MENU

FACULTY & Instructors

Faculty 

Shawn Chartrand

Assistant Professor

shawn_chartrand@sfu.ca
778-782-5431
TASC 2 8544

Research Area: How rivers form and co-evolve with landscapes with particular interest in mountain rivers and cold regions of the Arctic.

Tara Holland

Lecturer

tara_holland@sfu.ca
TASC 2 8904

Research Area: Climate change impacts and adaptation in natural resource sectors, human impacts on coastal environments, and forest fragmentation patterns.

Ruth Joy

Practitioner Faculty & Graduate Program Chair

rjoy@sfu.ca
TASC 2 8901

Research Area: Developing models that assess the relative impact of anthropogenic stressors on both marine and terrestrial species at risk.

Jeremy Venditti 

Professor

jeremy_venditti@sfu.ca
TASC 2 8548

Research Area: Fluvial Geomorphology and Sedimentology, River Dynamics, Physics of Sediment Transport

Chelsea Little

Assistant Professor

chelsea_little@sfu.ca
778-782-5391
TASC 2 8546

Research Area: Ecosystem functioning, community ecology and meta-ecosystem ecology.

Brendan Murphy

Assistant Professor

 brendan_murphy@sfu.ca
TASC 2 8542

Research Area: Geomorphology, watershed-scale sediment dynamics, post-wildfire environments, water security, climatic controls on landscape evolution, and resource management.

Margaret Schmidt

Undergraduate Chair & Associate Professor

margaret_schmidt@sfu.ca
RCB 7133

Research Area: Soil science, digital soil mapping, predictive soil mapping and modelling, impact of forest management practices on soil properties and nutrient cycling, soil rehabilitation.

Karen Kohfeld

Director

sesdir@sfu.ca
TASC 2 8903

Research Area: Climate change, earth system science, carbon cycling, paleoceanography, paleoclimatology, paleoecology, ocean acidification, and regional impacts of climate change.

Adjunct Professors & Instructors

Arvind Saraswat

Visiting Professor

arvind_saraswat@sfu.ca

Research Area: Modeling small-area variations in concentrations of urban air pollutants, development of novel methods for estimating population exposure and air quality impact assessment for major industrial sources.

Anna Hippmann

LIMITED TERM Lecturer

anna_hippmann@sfu.ca

Research Area: Trace metal physiology in phyktoplankton. Plastic pollution in the ocean.

Craig Orr

Adjunct Professor

Ryan Bradley

Adjunct Professor