MGMT316

Workplace Training and Development

Talent development is an increasingly critical HR function that requires practical knowledge and technical skill. Learn how to perform a training needs analysis, measure and address the gap between expected and actual performance, and design evaluation criteria to calculate return on investment. You’ll gain invaluable experience by delivering a training course.

Prerequisite(s):

Overview

Location: Online
Format: Self-paced within deadlines set by instructor
Duration: 11 weeks
Tuition: $649
Can be applied to:
Human Resources Management Certificate

Upcoming Offerings

Register for a course at any time, with the option to apply to a program later.

Start Date
Schedule
Location
Instructor
Cost
Seats
Available
Action
Start DateMon, Jan 17, 2022
Schedule
  • Mon, Jan 17 (self-paced all week)
  • Mon, Jan 24 (self-paced all week)
  • Mon, Jan 31 (self-paced all week)
  • Mon, Feb 7 (self-paced all week)
  • Mon, Feb 14 (self-paced all week)
  • Mon, Feb 21 (self-paced all week)
  • Mon, Feb 28 (self-paced all week)
  • Mon, Mar 7 (self-paced all week)
  • Mon, Mar 14 (self-paced all week)
  • Mon, Mar 21 (self-paced all week)
  • Mon, Mar 28 (self-paced all week)
LocationOnline
InstructorSrividhya Mouli
Cost$649.00
Seats Available6
ActionRegister
Start DateMon, Apr 25, 2022
Schedule
  • Mon, Apr 25 (self-paced all week)
  • Mon, May 2 (self-paced all week)
  • Mon, May 9 (self-paced all week)
  • Mon, May 16 (self-paced all week)
  • Mon, May 23 (self-paced all week)
  • Mon, May 30 (self-paced all week)
  • Mon, Jun 6 (self-paced all week)
  • Mon, Jun 13 (self-paced all week)
  • Mon, Jun 20 (self-paced all week)
  • Mon, Jun 27 (self-paced all week)
  • Mon, Jul 4 (self-paced all week)
LocationOnline
Instructor-
Cost$649.00
Seats Available30
ActionRegister

What you will learn

After completing this course, you’ll be able to do the following:

  • Examine the strategic role of training and development within an organization
  • Apply a range of experiential training techniques to engage learners
  • Assess the impact of learning styles on training design
  • Evaluate the effectiveness of a training program in delivering a return on investment
  • Develop an organizational training needs analysis
  • Design and deliver a short training session

How you will learn and be evaluated

  • Prepare to spend 6–10 hours per week on coursework
  • Expect readings and other assignments on a weekly basis
  • Plan to access the course at least once every few days to keep up with your work and class discussions

You will be evaluated on:

  • Assignments (individual and group)
  • Participation in online discussions

Learning Materials

Course fees do not include textbooks. We recommend you purchase your textbook as soon as you’ve registered. We will provide additional course materials online.

Required textbook:

Saks, A. & Haccoun, R. Managing Performance Through Training and Development, 8th edition. Top Hat eText, 2019. An ebook is available through VitalSource.

Technical Requirements

For online courses, you will need a computer with audio and microphone that is connected to the internet. Canvas is the online system that will be used for the course. For more information and online support, visit Online Learning.

Professional development credits

This course may meet the requirements for the following designation(s):