Events, workshops and programs

Full schedule

Keep growing in your teaching role. The Teaching and Learning has many professional development opportunities for faculty members, graduate students and staff in instructional roles. Join your colleagues for ideas, inspiration and expertise—and become part of a supportive teaching and learning community.

Fall 2018

33rd Annual Fall TA/TM Day: The Teaching Orientation Program
Fri, September 7 | 8:30–4:30


Fall 2018 Certificate Program in University Teaching and Learning
Fridays, September 14–December 7, 2018


Teaching Matters: Introducing SFU’s First AVPLT
Mon, September 17 | 3:30–4:30


Going Visual I: Cut Through Complexity with Drawing Basics
Tue, September 25 | 10:00–12:00


Effective Teaching Series: Teaching Large Classes
Fri, September 28 | 12:30–2:30


Teaching Matters: Quizzes in Canvas
Mon, October 1 | 3:30–4:30


Going Visual II: Convey Visual Content with Media
Tue, October 2 | 10:00–12:00


Sketching in Practice (SKiP) Symposium 2018
Fri, October 5 | Time TBA


Call for Proposals: 23rd Annual Spring TA/TM Day
Submission deadline: Fri, October 5 | Midnight
Event date: Fri, January 4, 2019


Instructional Skills Workshop
Sat–Mon, October 6–8 (Thanksgiving weekend) | 8:30–5:00
EXTENDED DEADLINE. Apply by September 14


Breath Power, Posture and Pauses: Your Secret Allies for Public Speaking
Thu, October 11 | 1:30–3:30


Effective Teaching Series: Safer Spaces: Strategies for Anti-oppression in the Classroom and Online
Fri, October 12 | 12:30–2:30


Teaching Matters: The Word is “EasyTeX”
Mon, October 15 | 3:30–4:30


Call for Applications: Spring 2019 Certificate Program in University Teaching and Learning
Application deadline: Fri, October 19 | Midnight
Program date: Fridays, January 11–April 12, 2019


Expressive Speech: Vocal Dynamism in the Classroom
Thu, October 25 | 1:30–3:30


Effective Teaching Series: The Dark Side of Teaching: Academic Integrity Exposed
Fri, October 26 | 12:30–2:30


Teaching Matters: In-class Quizzes and Top Hat Technology
Mon, October 29 | 3:30–4:30


Teaching Dossiers for Graduate Students and Postdoctoral Fellows
Tue, November 6 | 1:00–4:00


Better Presentations: Building Confidence and Connections
Thu, November 8 | 1:30–3:30


Instructional Skills Workshop
Sat–Mon, November 10–12 (for Certificate Program in University Teaching and Learning applicants only) | 8:30–5:00
Apply by October 19, 2018


Effective Teaching Series: Beyond “Diversity” and “Inclusion”: Anti-oppressive Course Design and Justice-centred Pedagogy
Fri, November 16 | 12:30–2:30


Teaching Matters: Faculty Grant Opportunities at SFU
Mon, November 19 | 3:30–4:30


DEMOfest 2018: An Interactive Teaching and Learning Exhibition 
Wed, November 21 | 10:00–2:00
EXTENDED DEADLINE. Submit your presentation proposal by October 8.


Effective Teaching Series: Approaching Culturally Diverse Classrooms
Fri, November 23 | 12:30–2:30


Teaching Matters: What My Grandson Taught Me About Learning (and Teaching) Mathematics
Mon, November 26 | 3:30–4:30

Looking Ahead

Rethinking Course Design: A Four-day Workshop for Faculty
Thu–Fri, April 25–26 & Mon–Tue, April 29–30, 2019 | 9:30–3:30


Instructional Skills Workshop
Mon–Wed, February 20–22 (Reading Week) | 8:30–5:00
Apply by January 18, 2019

Ongoing and by appointment

Canvas Training and Consultation
Ongoing by appointment (learntech@sfu.ca)


Creating and Using Graphics
Ongoing by appointment


Designing for the Blended Learning Experience
Ongoing by appointment


Drawing for Visual Communication
Ongoing by appointment (jtoal@sfu.ca)


In-class Observation
On-going by appointment (tlcentre@sfu.ca)


Private Voice Sessions
Mondays, September 17–December 3 | 9:30–3:15