Awards And Honors


By Organization


The School of Computing Science has a distinguished faculty complement. Their work has been recognized by numerous awards from many academic and industrial organizations over a long period of time. 

You can explore some of these awards by clicking on one of the tabs on the right. 

The Royal Society of Canada

Eugene Fiume

  • Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada, 2014

Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada (NSERC)

James Delgrande

  • NSERCDiscovery Accelerator Supplement (DAS), 2018 -2021

Eugene Fiume

  • NSERC Synergy Award, 2012

Yasutaka Furukawa

  • NSERC Discovery Accelerator Supplements (DAS)
  • Department of National Defence (DND)/NSERC Discovery Grant Supplement

Mohamed Hefeeda

  • NSERC Discovery Accelerator Supplement (DAS), 2011 

Jianchuan Liu

  • NSERC E.W.R Steacie Memorial Fellowship, 2015

Greg Mori

  • NSERC Discovery Accelerator Supplement (DAS), 2016-2019

Jian Pei

  • NSERC Discovery Accelerator Supplement (DAS), 2013

Anoop Sarkar

  • NSERC Discovery Accelerator Supplement (DAS), 2012-2015, 2018
  • NSERC Discovery Grants Program, 2012-2017
  • NSERC Department of National Defence Award, 2018

Oliver Schulte

  • NSERC Discovery Accelerator Supplements (DAS), 2018

Ping Tan

  • NSERC Discovery Accelerator Supplement (DAS), 2014

Institute of electrical and electronics engineers (IEEE)

Jiangchuan Liu

  • Institute of electrical and electronics engineers from Canada (IEEE) Fellow, 2017

Jian Pei

  • IEEE International Conference on Data Mining series (ICDM) Research Contributions Award, 2014
  • Institute of electrical and electronics engineers from Canada (IEEE) Fellow, 2014

Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) Special Interest Group on Knowledge Discovery in Data (SIGKDD)

Jian Pei

  • ACM SIGKDD Innovation Award, 2017
  • ACM SIGKDD Service Award, 2015
  • ACM Fellow, 2015

Jianan Wang

  • ACM SIGMOD Best Demonstration Award, 2016

ACM Transactions on Multimedia Computing, Communications, and Applications (TOMM)

Mohamed Hefeeda

  • Best Associate Editor, 2014

Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics (SIAM)

Pavol Hell

  • Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics (SIAM) Fellow, 2012

Alfred P. Sloan Foundation 

Leonid Chindelvitch

  • Sloan Research Fellowship, 2016

Canadian Human Computer Communications Society (CHCCS)

Eugene Fiume

  • CHCCS Achievement Award, 2014


Eugene Fiume

  • Fellow, 2014

Canada Research Chairs Program (CRCP)

Jian Pei

  • Currently a Tier 1 Canada Research Chair in Big Data Science

Canadian Artificial Intelligence Association (CAIAC)

Fred Popowich

  • Distinguished Service Award, 2017

Computer Science Canada (CS-CAN)

Yasutaka Furukawa

  • Outstanding Young Researcher Award, 2018

Rajan Family Scholar

Angelica Lim

  • Rajan Family Scholar in Computing Science


Rob Cameron

  • Google Faculty Research Award, 2015

Yasutaka Furukawa

  • Google Faculty Research Award, 2016-2018

Anoop Sarkar

  • Google Faculty Research Award, 2014

Jiannan Wang

  • Google Faculty Research Award, 2011

Genome BC

Maxwell Libbrecht

  • Genome BC Training Grant, 2012-2014


Yasutaka Furukawa

  • Azure Faculty Research Award, 2016

National Natural Science Foundation of China (NSFC)

Richard Zhang

  • Overseas, Hongkong, and Macau Scholar Collaborative Research Award, 2015

Simon Fraser University

Leonid Chindelevitch

  • Faculty of Applied Sciences Research Excellence Award, 2016 

Diana Cukierman

  • Academic Enhancement Program (AEP) Healthy Campus Community Champion, 2015