MENU

Faculty

Teaching/Research Faculty

Blaber, Dr. Andrew

Professor
Aerospace Physiology Lab
Phone:
 (778) 782-3276
Email: ablaber@sfu.ca
Room: K9646

Research Interests: Environmental and Aerospace Physiology
Bio References 

Brooks-Wilson, Dr. Angela

Professor & Associate VP, Research, pro tem
Cancer Genetics Lab
Phone:
 (778) 782-7257 or (604) 675-8156
Email: arw6@sfu.ca

Research Interests: Cancer Genetics, genetics of healthy aging, lymphoma, human genetics

Clarke, Dr. David

Associate Professor
Phone: (778) 782-9777
Email:
 dcclarke@sfu.ca
Room: K9632

Research Interests: Quantitative studies of exercise biology

Claydon, Dr. Tom

Professor and Associate Chair, Analysis and Strategy
Molecular Cardiac Physiology Group
Phone: (778) 782-8514
Email:
 thomas_claydon@sfu.ca
Associate Chair Email: bpkac@sfu.ca
Room: L8005

Research Interests: Cardiac ion channel biophysics and physiology, cardiac rhythm, pathophysiological modulation of ion channel function, fluorescence-based electrophysiology

Claydon, Dr. Victoria

Professor
Cardiovascular Physiology Lab
Phone: (778) 782-8513
Email: victoria_claydon@sfu.ca
Room: L8006

Research Interests: Cardiovascular physiology and pathophysiology; altitude physiology; cerebrovascular control; autonomic nervous system; spinal cord injury; syncope.

Cooke, Dr. Dylan

Assistant Professor
Sensorimotor Neuroplasticity Lab
Phone: (778) 782-7667
Email: dfcooke@sfu.ca
Room: L8001

Research Interests: Development and plasticity of brain organization, motor skill, recovery from brain injury, individual variation of cortical maps of the body, brain evolution

Doesburg, Dr. Sam

Associate Professor 
Phone: (778) 782-3737
Email: sam_doesburg@sfu.ca

Research Interests: 
Magnetoencepalographic (MEG) brain imaging of typical and atypical brain oscillations and networks, Translational research in autism, Brain oscillations and networks in cognition and development

Donelan, Dr. Max 

Professor and Chair
Locomotion Lab 
Phone: (778) 782-7100 
Email: max_donelan@sfu.ca
Chair Email: bpkchair@sfu.ca
Room: K9640

Research Interests: Locomotion Neuromechanics

Finegood, Dr. Diane 

Professor, Centre for Dialogue
Phone: (778) 782-9101
Email: finegood@sfu.ca 
Room: HC 3305

Research Interests: complexity, systems thinking, obesity & chronic disease prevention, modeling, population and public health, knowledge translation and implementation

Hoffer, Dr. Andy

Professor
Neurokinesiology Lab 
Phone: (778) 782-3141 
Email: hoffer@sfu.ca 
Room: L9003

Research Interests: Neuroprosthetic rehabilitation of movement disorders, diaphragm pacing

Krieger, Dr. Charles

Professor
Brain Research Lab 
Phone: (778) 782-3753 
Email: ckrieger@sfu.ca
Room: K9636

Research Interests: Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis, protein kinase, neurological disease, neuron death, motoneuron    

Lear, Dr. Scott

Professor 
Community Health Research Team (CoHeaRT)
Phone: (604) 682-2344 ext 62778
Email: salear@sfu.ca 

Research Interests: Cardiac rehabilitation, obesity, lifestyle management, physical activity

Mackey, Dr. Dawn 

Associate Professor, Graduate Program Chair
Aging and Population Health Lab 
Phone: (778) 782-9330 
Email: dmackey@sfu.ca
Room: K8629

Research Interests: Aging, mobility, disability, physical activity & function, osteoporosis, falls, epidemiology

MCINTOSH, DR. RANDY

Professor
BC Leadership Chair in Neuroscience and Technology Transfer Across the Lifespan
Director, Institute for Neuroscience and Neurotechnology
Phone: (778) 782-3889
Email:
 randy_mcintosh@sfu.ca

Research Interests: Cognitive and computational neuroscience, neuroimaging, aging & dementia

Marigold, Dr. Dan 

Professor 
Sensorimotor Neuroscience Lab 
Phone: (778) 782-3499 
Email: daniel_marigold@sfu.ca
Room: K8625

Research Interests: Neural control of movement, visuomotor control, locomotion, falls

Parkhouse, Dr. Wade

Professor & Vice-Provost and Associate VP, Academic
Metabolic Biochemistry Lab 
Phone: (778) 782-4109 
Email: parkhous@sfu.ca 

Research Interests: Exercise physiology and biochemistry

Poburko, Dr. Damon

Associate Professor 
Molecular Cardiac Physiology Group 
Phone: (778) 782-9464 
Email: dpoburko@sfu.ca
Room: L8004

