Directory of Aboriginal Contacts

Note: Please click onto red headings for access to program/office websites. 

Office for Aboriginal Peoples (AQ 3140)

General Email:  askoap@sfu.ca

Ron Johnston
Director
778-782-8924
ronaldj@sfu.ca

Gary George
Officer for Community Relations
778-782-8925
ggeorge@sfu.ca


Administrative Assistant
778-782-9026
askoap@sfu.ca

Indigenous Student Centre (AQ 2002)

Gordon Yusko / Office Assistant 
Phone:  778-782-6929
Email:  askISC@sfu.ca

Jessica La Rochelle, Stó:lō, Okanogan
Director
jessica_larochelle@sfu.ca

Kaylena Ryan, Secwepemc, Gitxsan, Tsimshian
Associate Director
kaylena_ryan@sfu.ca

Jesse Lecoy, Okanagan
Coordinator, Indigenous Student Life
jesse_lecoy@sfu.ca

Audrey Heath, Gitxsan
Special Projects, Communications
aheath@sfu.ca

Jasmin Glaw, Algonquin
Coordinator, Indigenous Student Life
778-782-5663
jasmin_glaw@sfu.ca

Rebecca Sangwais, Cree, Saulteaux
Coordinator, Indigenous Student Life 
rebecca_sangwais@sfu.ca

Tanu Gamble, Tsimshian/Haida 
Registered Clinical Counsellor
tanug@sfu.ca

Jennifer Reandy, Cree
Registered Clinical Counsellor
jennifer_reandy@sfu.ca

Rita Multani
Communications Program Assistant
isc_comms@sfu.ca

 

Indigenous Recruitment (3000 Maggie Benston Centre)

Madison Chad
Indigenous Student Recruitment Liaison Coordinator
indigenous_students@sfu.ca

Angela Wolfe
Director, Indigenous Student Recruitment 
Angela_Wolfe@sfu.ca

Indigenous University Preparation Program ( IUPP) (RCB 8107)

Dr. Antonieta Mar-y-paz Rivera 
Director
778-782-4089
iaupp@sfu.ca

Kismet Somal
Recruiter, Indigenous University Preparation Program
604 353 7006
iaupprec@sfu.ca

Graduate and Post Doctoral Studies (WMC 1370)

Dorothy Christian, Cucw-la7, PhD
Associate Director, Indigenous Indigenous Policy & Pedagogy
dchristi@sfu.ca


SFU Library
 (W.A.C. Bennett Library)

Jenna Walsh
Indigenous Initiatives Librarian
778-782-9378
jenna_walsh@sfu.ca

Ashley Edwards 
Indigenous Initiative Instruction Librarian
avandijk@sfu.ca

Department of Indigenous Studies (9091 Saywell Hall)

Eldon Yellowhorn
Professor and Founding Chair
778-782-6669
ecy@sfu.ca

Deanna Reder
Chair and Associate Professor
778-782-8192
deanna_reder@sfu.ca

Ronda Landsfried
Chair's Secretary
778-782-4774
indgsec@sfu.ca 

Joyce Schneider / Kicya7
Assistant Professor and Undergraduate Chair
joyce_schneider@sfu.ca

Marianne B. Ignace
Professor 
ignace@sfu.ca

annie ross
Professor
778-782-3575
annier@sfu.ca

Rudy Reimer / Yumks
Associate Professor
rudyr@sfu.ca

June Scudeler
Assistant Professor
778-782-4774
jscudele@sfu.ca

Natahnee Winder
Assistant Professor
778-782-6612
nwinder@sfu.ca

Jeannie Morgan
Assistant Professor
778-782-7542
jeannie_morgan@sfu.ca

Chelsea Geralda Armstrong
Assistant Professor
chelsea_geralda@sfu.ca

Robert Bandringa
Assistant Professor
rbandrin@sfu.ca

Sarah Henzi
Assistant Professor
shenzi@sfu.ca

Sandi Dielissen
Term Lecturer
sdieliss@sfu.ca 

Bryan Myles
Term Lecturer
bmyles@sfu.ca

Alix Shield
Term Lecturer
alix_shield@sfu.ca 

Brett Romans
Budget Assistant
778-782-5380
indgbud@sfu.ca

Phil Cunningham 
Manager/Administrative Services
778-782-5964
indgmgr@sfu.ca

Casey McCarthy
Coordinator, Communications & Events
778-782-5981
indigcomm@sfu.ca

 

Advisory Role / President's Office

Chris Lewis
Director, Indigeneous Initiatives and Reconciliation
chris_lewis@sfu.ca

Indigenous Languages Program (Robert C Brown Hall)

Marianne B. Ignace

Professor / Director Indigenous Language Program (INLP)
Director, Indigenous Languages Program
778-782-5595
ignace@sfu.ca

See also Indigenous Studies and First Nations Language Centre listing.

