Senate Committee on Undergraduate Studies

Standing committee (Reporting Category "B")

Last updated July 04, 2020
Members Conditions Term Expiry Date Name
Associate Vice-President, Academic  Chair, Ex-officio     Wade Parkhouse
Associate Vice-President, Learning and Teaching Vice-Chair, Ex-officio     Elizabeth Elle
Registrar and Executive Director,
Student Enrollment (or designate)
Ex-officio     Rummana Khan Hemani
University Librarian (or designate) Ex-officio     Patty Gallilee
Applied Sciences

Faculty delegates*

(usually Chairs of Faculty

Undergraduate Curriculum


    Ed Park
Arts and Social Sciences     Catherine Murray
Beedie School of Business     Kamal Masri
Communication, Art & Technology     Philippe Pasquier
Education     Margaret MacDonald
Environment     Paul Kingsbury
Health Sciences     Nienke Van Houten
Science     David Hik 
Undergraduate Student Elected by Senate 1 year May 31, 2021 Gabe Liosis
Undergraduate Student 1 year May 31, 2021 Miranda Pinter-Collett
Undergraduate Student (Alternate) **
1 year May 31, 2021 Nafoni Modi
Director, University Curriculum Ex-officio     Kelli Whittle
Associate Registrar Secretary, Ex-officio (non-voting)     Kris Nordgren

* As nominated by the Faculty Dean.

** NOTE: In general an "alternate" member is invited to attend meetings when a regular member is not available. Please confirm the role of the alternate member on this committee with the committee secretary.

Terms of Reference

  1. Taking into consideration the need for coordination and development of undergraduate programs within the University, SCUS shall:
    1. review and make recommendations to Senate on curriculum changes of a major nature and general matters affecting the curriculum
    2. under delegated authority, review and approve, where appropriate, all proposed new courses, course deletions, course changes and program revisions of a minor nature. These changes shall be reported in summary form to Senate.
    3. review and make recommendations to SCUP regarding new programs and credentials.
  2. To recommend to Senate grading, examination, standing and continuance policies.
  3. To recommend to Senate policies on undergraduate admissions, re-admissions, and credit transfer and where necessary, to provide general direction to the Registrar's Office in the interpretation of such policies.
  4. To consider and decide on policy recommendations concerning undergraduate course registration and course withdrawal procedures and on the administration of undergraduate student records.
  5. To consider and recommend to Senate policy recommendations from the Diverse Qualifications Adjudication Committee.
  6. To consider and recommend to Senate policy recommendations regarding the WQB requirements.
  7. The Committee quorum shall be eight voting members.
  8. In the event that the representative from a Faculty is unable to attend a meeting of SCUS, the Faculty is authorized to appoint a faculty member replacement. 
  9. The Committee may establish sub-committees.
  10. With a two-thirds majority vote, SCUS may delegate some of its powers to such sub-committees, or to the Chair/Vice-Chair. Undergraduate students must be represented on all sub-committees.  

Meetings convened at the call of the Chair.

2020 Meeting Schedule 

Meetings are scheduled from 2:30 pm - 4:30 pm in Library 7200.

Date of Meeting Material Deadline

January 9, 2020

December 19, 2019

February 6, 2020

January 27, 2020

March 5, 2020

February 24, 2020

April 2, 2020

March 23, 2020

May 7, 2020

April 27, 2020

June 4, 2020

May 25, 2020

July 9, 2020

June 29, 2020

August 6, 2020

July 27, 2020

September 10, 2020

August 31, 2020

October 1, 2020

September 21, 2020

November 5, 2020

October 26, 2020

December 3, 2020

November 23, 2020

Annual Reports

Meeting Minutes


  • January 
  • February 
  • March 
  • April 
  • May 
  • June 
  • July 
  • September 
  • October 
  • November 
  • December 


Withdrawal Under Extenuating Circumstances