MENU

GRADUATE STUDENT PROFILES

MASTER'S (MA)

Blakley, Taline

Education: BA - Univesity of Regina

Research Interests: Young offenders; children and youth in care; developmental criminology; mental health and addictions

Supervisor/Supervisory Committee: Dr. Evan McCuish

Email: talineb@sfu.ca

Dube-Mather, Taylor (she/her)

Education: BA - Mount Royal University

Research interests: Coerced sterilization of Indigenous women in a contemporary context; biological explanations of crime; death investigation

Supervisor/Supervisory Committee: Dr. Gail S. Anderson

Email: taylor_dube-mather@sfu.ca

Georgoulis, Hana (she/her)

Education: BKin - University of Calgary 

Research interests: Serial sexual homicide; sexual violence; victimology; criminal investigations. 

Supervisor/Supervisory Committee: Dr. Eric Beauregard

Email: hana_georgoulis@sfu.ca

Girn, Alysha (she/her) 

Education: BA Criminology - Simon Fraser University 

Research interests: Organized crime; social network analysis; criminal achievement; criminal trajectories

Supervisor/Supervisory Committee: Dr. Martin Bouchard

Email: alyshag@sfu.ca

Hanson, Kenzie (she/her)

EducationBA - Simon Fraser University

Research interests: Intimate partner violence; homicide; victimology; qualitative research; vicarious victimization 

Supervisor/Supervisory Committee: Dr. Alexandra Lysova (senior supervisor), Dr. Colton Fehr

Email: kenzieh@sfu.ca

Hage-Hassan, Ihsan (she/her)

Education: BA Psychology, Criminology (Hon) - Simon Fraser University 

Research interests: Correctional institutions; prisoners and their rights; prisoners’ re-entry and reintegration programs.

Supervisor/Supervisory Committee: Dr. Curt Griffiths, Dr. Danielle Murdoch

Email: ihagehas@sfu.ca

Ling, Ruby (she/her)

Education: BA - University of Alberta

Research Interests: Cybercrime; women and gender studies; extremism; netnography; qualitative research; terrorism

Supervisor/Supervisory Committee: Dr. Richard Frank

Email: ruby_ling@sfu.ca

McDonald, Kayleigh

EducationBA - Mount Royal University

Research Interests: Sexual offending; network analysis

Supervisor/Supervisory Committee: Dr. Evan McCuish (senior supervisor), Dr. Martin Bouchard

Email: kayleigh_mcdonald@sfu.ca

Mierzwa, Tyler 

Education: BA Criminology (Honours) - Simon Fraser University

Research interests: Environmental criminology; crime and place; crime prevention; police strategies

Supervisor/Supervisory Committee: Dr. Shannon Linning

Email: tmierzwa@sfu.ca

Negrin, Sarah (she/her)

EducationBA - Simon Fraser University

Research interests: Terrorism and political violence; radicalization; terrorist and violent extremist exploitation of the internet; hate crime; mis/disinformation and conspiracy theories.

Supervisor/Supervisory Committee: Dr. Garth Davies

Email: sarah_negrin@sfu.ca

Neilsen, Kia

Education: BA in Criminal Justice (with distinction) - University of the Fraser Valley 

Research interests: Recidivism; reintegration of offenders; intellectual disabilities and the CJS; crime prevention; corrections; intimate partner violence

Supervisor/Supervisory Committee: Dr. Jennifer Wong

Email: kia_neilsen@sfu.ca

Norton, Noah

Education: BA (Hons. First Class with Distinction) in Criminology - Simon Fraser University

Research interests: Group crime; diffusion of responsibility; academic dishonesty; academic integrity.

Supervisor/Supervisory Committee: Dr. Zachary Rowan

Email: noahn@sfu.ca

Paulsen, Rebecca 

Education: BA in Law and Society - University of Calgary

Research Interests: Policing practices/ police policy 

Supervisor/Supervisory Committee: Dr. Alissa Greer 

Email: Rebecca_paulsen@sfu.ca

Qi Liu, Shu (she/her)

Education: BA  - Mount Royal University

Research Interests: Cryptomarkets; dark web; cybercrime; dark net markets

Supervisor/Supervisory Committee: Dr. Richard Frank

Email: sql1@sfu.ca

Reagan Wong, Andrea

EducationBA - Simon Fraser University

Research Interests: Sex work; Canadian law; criminal law; procedure and evidence; policing

Supervisor/Supervisory Committee: Dr. Bryan Kinney (senior supervisor), Dr. Tamara O’Doherty

Email: asfei@sfu.ca

Smith, Payten (she/her)

EducationBA - Simon Fraser University

Research Interests: Arson; crime scene analysis; fire pattern analysis; wrongful convictions; science myths; Canadian contexts; negative corpus

Supervisor/Supervisory Committee: Dr. Gail S. Anderson (senior supervisor)

Email: paytens@sfu.ca

Wong, Emma

Education: BA - Simon Fraser University

Research Interests: Asian-Canadian hate crimes during COVID-19; Asian-Canadian perceptions of local police; lived experiences of ethnic minorities; fear of crime; feelings of safety.

Supervisor/Supervisory Committee: Dr. Stephanie Wiley

Email: emma_wong@sfu.ca

Zdjelar, Ivana

Education: BA, Criminology - Simon Fraser University, PBD Gender, Sexuality, and Women's Studies - Simon Fraser University

Research Interests: Terrorism; radicalization; indoctrination; conspiratorial thinking; gender, women, peace, and security.

Supervisor/Supervisory Committee: Dr. Garth Davies

Email: izdjelar@sfu.ca

Kyne, Ashley

Education: BA (Honours) - Simon Fraser University

Research Interests: Offender risk assessment, corrections policy; recidivism; Indigenous justice, resurgence, and sovereignty; MMIWG2

Supervisor/Supervisory Committee: Dr. Maaike Helmus

Email: akyne@sfu.ca