Research Interests: Vascular Smooth Muscle Structure-Function Relationships & Physiology, Mitochondrial Physiology, Synaptic Physiology

Reynolds, Dr. Steve

T.B. Vets Charitable Foundation Professor in Critical Care
Email: screynol@sfu.ca

Research Interests: Critical care

Robinovitch, Dr. Stephen 

Professor and Research Program Chair
Injury Prevention and Mobility Lab 
Phone: (778) 782-3566 
Email: stever@sfu.ca
Room: K9642

Ruben, Dr. Peter

Professor
Molecular Cardiac Physiology group 
Email: pruben@sfu.ca
Room: K9628

Research Interests: Biophysics of ion channels, congenital heart disease, congenital epilepsy, congenital skeletal muscle disease, ion channel evolution

Tibbits, Dr. Glen 

Professor
Molecular Cardiac Physiology group 
Phone: (778) 782-3658
Email: tibbits@sfu.ca
Room: K9630

Research Interests: Molecular cardiac physiology, cardiac contractility, congenital heart disease, calcium regulation in the heart

Vieira, Dr. Amandio

Associate Professor 
Nutrition and metabolism research Lab 
Phone: (778) 782-4251 
Email: avvieira@sfu.ca
Room: K9634

Research Interests: Nutrition and metabolism, dietary antioxidants and phytochemicals, cellular and nutrient transport

Wakeling, Dr. James

Professor 
Neuromuscular Mechanics Lab 
Phone: (778) 782-8444 
Email: wakeling@sfu.ca
Room: K9644

Research Interests: Neuromusclar Mechanics

White, Dr. Matthew 

Associate Professor 
Lab for Exercise and Environment Physiology 
Phone: (778) 782-3344 
Email: matt@sfu.ca 
Room: K8636

Research Interests: Human temperature regulation, control of breathing and energy expenditure

Teaching Faculty

Arnold, Anne-Kristina

Senior Lecturer 
Phone: (778) 782-5213
Email: aarnolda@sfu.ca 
Room: L8003

Research Interests:
Ergonomics, design, occupational environments, RSIY

Bedoya, Diana

Senior Lecturer
Phone: (778) 782-6623
Email: dbedoya@sfu.ca
Room: K8623

Research Interests: Obesity, behaviour change, weight management

Carter, Dr. Jim

Lecturer
Phone: (778) 782-4231 
Email: carter@sfu.ca 
Room: K8632

Dill, Ryan 

Senior Lecturer, Associate Chair, Operations
Phone: (778) 782-7851 
Email: ryand@sfu.ca 
Associate Chair Email: bpkaco@sfu.ca

Lee, Dr. Sabrina

Lecturer 

Email: sabrina_sm_lee@sfu.ca
Room: K8638

Ramer, Dr. Leanne

Senior Lecturer 

Email: leanne_ramer@sfu.ca 
Room: L9004

Rosenblat, Dr. Michael

Lecturer
Phone: (778) 782-9084
Email: michael_rosenblat@sfu.ca
Room: K8634

Research Interests: Exercise programming for endurance sport, risk factors for sport-related injury

Walsh, Dr. Michael

Senior Lecturer 
Phone: (778) 782-4065 
Email: walsha@sfu.ca 
Room: K8621

Wicks, Dr. Nadine

Senior LecturerUndergraduate Program Chair
Phone: (778) 782-3615
Email: nwicks@sfu.ca 
Room: K8627

Research Interests: Ion channel biophysics and channelopathies, signal transduction and calcium handling dysfunction in disease, synaptic modelling and neuroplasticity.

Sessionals and Term Lecturers

Bott, Carmen
Lecturer

Email: carmen_bott@sfu.ca  

Lunnie, Kevin
Term Lecturer

Email: kevin_lunnie@sfu.ca  

Associate Members

Dr. M. Faisal Beg
Engineering Science

Email: mfbeg@sfu.ca

Research Interests: Computational anatomy and medical image analysis     

Dr. Bonnie Gray
Engineering Science

Email: bgray@sfu.ca

Research Interests: 

Microelectromechanical systems (MEMS) and microfluidics as applied to medicine and biology

Dr. Marinko V. Sarunic
Engineering Science

Email: msarunic@sfu.ca

Research Interests: Biomedical imaging, optical coherence tomography (OCT), microscopy, low-coherence interferometry, BioMEMS

Dr. Glenn Chapman
Engineering Science

Email: glennc@encs.sfu.ca

Research Interests: Building, techniques, and design of Large Area Restructurable Silicon Systems

Dr. Carlo Menon
Engineering Science

Email: cmenon@encs.sfu.ca

Research Interests: Robotics and Biomimetics

Dr. Edgar Young
Molecular Biology & Biochemistry

Email: youngec@sfu.ca

Research Interests: Biochemistry

Dr. Jonathan Choy
Molecular Biology & Biochemistry

Email: jonathan.choy@sfu.ca

Research Interests: T-cell biology, transplantation immunology, and vascular biology

