Faculty

Teaching/Research Faculty

Blaber, Dr. Andrew

Professor
Aerospace Physiology Lab
Phone:
(778) 782-3276
Email: ablaber@sfu.ca
Courses:
BPK 205, BPK 484

Research Interests: Environmental and Aerospace Physiology

Brooks-Wilson, Dr. Angela

Professor & Chair
Cancer Genetics Lab
Phone:
(778) 782-3889 or (604) 675-8156
Email: arw6@sfu.ca
Courses: BPK 420 (Special Topics: Medical Genetics) BPK 140


Research Interests: Cancer Genetics, genetics of healthy aging, lymphoma, human genetics

Clarke, Dr. David

Assistant Professor
Phone: (778) 782-9777
Email:
dcclarke@sfu.ca
Courses: BPK 344 

Research Interests: Quantitative studies of exercise biology

Claydon, Dr. Tom

Associate Professor
Molecular Cardiac Physiology Group
Phone: (778) 782-8514
Email:
thomas_claydon@sfu.ca
Courses:
 BPK 305, BPK 412


Research Interests: Cardiac ion channel biophysics and physiology, cardiac rhythm, pathophysiological modulation of ion channel function, fluorescence-based electrophysiology

Claydon, Dr. Victoria

Associate Professor
Cardiovascular Physiology Lab
Phone: (778) 782-8513
Email: victoria_claydon@sfu.ca
Courses: BPK 305, BPK 444


Research Interests: Cardiovascular physiology and pathophysiology; altitude physiology; cerebrovascular control; autonomic nervous system; spinal cord injury; syncope.

Cooke, Dr. Dylan

Assistant Professor
Phone: (778) 782-7667
Email: dfcooke@sfu.ca

 

Cupples, Dr. Will 

Professor
Phone: (778) 782-9084
Email: wcupples@sfu.ca

Doesburg, Dr. Sam

Associate Professor
Phone: (778) 782-3737
Email: sam_doesburg@sfu.ca

Research Interests:
Magnetoencepalographic (MEG) brain imaging of typical and atypical brain oscillations and networks, Translational research in autism, Brain oscillations and networks in cognition and development

 

Donelan, Dr. Max 

Professor 
Locomotion Lab 
Phone: (778) 782-7100 
Email: max_donelan@sfu.ca 
Courses: BPK 308 


Research Interests: Locomotion Neuromechanics

Finegood, Dr. Diane 

Professor & President / CEO of MSFHR 
Chronic Disease Systems Modelling Lab 
Email: finegood@sfu.ca 

Research Interests: Obesity, chronic disease prevention, complex systems, modeling, population and public health, knowledge translation, evidence-based practice

Hoffer, Dr. Andy

Professor
Neurokinesiology Lab 
Phone: (778) 782-3141 
Email: hoffer@sfu.ca 
Courses: BPK 448, BPK 836 


Research Interests: Neuroprosthetic rehabilitation of movement disorders, diaphragm pacing

Krieger, Dr. Charles

Professor and Associate Chair
Brain Research Lab 
Phone: (778) 782-3753 
Email: ckrieger@sfu.ca 
Courses: BPK 306, BPK 446 


Research Interests: Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis, protein kinase, neurological disease, neuron death, motoneuron                           

 

Lear, Dr. Scott

Professor 
Community Health Research Team (CoHeaRT)
Phone: (604) 682-2344 ext 62778
Email: salear@sfu.ca 
Courses: BPK 806 


Research Interests: Cardiac rehabilitation, obesity, lifestyle management, physical activity

Mackey, Dr. Dawn 

Assistant Professor 
Aging and Population Health Lab 
Phone: (778) 782-9330 
Email: dmackey@sfu.ca 
Courses: BPK 304W 


Research Interests: Aging, mobility, disability, physical activity & function, osteoporosis, falls, epidemiology

Marigold, Dr. Dan 

Associate Professor 
Sensorimotor Neuroscience Lab 
Phone: (778) 782-3499 
Email: daniel_marigold@sfu.ca 
Courses: BPK 207, BPK 415 


Research Interests: Neural control of movement, visuomotor control, locomotion, falls

Parkhouse, Dr. Wade

Professor & Dean of Graduate Studies 
Metabolic Biochemistry Lab 
Phone: (778) 782-4109 
Email: parkhous@sfu.ca 
Courses: BPK 375, BPK 430 

Research Interests: Exercise physiology and biochemistry

Poburko, Dr. Damon

Assistant Professor 
Molecular Cardiac Physiology Group 
Phone: (778) 782-9464 
Email: dpoburko@sfu.ca 
Courses: BPK 305 


Research Interests: Vascular Smooth Muscle Structure-Function Relationships & Physiology, Mitochondrial Physiology, Synaptic Physiology

