MGMT420

Business Strategy

This course is designed for those who need to grow, strategically pivot, or save their organizations. You will play the role of a member of the senior executive team in the development and management of a strategy, matching corporate competence and resources with economic opportunities and risks.

You will learn how marketing, finance, production and human resources blend into a cohesive strategic plan that provides a directional focus for an organization.

Specific topics include industry and competitive strategic analysis, analyzing internal strategic resources and capabilities, business-level strategies and tactics, stakeholders’ preferences, and managing strategic change.

Prerequisite(s):

(You can complete either MGMT250 or MGMT245. So, if you’ve taken MGMT245, which is no longer offered, it can count as a prerequisite.)

Overview

Location: Online
Format: Self-paced within deadlines set by instructor
Duration: 11 weeks
Tuition: $649
Can be applied to:
Business Management Certificate
Risk Management Certificate

Upcoming Offerings

Register for a course at any time, with the option to apply to the Business Management Certificate program later. 

Start Date
Schedule
Location
Instructor
Cost
Seats Available
Action
Start DateMon, Sep 11, 2023
Schedule
  • Mon, Sep 11 (self-paced all week)
  • Mon, Sep 18 (self-paced all week)
  • Mon, Sep 25 (self-paced all week)
  • Mon, Oct 2 (self-paced all week)
  • Mon, Oct 9 (self-paced all week)
  • Mon, Oct 16 (self-paced all week)
  • Mon, Oct 23 (self-paced all week)
  • Mon, Oct 30 (self-paced all week)
  • Mon, Nov 6 (self-paced all week)
  • Mon, Nov 13 (self-paced all week)
  • Mon, Nov 20 (self-paced all week)
LocationOnline
InstructorEdward Hung
Cost$649.00
Seats Available28
ActionRegister
Start DateMon, Jan 15, 2024
Schedule
  • Mon, Jan 15 (self-paced all week)
  • Mon, Jan 22 (self-paced all week)
  • Mon, Jan 29 (self-paced all week)
  • Mon, Feb 5 (self-paced all week)
  • Mon, Feb 12 (self-paced all week)
  • Mon, Feb 19 (self-paced all week)
  • Mon, Feb 26 (self-paced all week)
  • Mon, Mar 4 (self-paced all week)
  • Mon, Mar 11 (self-paced all week)
  • Mon, Mar 18 (self-paced all week)
  • Mon, Mar 25 (self-paced all week)
LocationOnline
Instructor-
Cost$649.00
Seats Available30
ActionRegister

What you will learn

After completing this course, you’ll be able to do the following:

  • Apply creative and critical thinking to navigate organizational problems with key stakeholders
  • Analyze the existing strategic position of an organization in order to plan for future growth 
  • Engage key stakeholders to develop a unified strategic position for an organization 
  • Articulate the potential economic, social and cultural scenarios that can affect an organization’s strategic position
  • Model alternative scenarios and predictions that will inform strategic direction
  • Create a strategic plan that provides an innovative framework to set the stage for its successful implementation in an organization

How you will learn and be evaluated

  • Prepare to spend 6–10 hours per week on coursework
  • Expect readings and other assignments on a weekly basis
  • Plan to access the course at least once every few days to keep up with your work and class discussions

You will be evaluated on:

  • Assignments (individual and group)
  • Participation in online discussions
  • Weekly quizzes and exercises
  • Examinations

Learning Materials

Course fees do not include textbooks or other materials. We recommend you purchase your textbooks as soon as you've registered. 

No mandatory textbook required.

Please note that the textbook listed below is not mandatory, but you may wish to purchase it as an additional resource to reinforce concepts when reviewing the topics covered in the course outline.

Hill, C. & Jones, G. Strategic Management: Theory and Cases: An Integrated Approach (13th Ed.). ISBN: 9780357033845. An ebook is available through the publisher, Nelsonbrain.

Technical Requirements

For online courses, you will need a computer with audio and microphone that is connected to the internet. Canvas is the online system that will be used for the course. For more information and online support, visit Online Learning.