Dr. Andrew Rawicz
Enginnering Science

Email: rawicz@sfu.ca

Research Interests: Reliability physics and engineering; optic device engineering; medical engineering; biomedical engineering

Adjunct Professors

Dr. Sam Goodchild
Xenon Pharmaceuticals, Canada

Email: sam.goodchild@gmail.com

Dr. Christopher MacLean
Fortius Sport & Health, Canada

Email: 
christopher.maclean@fortiussport.com

Research Interests: Applied research in biomechanics

Dr. James Reynolds
Kids Brain Health Network, Canada
Queens University, Canada

Email: jnr@queensu.ca

Dr. A. William Sheel
University of British Columbia, Canada

Email: bill.sheel@ubc.ca

Research Interests: Exercise, cardio-respiratory and environmental physiology

Dr. Kouhyar Tavakolian
University of North Dakota, USA

Email: kouhyart@gmail.com

Research Interests: Cardiac vibration signals, ballistocardiography and seismocardiography

Dr. Lewei Zhang
University of British Columbia, Canada

Email: leweizhang888@gmail.com

Research Interests: Oral carcinogenesis

Dr. Anita Cote
Trinity Western University, Canada

Email: anita.cote@twu.ca

Dr. Leif Hove-Madsen
Institut Català de Ciències Cardiovasculars, Spain

Email: LHove@csic-iccc.org

Research Interests: Cardiac physiology

Dr. Michael Ryan
Kintec, Canada

Email: mryan76@gmail.com

Research Interests: Applied research in biomechanics and rehabilitation

Dr. Robert A. Strath
University of British Columbia, Canada

Email: rastrath@telus.net

Research Interests: Optometry; effects of aging on vision; effects of diving on ocular tissues, ergonomics of vision and computer use

Dr. Darren E. R. Warburton
University of British Columbia, Canada

Email: darren.warburton@ubc.ca

Research Interests: Cardio-respiratory physiology, environmental physiology and rehabilitation science

Dr. Vasily Vakorin
Behavioral & Cognitive Neuroscience Institute, Canada

Email: vasenka@gmail.com

Dr. Michael Koehle
University of British Columbia, Canada

Email: michaael.koehle@ubc.ca

Research Interests: Environmental physiology; intermittent hypoxia and acute mountain sickness

Dr. Igor Mekjavic
Jožef Stefan Institute, Ljubljana

Email: mekjavic@icloud.com

Research Interests: Environmental physiology and ergonomics

Dr. Shubhayan Sanatani
BC Children's Hospital, Canada

Email: ssanatani@cw.bc.ca

Research Interests: Cardiovascular physiology and medicine

Dr. Xiaowei Song
Fraser Health Authority, Canada

Email: xiaowei.song@fraserhealth.ca

Research Interests: Aging and dementia, brain health and general health relationships, MRI techniques and applications

EmEritus and Retired Faculty 

Dr. Josephine Anthony 

Email: janthony@sfu.ca

Research Interests: Human Anatomy, Histology, Neuromuscular Anatomy 

Dr. Parveen Bawa
Neurophysiology Lab

Email: bawa@sfu.ca

Research Interests: Neuroscience, spinal cord, reflexes, motoneuron

Dr. Allan Davison 

Email: adavison@sfu.ca 

Research Interests: Biochemistry, oxygen and antioxidant vitamins

Dr. Donald G. Hedges

Email: doctordon@shaw.ca

Dr. James Morrison 

Email: jmorriso@sfu.ca

Research Interests: Bioengineering and environmental ergonomics

Tony Leyland 

Email: leyland@sfu.ca

Craig Asmundson 

Email: rasmunds@sfu.ca

Dr. Tom Calvert (Joint Appt with Cmpt, Ensc and Kines) 

Email: tom@sfu.ca 

Research Interests: Human figure animation (dance) and human computer interaction

Dr. John Dickinson 

Email: johnlizatmb@hotmail.com

Research Interests: Motor learning and human factors

Dr. Christine MacKenzie
Human Motor Systems Lab

Email: christine_mackenzie@sfu.ca


Research Interests: Motor control, human skills, human-computer interaction, laparoscopic surgery, expression and music performance

Dr. William Ross 

Phone: (604) 531-5049

Email: rosscraft@shaw.ca 

 

Dr. Miriam Rosin

Email: rosin@sfu.ca

 

Stephen Brown  

Email: sbrown@sfu.ca

Dr. Will Cupples

Email: wcupples@sfu.ca

Research Interests: Renal autoregulation and hypertensive renal disease

Dr. David Goodman

Email: goodman@sfu.ca 

Research Interests: Motor control and learning

Dr. Ron Marteniuk


Email: ron_marteniuk@sfu.ca


Research Interests: Motor control, motor learning and interlimb coordination            

Dr. Hal Weinberg

Email: hweinber@sfu.ca 

Research Interests: Electrophysiology of information processing and complex behaviour

Dr. Richard Ward

Email: richard_ward@sfu.ca