Directory of Aboriginal Contacts

Note: Please click onto red headings for access to program/office websites. 

Office for Aboriginal Peoples (AQ 3140)

General Email:  askoap@sfu.ca

Ron Johnston
Director
778-782-8924
ronaldj@sfu.ca

Gary George
Officer for Community Relations
778-782-8925
ggeorge@sfu.ca

Karen Matthews
Administrative Assistant
778-782-9026
kmatt@sfu.ca

Indigenous Student Centre (AQ 2002)

General Inquiries
Phone:  778-782-6929
Email:  askISC@sfu.ca

Jessica La Rochelle | Lhkwemiya
Acting Director,
T: 604-836-4961
jessica_larochelle@sfu.ca

Kaylena Ryan
Associate Director
kaylena_ryan@sfu.ca

Melody Markle 
Indigenous Student Life Co-ordinator
778-782-5663
melody_markle@sfu.ca

Asya Touchie, Yuulu?it?ath (on leave)
Coordinator, Indigenous Student Life
778-782-4493
asya_touchie@sfu.ca

Jasmin Glaw, Algonquin
Departmental Assistant
778-782-6929
iscadmin@sfu.ca

Tanu Gamble, Tsimshian/Haida 
Registered Clinical Counsellor
tanug@sfu.ca

Jennifer Reandy, Cree
Registered Clinical Counsellor
isc_well@sfu.ca

Indigenous Recruitment (3000 Maggie Benston Centre)

Jessica La Rochelle | Lhkwemiya
Director, Indigenous Student Recruitment & Admissions
T: 604-836-4961
indigenous_students@sfu.ca

Rebecca Sangwais
Indigenous Recruitment Coordinator 
778-782-6891
indigenous_students@sfu.ca

Indigenous University Preparation Program

Dr. Antonieta Mar-y-paz Rivera (contact)
Coordinator
778-782-4089
iaupp@sfu.ca

Ceremonies and Events

Nicole Taylor-Sterritt
Manager, Indigenous Events Protocol
778-782-6766
nicole_taylor-sterritt@sfu.ca

Teaching and Learning Centre

Dorothy Christian
Associate Director, Indigenous Initiatives
dchristi@sfu.ca


SFU Library
 (W.A.C. Bennett Library)

Jenna Walsh
Indigenous Initiatives Librarian
778-782-9378
jenna_walsh@sfu.ca

Ashley Edwards
Indigenous Curriculum Resource Centre Librarian
avandijk@sfu.ca

Department of Indigenous Studies (9091 Saywell Hall)

Eldon Yellowhorn
Associate Professor
778-782-6669
ecy@sfu.ca

Phil Cunningham (Contact)
Manager/Academic Advisor
778-782-5964
indgmgr@sfu.ca

Marianne B. Ignace
Professor 
ignace@sfu.ca

annie ross
Professor
778-782-3575
annier@sfu.ca

Deanna Reder
Chair and Associate Professor
778-782-8192
deanna_reder@sfu.ca

Rudy Reimer/Yumks
Associate Professor
778-782-3594
rudyr@sfu.ca

June Scudeler
Assistant Professor
778-782-4774
jscudele@sfu.ca

Natahnee Winder
Assistant Professor (Indigenous Studies and School of Public Policy)
778-782-6612
nwinder@sfu.ca

Jeannie Morgan
Assistant Professor
778-782-7542
jeannie_morgan@sfu.ca

Joyce Schneider
Assistant Professor
joyce_schneider@sfu.ca

Indigenous Languages Program

Nancy Hedberg 
Professor and Chair, Linguistics
778-782-3554
hedberg@sfu.ca

Marianne B. Ignace
Professor, Linguistics
Director, First Nations Languages Program
778-782-5595
ignace@sfu.ca

See also Indigenous Studies and First Nations Language Centre listing.

Donna Gerdts 
Professor, Linguistics
604-224-7203
gerdts@sfu.ca
www.sfu.ca/~gerdts/

Peter Jacobs
Assistant Professor
Department of Linguistics
pwjacobs@sfu.ca

John Alderete (Contact)
Associate Professor, Linguistics
778-782-2488
alderete@sfu.ca

Dean Mellow (Contact)
Associate Professor, Linguistics
778-782-6678
dmellow@sfu.ca

Cheyenne Cunningham
Program Coordinator
inlp@sfu.ca      

Faculty of Education

 (Education Building, Room 8501) 

Burnaby Campus
AQ 8523 - 8888 University Drive Burnaby, BC  V5A 1S6
Tel: 778-782-4129
Fax: 778-782-4203

