FCAT Excellence Awards

The Faculty of Communication, Art, and Technology (FCAT) contains an amazing set of faculty, staff, and alumni. The FCAT Excellence Awards were created to honour the hard work, dedication, and excellence that occurs across FCAT and beyond. The FCAT Research Excellence Awards were created in 2018 and FCAT Teaching, Staff, and Alumni awards followed in 2021 to further recognize the exemplary work done by current FCAT members and alumni.

Nomination process

  1. Prepare your supporting documentation (see criteria for each award category).
  2. Complete the online nomination survey and upload any supporting documentation by October 17th, 2022.

Normally all awards are given out annually and ties may be considered. Award recipients will be notified two weeks prior to a Faculty-wide reception in early December.

The goal of the FCAT EDI Award is to recognize the work of our faculty, staff, students and alumni in contributing to furthering equity, diversity and inclusion in our Faculty.
  • FCAT EDI Award – this award recognizes the outstanding achievements of individuals or teams of FCAT staff, faculty, students or alumni who have advanced equity, diversity and inclusion through their work, research and/or contributions to the community. Team sizes may vary, but at least 2 members of the team must have been in FCAT for at least two years.

Nominations can be made by faculty, staff, students or alumni from any school or program within FCAT.

Optional supporting materials:

  • a summary letter that illustrates why the candidate is deserving of the award (maximum two pages)

Adjudication committee: a committee will be chaired by the FCAT Faculty Advisor on Equity, Diversity and Inclusion, and include the Indigenous Academic and Student Liaison and one staff or faculty member from each of FCAT’s schools and programs.

Disclaimer: Great Northern Way Staff at the Master of Digital Media Program are not eligible for FCAT Awards.