Events, workshops and programs

Combined listings

Keep growing in your teaching role. The Teaching and Learning Centre has many professional development opportunities for faculty members, instructional staff and graduate students. Join your colleagues for ideas, inspiration and expertise—and become part of a supportive teaching and learning community.

Want to see these listings in PDF form? Download our Spring and Summer 2019 calendar of workshops, programs and events.

Summer 2019

Instructional Skills Workshop
Wed–Fri, August 14–16, 2019 | 8:30–5:00
Apply by June 14, 2019


Instructional Skills Workshop
Wed–Fri, August 19–21, 2019 | 8:30–5:00
Apply by June 14, 2019


Fall 2019

TA/TM Day: The Teaching Orientation Program
Fri, September 6, 2019 | 8:30–4:30
Diamond Alumni Centre, Burnaby campus


Certificate Program in University Teaching and Learning 
Fridays, September 13–December 6 | 9:00–12:00
APPLICATION DEADLINE. Apply by May 24, 2019


TA/TM Day: The Teaching Orientation Program
Fri, January 10, 2020 | 8:30–4:30
CALL FOR PROPOSALS. Apply by October 11, 2019


Certificate Program in University Teaching and Learning 
Fridays, January 10–April 17 | 9:00–12:00
APPLICATION DEADLINE. Apply by October 18, 2019


Instructional Skills Workshop
Sat–Mon, October 12–14, 2019 (Thanksgiving weekend) | 8:30–5:00 Blusson Hall 10021, Burnaby campus
Apply by September 13, 2019


Instructional Skills Workshop
Sat–Mon, November 9–11, 2019 (Remembrance Day weekend) | 8:30–5:00
Apply by October 11, 2019


Ongoing and by appointment


Private Voice Sessions
Thursdays, June 6–August 29, 2019 | 9:30 | 10:15 | 11:00 | 1:00 | 1:45 | 3:00


Canvas Training and Consultation
Customized individual and group sessions. Contact learntech@sfu.ca.


Creating and Using Graphics
Individual training on graphic software and presentation troubleshooting. Contact Gabe Wong at gewong@sfu.ca.


Designing for the Blended Learning Experience
One online session, and one face-to-face session: Tue, Mar 5 | 9:30-11:30 | Halpern Centre 123)


Drawing for Visual Communication
Learn to use simple drawings to convey complex ideas in the classroom and beyond. Contact Jason Toal at jtoal@sfu.ca.


EdMedia Program
A customizable group workshop on educational media design for online and face-to-face interaction. Contact Jason Toal at jtoal@sfu.ca.


In-class Observation and Consultations for SFU Faculty Members
For constructive feedback on course content and delivery. Contact tlcentre@sfu.ca.


Past events (Spring 2019)

23rd Annual Spring TA/TM Day: The Teaching Orientation Program
Fri, January 4, 2019 | 8:30–4:30


Teaching Matters: Teaching Students to Extract Meaning From Scientific Literature
Mon, January 14, 2019 | 3:30–4:30


Effective Teaching Series: Collaborative Learning: Two-stage Tests to Support Student Learning and Experience
Fri, January 25, 2019 | 12:30–2:30


Teaching Matters: Bring Life into Tutorials by Using the Flipped Class Model
Mon, January 28, 2019 | 3:30–4:30


Scripting and Storyboarding 
Thu, January 31, 2019 | 1:00–3:00


Effective Teaching Series: Active Learning in Your Classroom: Tips and Tricks to Increase Student Engagement and Learning
Fri, February 1, 2019 | 12:30–2:30


Teaching Matters: V.E.T.O. That Source! Novel and Not-so-novel Tutorial Techniques for Improving the Critical Evaluation of Online Information
Mon, February 4, 2019 | 3:30–4:30


Effective Teaching Series: Potlatch as Methodology
Fri, February 8, 2019 | 12:30–2:30


Teaching Matters: The Implications of Indigenization and Decolonization for Teaching and Course Design at SFU
Mon, February 11, 2019 | 3:30–4:30


Instructional Skills Workshop
Wed–Fri, February 20–22, 2019 (Reading Week) | 8:30–5:00
Apply by January 18, 2019


Podcasting and Audio Production
Thu, February 21, 2019 | 1:00–3:00


Breath Power, Posture and Pauses: Your Secret Allies for Public Speaking
Thu, February 28, 2019 | 1:30–3:30


Your Teaching Dossier/Portfolio: A S.M.A.R.T. (Systematic, Manageable, Articulate, Reviewed, Tangible) Approach for SFU Faculty
Fridays, March 1, 15 & 29, 2019 | 1:30–4:00


Teaching Matters: Practical Ideas and Critical Ideas for a Compassionate Instructor
Mon, March 4, 2019 | 3:30–4:30


Flexible Learning Series: Designing a Blended Learning Experience 
Tue, March 5, 2019 | 9:30–11:30 | Preceded by one self-paced online session


Going Visual I: Sketch Noting to Foster Student Learning
Wed, March 6, 2019 | 10:00–12:00


Teaching Dossiers for Graduate Students and Postdoctoral Fellows
Wed, March 6, 2019 | 1:00–4:00


Effective Teaching Series: Diversity, Adversity, Perversity, and the University 
Fri, March 8, 2019 | 12:30–2:30


Flexible Learning Series: Facilitating Collaboration and Communication Online 
Tue, March 12, 2019 | 10:30–11:30 | Online


Going Visual II: Convey Visual Content with Media
Wed, March 13, 2019 | 10:00–12:00


Expressive Speech: Vocal Dynamism in the Classroom
Thu, March 14, 2019 | 1:30–3:30


Teaching Matters: The Academic Enhancement Program: Giving Students a Chance to Reflect and Learn about Their Learning
Mon, March 18, 2019 | 3:30–4:30


Flexible Learning Series: Designing Games for Learning 
Tuesdays, March 19 & 26, 2019 | 9:30–11:30


Effective Teaching Series: Indigenizing Course Outcomes: Updating Your Syllabus to Use the Medicine Wheel as a Curriculum Design Framework
Fri, March 22, 2019 | 12:30–4:00


Call for Proposals: 17th Symposium on Teaching and Learning: Assessing and Celebrating Teaching and Student Learning
Fri, March 22, 2019


Teaching Matters: The Persona Project: Connecting Students to Course Concepts
Mon, March 25, 2019 | 3:30–4:30


Better Presentations: Building Confidence and Connections
Thu, March 28, 2019 | 1:30–3:30


Teaching Matters: Navigating the University Lecturer Promotion Process
Mon, April 1, 2019 | 3:30–4:30


Instructional Skills Workshop
Tue–Thu, April 16–18, 2019 | 8:30–5:00
Apply by March 15, 2019


Smartphone Video Production
Thu, April 18, 2019 | 1:00–3:30


Rethinking Course Design Workshop
Thu–Fri, April 25–26 & Mon–Tue, April 29–30, 2019 | 9:30–3:45
EXTENDED DEADLINE. Apply by March 22, 2019


Basic Screencasting and Video Editing
Thu, May 2, 2019 | 1:00–3:00


17th Symposium on Teaching and Learning: Assessing and Celebrating Teaching and Student Learning
Wed–Thu, May 15–16, 2019