Surrey Campus
5th Floor, Galleria 5 Room #5203 250 - 13450 102nd Avenue Surrey, BC V3T 0A3
Tel: 778-782-8597
Fax: 778-782-8119

Jennie Blankinship
Acting Director, Office of Indigenous Education
778-782-9358
jennie_blankinship@sfu.ca

Dolores van der Wey
Assistant Professor
778-782-3798
dolores_vanderwey@sfu.ca

Vicki Kelly
Assistant Professor
778-782-7226
vicki_kelly@sfu.ca

Amy Parent
Assistant Professor
amy_parent@sfu.ca

Michelle Pidgeon
Assistant Professor
778-782-8609
michelle_pidgeon@sfu.ca

Alanaise Goodwill
Associate Professor
alanaise_goodwill@sfu.ca

Carolyn Roberts
Limited Term Lecturer
carolyn_roberts_2@sfu.ca

Dr. Sara Florence Davidson
Assistant Professor
sara_florence@sfu.ca
http://saraflorence.ca

Faculty of Health Sciences

Jeff Reading
Professor
First Nations Health Authority Chair in Heart Health and Wellness at St. Paul's Hospital
778-782-3913
Jeffrey_reading@sfu.ca

Lyana Patrick
Assistant Professor
778-782-7205
lyana_patrick@sfu.ca

Department of Archaeology

George Nicholas (Contact)
Professor
778-782-5709
nicholas@sfu.ca

School of Resource and Environmental Management

Clifford Gordon Atleo
Assistant Professor
778-782-4697
clifford_atleo@sfu.ca

Centre for Restorative Justice, School of Criminology

Brenda Morrison (Contact)
Associate Professor and Director
778-782-7627
brendam@sfu.ca

Department of History

Mary-Ellen Kelm (Contact)
Canada Research Chair and Associate Professor
778-782-7299
kelm@sfu.ca

Department of Mathematics

Veselin Jungic (Contact)
Associate Chair
778-782-3340
vjungic@sfu.ca

Justin Gray
Senior Lecturer
778-782-4237
jgray@math.sfu.ca

Faculty of Communications, Art & Technology

Raymond Boisjoly
Assitant Professor
cboisjol@sfu.ca

Nicole Manson
Indigenous Academic & Student Liaison
fcat_indig@sfu.ca
778-782-5795

School of Communications

Karrmen Crey
Assistant Professor
778-782-7289
kcrey@sfu.ca

Beedie School of Business

Alexia McKinnon
Director, Indigenous Business Programs
armckinn@sfu.ca

John Borrows
Visiting Professor
250-721-8168
jborrows@uvic.ca

Dara Kelly
Assistant Professor, Indigenous Business
778-782-9475
dara_kelly@sfu.ca

Debra Hoggan, MBA
Manager, Indigenous Business and Leadership
778-782-7996
dhoggan@sfu.ca

Vacant
Indigenous Undergraduate Career Advisor

Bill Reid Centre for Northwest Coast Art Studies (10073 Saywell Hall)

Bryan Myles (Contact)
Manager
778-782-9882
bmyles@sfu.ca

Bill Reid Gallery of Northwest Coast Art (639 Hornby St. Vancouver)

First Nations Student Association (FNSA)

FNSA Space Room #1440
SUB 3100
8888 University Drive
Burnaby BC V5A 1SA
fnsa-board@sfu.ca

Lacie Burning
Coordinator
fnsacoord@sfss.ca

Community Education Program, Continuing Studies

2300-515 West Hastings Street, Vancouver, BC V6B 5K3

Judy Smith (Contact)
Director
778-782-5201
judy_smith@sfu.ca

Graduate Studies & Postdoctoral Fellows

Denver Lynxleg
Indigenous Graduate Student Coordinator
AQ6085  Hours: 9-5 Tuesday and Thursday
778-782-9927
gsindig@sfu.ca

Supporting Aboriginal Graduate Enhancement Programs (SAGE)

Michelle Pidgeon (SAGE faculty contact)
778-782-8609
michelle_pidgeon@sfu.ca

Deanna Reder (SAGE faculty contact)
778-782-8192
deanna_reder@sfu.ca

For information about Aboriginal graduate studies, please e-mail gradsage@interchange.ubc.ca

For information about Aboriginal undergraduate studies, please contact the
Provincial SAGE-U coordinator or Dr. Michelle Pidgeon

Other Contact People for Aboriginal Students, Applicants and Visitors

Career Services

Deanne Esdale
Career Education Specialist
778-782-8629
deanne_esdale@sfu.ca

Museum of Archaeology and Ethnology

Barbara Winter
Curator
778-782-3325
bwinter@sfu.ca