Senate Graduate Studies Committee

Standing committee (Reporting Category "B")

Last updated September 20, 2017

For further details about the SGCS, including Minutes and meeting dates, visit:

Members Conditions Term Expiry Date Name
Dean of Graduate Studies Chair Ex-officio     Jeff Derksen
Associate Dean of Graduate Studies Ex-officio    

Ed Park


Associate Director, Graduate Admissions, Records and Registration Ex-officio     Shelley Gair
University Librarian (or designate) Ex-officio     Nicole White
Applied Sciences Chair, Faculty Graduate Curriculum Committee (or designate)     Mirza Faisal Beg
Arts     Lisa Shapiro
Business Admin.     Andrew Gemino
Communication, Art & Technology     Stuart Poyntz
Education     Shawn Bullock
Environment     Dongya Yang
Health Sciences     Stephen Smith
Science     Peter Ruben
Graduate Student Elected annually in the Spring Semester by and from graduate students. Post-election vacancies will be filled by election by Senate. 1 year May 31, 2018 Sarah Lord Ferguson
Graduate Student Erin Hogg
Graduate Student (Alternate) Kevin Hegeman
Graduate Student (Alternate) Noortje de Weers
GSS Executive representative
Ex-officio     Chantal Turpin
Coordinator, Graduate Academic Programs Policy & Curriculum Secretary, Ex-officio (non voting)     Krista Gerlich-Fitzgerald
Recording Secretary
Ex-officio (non-voting)     Daria Baeshko (

NOTE: In general an "alternate" member is invited to attend meetings when a regular member is not available. Please confirm the role of the alternate member on this committee with the committee secretary.

2017 Meeting Schedule

Meetings for 2017 will be held in LIB 2020, unless otherwise notified.

Date of Meeting Material Deadline
January 9, 2017 December 15, 2016
February 6, 2017 January 19, 2017
*March 6, 2017 February 16, 2017
April 3, 2017 March 16, 2017
May 8, 2017 April 20, 2017
**June 5, 2017 May 18, 2017
July 10, 2017 June 22, 2017
September 11, 2017 August 24, 2017
October 2, 2017 September 14, 2017
***November 6, 2017 October 19, 2017
December 4, 2017 November 16, 2017
January 8, 2018 December 14, 2017

*March 6, 2017 is the last meeting to clear items for the Fall 2017 calendar
**June 5, 2017 is the last meeting to clear items for the Spring 2018 calendar
***November 6, 2017 is the last meeting to clear items for the Summer 2018 calendar


  1. To maintain the academic standards established by Senate.
  2. To review and make recommendations to Senate concerning new graduate programs.
  3. To review and make recommendations to Senate concerning major changes to graduate programs.
  4. To review and approve all proposed new graduate courses, course deletions, and minor changes to programs. These changes shall be reported to Senate in summary form.
  5. To administer, review and make recommendations to Senate concerning Graduate General Regulations.
  6. To consider matters concerning Graduate Studies referred to the Committee, and to make recommendations to the appropriate bodies.
  7. To consider and decide on policy recommendations concerning graduate course registration, course and program withdrawal procedures, and on the administration of graduate records.


  1. The Committee quorum shall be the Chair and seven members.
  2. A voting member of the committee who cannot attend a meeting may send a qualified alternate. For faculty members, this shall be a member of the same Faculty who is qualified to chair his/her Department Graduate Program Committee, selected by the Faculty Graduate Program Committee. For graduate students this shall be a graduate student so elected at Simon Fraser University.
  3. The Committee may establish sub-committees. With a two-thirds majority vote the Committee may delegate some of its powers defined by the Graduate General Regulations to such sub-committees, or to the Dean of Graduate Studies. Graduate students must be represented on all sub-committees.
  4. Committee meetings shall be open, except when addressing matters related to privacy of individuals.
  5. Committee meetings will be held on Mondays from 2:30 to 4:30 pm.
  6. The Committee shall report to Senate in March of each year.

SGSC Meeting date and minutes - maintained by the Dean of Graduate Studies office.