Donna Gerdts 
Professor / Associate Director, INLP
250-701-1236
gerdts@sfu.ca
www.sfu.ca/~gerdts/

Peter Jacobs
Assistant Professor (INLP)
Department of Linguistics
pwjacobs@sfu.ca

Heather Bliss
Assistant Professor (INLP)
Department of Linguistics
hbliss@sfu.ca 

John Lyon
Lecturer / Visiting Faculty (INLP)
Department of Linguistics
jmlyon@sfu.ca

James Crippen
Post Doctoral Fellow  (INLP)
Department of Linguistics
jcrippen@sfu.ca

Lorraine Yam
Manager, Academic & Administrative Services (INLP)
Academic Advisor (CINLP, DINLP, FNEP Outreach)
inlp@sfu.ca

Shagufta Saddiq
Program Coordinator (INLP)
Department of Linguistics
inl_coord@sfu.ca 

Brett Romans
Budget / Program mAssistant
Department of Linguistics
inlp@sfu.ca 

Faculty of Education (Education Building, Room 8501)

Burnaby Campus
AQ 8523 - 8888 University Drive Burnaby, BC  V5A 1S6
Tel: 778-782-4129
Fax: 778-782-4203

Surrey Campus
5th Floor, Galleria 5 Room #5203 250 - 13450 102nd Avenue Surrey, BC V3T 0A3
Tel: 778-782-8597
Fax: 778-782-8119

Jennie Blankinship
Manager, Office of Indigenous Education
778-782-9358
jennie_blankinship@sfu.ca

Dolores van der Wey
Assistant Professor
778-782-3798
dolores_vanderwey@sfu.ca

Vicki Kelly
Assistant Professor
778-782-7226
vicki_kelly@sfu.ca

Alanaise Ferguson
Assistant Professor
alanaise_ferguson@sfu.ca 

Amy Parent
Assistant Professor
amy_parent@sfu.ca

Michelle Pidgeon
Associate Professor / Associate Dean
778-782-8609
michelle_pidgeon@sfu.ca

Alanaise Goodwill
Associate Professor
alanaise_goodwill@sfu.ca

Carolyn Roberts
Limited Term Lecturer
carolyn_roberts_2@sfu.ca

Dr. Sara Florence Davidson
Assistant Professor
sara_florence@sfu.ca
http://saraflorence.ca

Faculty of Health Sciences ( TASC2-9900 )

Jeff Reading
Professor
First Nations Health Authority Chair in Heart Health and Wellness at St. Paul's Hospital
778-782-3913
Jeffrey_reading@sfu.ca

Lyana Patrick
Assistant Professor
778-782-7205
lyana_patrick@sfu.ca

Department of Archaeology (Saywell Hall)

George Nicholas 
Professor
778-782-5709
nicholas@sfu.ca

Chelsea Meloche 
Interim Museum Director, Indigenous Engagement
cmeloche@sfu.ca

School of Resource and Environmental Management (TASC1)

Clifford Gordon Atleo
Assistant Professor
778-782-4697
clifford_atleo@sfu.ca

Centre for Restorative Justice, School of Criminology (Saywell Hall 10156)

Ted Palys
Professor
778-782-4037
palys@sfu.ca

Brenda Morrison
Associate Professor and Director
778-782-7627
brendam@sfu.ca

Department of History  (AQ 6026A)

Nicholas May
Term Lecturer
nicholas_may@sfu.ca 

Department of Mathematics  (TASC2 9900)

Veselin Jungic (Contact)
Teaching Professor
778-782-3340
vjungic@sfu.ca

Justin Gray
Senior Lecturer
778-782-4237
jgray@math.sfu.ca

Faculty of Communications, Art & Technology (TASC2, 7800)

Raymond Boisjoly
Assitant Professor
cboisjol@sfu.ca

Nicole Manson
Indigenous Academic & Student Liaison
fcat_indig@sfu.ca
778-782-5795

School of Communications (K9671)

Karrmen Crey
Assistant Professor
778-782-7289
kcrey@sfu.ca

Beedie School of Business (WMC 2363)

Alexia McKinnon
Director, Indigenous Business Programs
armckinn@sfu.ca

John Borrows
Visiting Professor
250-721-8168
jborrows@uvic.ca

Dara Kelly
Assistant Professor, Indigenous Business
778-782-9475
dara_kelly@sfu.ca

Debra Hoggan, MBA
Manager, Indigenous Business and Leadership
778-782-7996
dhoggan@sfu.ca

Vacant
Indigenous Undergraduate Career Advisor

Faculty of Arts & Social Sciences (AQ6178)

Tim Michel
Director, Indigenous Relations
778-782-4055
timothy_michel@sfu.ca

Bill Reid Centre for Northwest Coast Art Studies (10073 Saywell Hall)

Bryan Myles (Contact)
Manager
778-782-9882
bmyles@sfu.ca

Bill Reid Gallery of Northwest Coast Art (639 Hornby St. Vancouver)

First Nations Student Association (FNSA)

FNSA Space Room #1440
SUB 3100
8888 University Drive
Burnaby BC V5A 1SA
fnsa-board@sfu.ca

Lacie Burning
Coordinator
fnsacoord@sfss.ca

Community Education Program, Continuing Studies (2300-515 W Hastings Street, Vancouver)

2300-515 West Hastings Street, Vancouver, BC V6B 5K3

Judy Smith (Contact)
Director
778-782-5201
judy_smith@sfu.ca

Graduate Studies & Postdoctoral Fellows

Denver Lynxleg
Indigenous Graduate Student Coordinator
AQ6085  Hours: 9-5 Tuesday and Thursday
778-782-9927
gsindig@sfu.ca

Supporting Aboriginal Graduate Enhancement Programs (SAGE)

Michelle Pidgeon (SAGE faculty contact)
778-782-8609
michelle_pidgeon@sfu.ca

Deanna Reder (SAGE faculty contact)
778-782-8192
deanna_reder@sfu.ca


Work Inegrated Learning 

Vacant



 

For information about Aboriginal graduate studies, please e-mail gradsage@interchange.ubc.ca

For information about Aboriginal undergraduate studies, please contact the
Provincial SAGE-U coordinator or Dr. Michelle Pidgeon

Other Contact People for Aboriginal Students, Applicants and Visitors

Career Services

Deanne Esdale
Career Education Specialist
778-782-8629
deanne_esdale@sfu.ca

Museum of Archaeology and Ethnology

Rob Rondeau
Interim Director - Operations
778-782-3325
museum@sfu.ca