Convocation, Awards

Undergraduate Convocation Award Winners, 2015

June 09, 2015

Robert C. Brown Award:
Chardaye Bueckert and Zoe Biggs

Chardaye Bueckert and Zoe Biggs (pictured with Dean John Craig) are the winners of the 2015 Robert C. Brown Award, which recognizes Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences students for outstanding academic achievement combined with outstanding leadership.

Chardaye Bueckert (left) completed a BA with a Political Science Major and Legal Studies Minor. In addition to her outstanding academic achievements, Chardaye volunteered with the SFU Debate Society and the SFU Senate, and served as External Relations Officer and President of SFU's Student Union.  

Zoe Biggs (right) completed a joint major BA in Gender, Sexuality and Women's Studies and Anthropology with a Certificate in Social Justice. In addition to her outstanding academic achievements, Zoe is a community outreach leader, with extensive volunteer work in the Downtown Eastside and beyond.

Dean's Undergraduate Convocation Medals:
Caleb Kwon and Sarah Marriott

The two winners of the 2015 Dean’s Undergraduate Convocation Medals are Caleb Kwon (Economics, Honours BA) and Sarah Marriott (Political Science/French BA, First Class with Distinction).

Convocation Medals recognize academic achievement and are given to two graduating students at spring convocation.

Both Kwon and Marriott are noted for excellent grades and outstanding extra-curricular service activities within SFU and beyond.