NSERC Chairs for Women in Science and Engineering

WWEST is one of the five Chairs for Women in Science and Engineering (CWSE) across Canada, and a member of the CWSE Network. The Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council (NSERC) Chair for Women in Science and Engineering Program (CWSE) was launched in 1996. The goal of the program is to increase the participation of women in science and engineering and to provide role models for women active in, and considering, careers in these fields.

Each of the five Chairs for Women in Science and Engineering (CWSE) program is regional, with one Chair for each of the Atlantic, Quebec, Ontario, Prairie and British Columbia/Yukon regions. Chairs are tenable at any NSERC-eligible Canadian university within a designated region. Chairholders are approved for a five-year term, renewable for an additional three years if progress is satisfactory and support from the sponsoring organization(s) continues.

For more information on the program: http://cwse-on.ca/cwse/national-network

To see what kind of an impact the NSERC CWSE is having, check out our infographic!

Atlantic Chair - Dr. Tamara Franz-Odendaal

Ontario Chair - Dr. Shohini Ghose

Quebec Chair -  Dr. Eve Langelier

Prairies Chair - Dr. Laleh Behjat