About Us

Welcome From The Chair

Perched atop beautiful Burnaby Mountain, our department is home to faculty members known for their leading research in Quantum Matter and Material Science, Quantum Information, Biophysics and Soft Matter, Particle Physics and Cosmology.

We are committed to providing an inclusive high quality learning and research environment to ensure that every student has the opportunity to excel. Our undergraduate students benefit from personalized mentorship and early research opportunities, helping them reach their full potential and move on to rewarding careers.  Our graduate students conduct research at the forefront of some of the world’s top breakthroughs in Physics and contribute to major international collaborations.

Navigate through our site to learn about the diverse research and outreach activities taking place in our department, and the awards and achievements of our students and faculty. If you are a prospective undergraduate or graduate student, please feel free to contact individual faculty members listed on this site, as well as our friendly administrative staff about the programs and variety of opportunities we offer.

Levon Pogosian
Professor and Chair