Scholarship & Awards

There are a number of scholarships, bursaries and other awards available to you to help finance your education. Below are a few of specific interest to computing science students. For full information about these and other awards, please visit


The Rajan Family Undergraduate Entrance Scholarship - $5,000

This scholarship will be granted annually (split equally over two terms, spring and fall) to a female student entering SFU from a secondary school.  The student must be in exellent academic standing, enrolled in 12 units or more, and be accepted into a major program in the School of Computing Science. This is renewable for three more years as long as the student meets the renewal criteria, for a total of $20,000.

The Paul Vicol Scholarship in Computing Science Research - $1,000

This annual scholarship will be awarded to an undergraduate student majoring in Computing Science, who is enrolled full time, in good academic standing, and has expressed an interest in research.

The Mark and Nancy Brooks Innovation Scholarship  

This scholarship may be granted in any semester from a portion of the interest earned on the Endowment. The scholarship will be granted to a Computing Science student in good academic standing who demonstrates exceptional accomplishment, promise or innovation, in the area of computing science outside classroom work.

Elma Krbavac Undergraduate Scholarship in Computing Science - $2,700

An annual scholarship awarded to a Computing Science undergraduate student who displays high academic standing and demonstrated volunteer involvement.

Simba Technologies Inc. Scholarships in Computing Science - $2,000

Two scholarships of at least $2,000 each are awarded to an undergraduate female student majoring in Computing Science who has excellent academic standing and demonstrated community/volunteer service.

Sophos Annual Computing Science Scholarship - $1,000

An annual scholarship granted to a third or fourth year undergraduate student enrolled as a Computing Science major on the basis of excellent academic standing, and ideally academic or industry experience in software security.

Matthew LeDuc Memorial Scholarship in Computing Science - $500

Awarded annually on the basis of academic achievement to a Computing Science major who demonstrates excellence in the field of computer graphics.


Sierra Systems Bursary in Computing Science - $2,000

Awarded to third or fourth year students majoring in Computing Science who are in good academic standing and who have demonstrated financial need. One award will be given to a student from Metro Vancouver, and the other to a student from outside Metro Vancouver.

Kazuya Shinyashiki Memorial Bursary in Computing Science - $1,100

This bursary is awarded to an undergraduate student in Computing Science with financial need.

Douglas M. Gregg Bursary in Computing Science - $500

The Douglas M. Gregg Bursary is offered to an undergraduate student majoring in Computing Science who is a Canadian citizen, has demonstrated financial need, and is in good academic standing.