outstanding interdisciplinary education, research, collaboration, and engagement amongst a diverse and equitable community.  This mission connects our students, staff and faculty members in pursuing a common vision.

The School’s academic programs include undergraduate and graduate degrees, which are both technically rigorous and fundamentally interdisciplinary.  A strong foundation in engineering is woven together with elements of policy, ecology, economics, and entrepreneurship that allow technological advance to be viewed through the economic, environmental, societal, and cultural lenses needed to arrive at truly sustainable solutions. 

Our faculty complement includes world leading experts and researchers in areas such as clean transportation, zero emissions buildings, advanced materials for energy systems, smart grid power distribution, and multi-scale energy systems modeling and simulation.  Our research is deeply collaborative and interdisciplinary, yielding fundamental knowledge with direct application to the profound challenge that we face as a global community in responding to climate change.

I encourage you explore our website to learn more about our extraordinary academic programs and exciting research.  We welcome all inquiries from prospective students, colleagues, and collaborators, and look forward to hearing from you.

Dr. Kevin Oldknow, P.Eng.
Director, School of Sustainable Energy Engineering (2019-2022)