Flag protocol

Ceremonies and Events arranges for the changing of flag sets and the lowering of flags throughout the year. There are two sets of flags on campus; one at the entrance to the university and one at Cornerstone Town Square.

Read more about SFU's policies and procedures for the displaying of flags.

Current flag sets on display

University entrance: Official flags

  • British Columbia provincial flag
  • Canadian flag
  • Simon Fraser University flag


Cornerstone Town Square: Provincial flags

  • Canadian flag
  • Ontario provincial flag
  • Quebec provincial flag
  • Nova Scotia provincial flag
  • New Brunswick provincial flag
  • Manitoba provincial flag
  • British Columbia provincial flag
  • Prince Edward Island provincial flag
  • Saskatchewan provincial flag
  • Alberta provincial flag
  • Newfoundland provincial flag
  • Northwest Territories provincial flag
  • Yukon provincial flag
  • Nunavut provincial flag

(order of flags flown west to east)

Lowering of the flags

Flags are lowered in accordance with Policy AD 1.02 and an advisory notice will appear here.