CHRM260

Employee Total Rewards

Learn the value of a total rewards strategy in the attraction, engagement and retention of employees. You will explore intrinsic and extrinsic motivational theories that drive organizational engagement.

In this course, you'll learn methods for creating internal and external equity and assess your personal values and motivators. You'll examine the labour market and determine an organization’s market positioning in relation to compensation, and also relate the impact of an organization’s financial performance on total rewards policies.

Note: If you're new to the field of human resources, you should take Human Resources Management in Canada (CHRM200) before taking this course.

Overview

Location: Online
Format: Self-paced within deadlines set by instructor
Duration: 8 weeks
Tuition: $749
Can be applied to:
Human Resources Management Certificate

Upcoming Offerings

Register for a course at any time, with the option to apply to a program later.

Start Date
Schedule
Location
Instructor
Cost
Seats
Available
Action
Start DateMon, May 15, 2023
Schedule
  • Mon, May 15 (self-paced all week)
  • Mon, May 22 (self-paced all week)
  • Mon, May 29 (self-paced all week)
  • Mon, Jun 5 (self-paced all week)
  • Mon, Jun 12 (self-paced all week)
  • Mon, Jun 19 (self-paced all week)
  • Mon, Jun 26 (self-paced all week)
  • Mon, Jul 3 (self-paced all week)
LocationOnline
Cost$749.00
Seats Available27
ActionRegister
Start DateMon, Sep 25, 2023
Schedule
  • Mon, Sep 25 (self-paced all week)
  • Mon, Oct 2 (self-paced all week)
  • Mon, Oct 9 (self-paced all week)
  • Mon, Oct 16 (self-paced all week)
  • Mon, Oct 23 (self-paced all week)
  • Mon, Oct 30 (self-paced all week)
  • Mon, Nov 6 (self-paced all week)
  • Mon, Nov 13 (self-paced all week)
LocationOnline
Instructor-
Cost$749.00
Seats Available30
ActionRegister
Start DateMon, Jan 29, 2024
Schedule
  • Mon, Jan 29 (self-paced all week)
  • Mon, Feb 5 (self-paced all week)
  • Mon, Feb 12 (self-paced all week)
  • Mon, Feb 19 (self-paced all week)
  • Mon, Feb 26 (self-paced all week)
  • Mon, Mar 4 (self-paced all week)
  • Mon, Mar 11 (self-paced all week)
  • Mon, Mar 18 (self-paced all week)
LocationOnline
Instructor-
Cost$749.00
Seats Available28
ActionRegister

What you will learn

After completing this course, you’ll be able to do the following:

  • Apply the value of total rewards to HR programs and offerings
  • Discuss direct compensation as a form of total rewards
  • Discuss indirect compensation as a form of total rewards 
  • Explain how aligning total rewards with organizational accounting and finance enables strategic HR planning

How you will learn and be evaluated

  • Prepare to spend 7–10 hours per week on coursework
  • Expect readings and other assignments on a weekly basis
  • Plan to access the course at least once every few days to keep up with your work and class discussions

You will be evaluated on:

  • Assignments (individual and group)
  • Participation in online discussions

To earn the certificate, complete all courses with a minimum average grade of C.

Learning Materials

Course fees do not include textbooks. We recommend you purchase your textbook as soon as you’ve registered. We will provide additional course materials online.

Required textbook:

Long, R.J., Singh, P. Strategic Compensation in Canada, 7th Edition. Nelson, 2021. Available as an e-book from the publisher

 

Technical Requirements

For online courses, you will need a computer with audio and microphone that is connected to the internet. Canvas is the online system that will be used for the course. For more information and online support, visit Online Learning.