Senate Committee on University Teaching and Learning

Standing committee (Reporting Category "B")

Last updated June 20, 2019
Members Conditions Term Expiry Date Name
Faculty Member of SCUTL Chair. Elected by members of SCUTL 2 years May 31, 2021 Panayiotis Pappas
Faculty Member (Applied Sciences) Elected by Senate 3 years May 31, 2022 Diana Cukierman
Faculty Member (Arts and Social Sciences) 3 years May 31, 2020 Panayiotis Pappas
Faculty Member (Business Admin) 3 years May 31, 2022  
Faculty Member (Communication, Art & Technology) 3 years May 31, 2021 Daniel Ahadi
Faculty Member (Education) 3 years May 31, 2021 Kevin O'Neill
Faculty Member (Environment) 3 years May 31, 2021 Shivanand Balram
Faculty Member (Health Sciences) 3 years May 31, 2021  
Faculty Member (Science) 3 years May 31, 2020 Julian Christians
Faculty Senator Elected by and from Senate 3 years May 31, 2021 John Stockie
Undergraduate Student Elected by Senate 1 year May 31, 2020 Jennifer Chou
Graduate Student Elected by Senate 1 year May 31, 2020 Shuna Ho
Associate Vice-President, Learning and Teaching Ex-officio (voting)     Elizabeth Elle
Director, Teaching and Learning Centre (or designate) Secretary, Ex-officio (voting)     Brad Johnson
Associate Dean of Libraries, Learning and Research Services (or designate) Ex-officio (voting)     Karen Munro
Executive Director, Student Affairs (or designate) Ex-officio (voting)     Muriel Klemetski
Director, Institute for the Study of Teaching and Learning in the Disciplines (or designate) Ex-officio (voting)     Sheri Fabian 
Associate Director, Application Services, ITS (or designate) Ex-officio (voting)     Mike Stanger
Recording Secretary (
Ex-officio (non-voting)     Denise Buck


Meetings are held monthly.  Upcoming meetings:  

  • Thursday, September 27, 1:30 pm - 2:30 pm
  • Thursday, October 25, 1:30 pm - 2:30 pm
  • Thursday, November 22, 1:30 pm - 2:30 pm
  • Thursday, December 13, 1:30 pm - 2:30 pm

Terms of Reference


  1. To provide institutional oversight on matters related to teaching and learning.  These include but are not limited to educational goals, curriculum development and assessment, teaching and course evaluation processes, instructional development needs, and evolving teaching practices.
  2. To provide advice, guidance, and support to relevant University bodies and stakeholders on matters related to teaching and learning.
  3. To consider such matters, related to teaching and learning, referred to the Committee by Senate and its committees.


  1. The Committee quorum shall be five members.
  2. The Committee may establish sub-committees to gather information, develop expertise, conduct pilot projects or perform other tasks as assigned.
  3. Committee meetings shall be open.
  4. Committee meetings will be held monthly at times established before the beginning of each semester.
  5. The Committee shall report to Senate in May of each year.
  6. The Committee shall regularly solicit and review teaching and learning related surveys such as the annual SFU Undergraduate Survey, as well as reports of various units including but not limited to the Teaching and Learning Centre (TLC), the Centre for Online and Distance Education (CODE) and the Student Learning Commons (SLC).
  7. The Committee shall regularly communicate with related committees such as the Education Systems Stewardship Committee and the Academic Integrity Committee.