MENU

ABOUT SFU'S BIG DATA HUB

From genomics to criminology, from physics to healthcare, Simon Fraser University seeks to spark new collaborations that combine big questions and big ideas with data-intensive discovery.

SFU is building on a decade of leadership in the field of big data, investing in advanced research computing to accelerate scholarship and innovation by bringing new data tools and resources to all members of our campus community. We are investing in the growth of data-intensive research across all eight Faculties to raise awareness of big data in every field of study and mobilize knowledge for real world impact. Our academic programs and strategic partnerships harness the power of big data to contribute to a competitive economy and the development of skills and expertise in our work force.

What We Offer

Services

We forge partnerships to put data into action, supporting innovation, entrepreneurship and a competitive economy.

Learn more

Workshop and Events

We provide workshops and events in big data approaches that connect diverse people and build communities of practice.

Learn more

Big Data Consulting Services

SFU's Big Data Hub is a one-stop portal for big data consulting services, including advanced research computing, data visualization, digital humantiies support and more.

Learn more

Big Data Academic Advisory Committee

Angela Brooks Wilson
Associate Vice-President, Research (pro tem). Office of the Vice-President, Research and International
avpr@sfu.ca

Derek Bingham
Associate Professor, Statistics and Actuarial Science
dbingham@sfu.ca

Uwe Glässer
Professor, Computing Science
glaesser@cs.sfu.ca

JM Goh
Associate Professor, Management Information Systems/Innovation and Entrepreneurship
jmgoh@sfu.ca

Mark Jordan
Associate Dean of Libraries, Digital Strategy
mjordan@sfu.ca

Carman Neustaedter
Dean, Faculty of Communication, Art and Technology, Professor
carman@sfu.ca

Fiona Brinkman
Professor, Department of Molecular Biology and Biochemistry
brinkman@sfu.ca

Pascal Haegeli
Assistant Professor, Department of Resource and Environmental Management
pascal_haegeli@sfu.ca

Hui Xie
Professor, Faculty of Health Sciences
hui_xie@sfu.ca

Fred Popowich
Scientific Director, SFU's Big Data Hub
bdidir@sfu.ca

Wendy Chun
Professor, School of Communication and Canada 150 Research Chair in New Media
whkchun@sfu.ca

Nathalie Sinclair
Professor, Faculty of Education and Canada Research Chair in Tangible Mathematics Learning
nathsinc@sfu.ca

Mark Roman
Chief Information Officer
mproman@sfu.ca

Colette Colligan
Professor, English. Co-Director, Digital Humanities Innovation Lab
ccolliga@sfu.ca

Jiannan Wang
Assistant Professor, Computing Science
jnwang@sfu.ca