Robinovitch, Dr. Stephen 

Professor 
Injury Prevention and Mobility Lab 
Phone: (778) 782-3566 
Email: stever@sfu.ca 
Courses: BPK 201, BPK 402


Research Interests: Biomechanics, falls and fall-related injuries in the elderly

Rosin, Dr. Miriam 

Professor 
Cancer Prevention Lab 
Phone: (778) 782-4589 
Email: rosin@sfu.ca 
Courses: BPK 110, BPK 431, BPK 851 


Research Interests: Identification of Molecular Alterations Predicting Cancer Development

Ruben, Dr. Peter

Professor and Associate Dean of Research & Advancement, Faculty of Science
Molecular Cardiac Physiology group 
Phone: (778) 782-9351
Email: pruben@sfu.ca 
Courses: BPK 205 


Research Interests: Biophysics of ion channels, congenital heart disease, congenital epilepsy, congenital skeletal muscle disease, ion channel evolution

Tibbits, Dr. Glen 

Professor
Molecular Cardiac Physiology group 
Phone: (778) 782-3658
Email: tibbits@sfu.ca 
Courses: BPK 305, BPK 412, BPK 812


Research Interests: Molecular cardiac physiology, cardiac contractility, congenital heart disease, calcium regulation in the heart

Vieira, Dr. Amandio

Associate Professor 
Nutrition and metabolism research Lab 
Phone: (778) 782-4251 
Email: avvieira@sfu.ca 
Courses: BPK 110, BPK 311, BPK 850 


Research Interests: Nutrition and metabolism, dietary antioxidants and phytochemicals, cellular and nutrient transport

Wakeling, Dr. James

Professor 
Neuromuscular Mechanics Lab 
Phone: (778) 782-8444 
Email: wakeling@sfu.ca 
Courses: BPK 208, BPK 301


Research Interests: Neuromusclar Mechanics

 

White, Dr. Matthew 

Associate Professor 
Lab for Exercise and Environment Physiology 
Phone: (778) 782-3344 
Email: matt@sfu.ca 
Courses: BPK 110, BPK 305 


Research Interests: Human temperature regulation, control of breathing and energy expenditure
 

Teaching Faculty

Arnold, Anne-Kristina

Senior Lecturer 
Phone: (778) 782-5213
Email: aarnolda@sfu.ca 
Courses: BPK 180, BPK 381, BPK 423, BPK 486, BPK 488 

Research Interests:
Ergonomics, design, occupational environments, RSIY

Bedoya, Diana

Lecturer
Phone: (778) 782-6623
Email: dbedoya@sfu.ca
Courses: BPK 110, BPK 140

Research Interests: Obesity, behaviour change, weight management

Brown, Stephen 

Senior Lecturer 
Phone: (778) 782-4122 
Email: sbrown@sfu.ca 
Courses: BPK 140, BPK 340, BPK 382, BPK 407, BPK 481

Research Interests: Active health, ergonomics, musculoskeletal injuries, functional capacity evaluation, and human performance

Carter, Dr. Jim

Lecturer, Limited Term
Phone: (778) 782-4231 
Email: carter@sfu.ca 
Courses: BPK 142, BPK 407

 

Cheng, Dr. Yen May

Lecturer, Limited Term
Phone: (778) 782-7028 or (778) 782-7667
Email: yenmayc@sfu.ca 
Courses: BPK 205, BPK 208

Research Interests: Cardiac ion channel biophysics and physiology, mechanisms of ion channel voltage-sensing, pathophysiological modulation of ion channel function

Dill, Ryan 

Senior Lecturer
Phone: (778) 782-7851 
Email: ryand@sfu.ca 
Courses: BPK 105C, BPK 110, BPK 310, BPK 343

Leyland, Tony 

Senior Lecturer 
Phone: (778) 782-4338 
Email: leyland@sfu.ca 
Courses: BPK 143/143C, BPK 201, BPK 301, BPK 342, BPK 343, BPK 380

Research Interests: Active health, physical conditioning of elite athletes, nutrition, biomechanics, human physical performance and fitness assessment

Ramer, Dr. Leanne

Lecturer 
Phone: (778) 782-
Email: leanne_ramer@sfu.ca 
Courses: BPK 326, BPK 426

Walsh, Dr. Michael

Senior Lecturer 
Phone: (778) 782-4065 
Email: walsha@sfu.ca 
Courses: BPK 142, BPK 305, BPK 375

Ward, Dr. Richard 

Senior Lecturer / Undergraduate Program Chair
Phone: (778) 782-5677 
Email: richard_ward@sfu.ca 
Courses: BPK 303, BPK 304, BPK 375

Wicks, Dr. Nadine

Lecturer 
Phone: (778) 782-3615
Email: nwicks@sfu.ca 
Courses: BPK 205, BPK 306