MENU

ABOUT

HARNESSING THE POWER OF BIG DATA

SFU’s Big Data Hub empowers people to unlock big data for research, education and community impact

Simon Fraser University is building on over a decade of leadership in the field of big data, investing in advanced research computing to accelerate scholarship and innovation, raise awareness of big data in every field of study, and mobilze knowledge for real world impact.

What We Do

Established in 2016, SFU's Big Data Hub continues to strengthen SFU's reputation as a leading data science institution. The Big Data Hub enables the convergence of data-driven expertise linking computing science to gender studies, statistics to climate change modelling, criminal justice to mathematics, epidemiology to policy and more.


Where most universities invest in depth, SFU also invested in breadth that leveraged all its expertise to generate more powerful insights and solutions that are directly relevant to our communities.

  • We foster connections and collaborations through tools, training and expertise. This enables people to apply data-intensive methods for innovations in teaching, research and community impact.

  • We equip students with the skills and experience to be job-ready. 

  • We are accelerating scholarship and innovation across all eight SFU Faculties by bringing new data tools and resources to all members of our campus community.

  • We forge transformative partnerships to solve problems that matter.

What We Offer

Services

We forge partnerships to put data into action, supporting innovation, entrepreneurship and a competitive economy.

Learn more

Workshop and Events

We provide workshops and events in big data approaches that connect diverse people and build communities of practice.

Learn more

Big Data Consulting Services

SFU's Big Data Hub is a one-stop portal for big data consulting services, including advanced research computing, data visualization, digital humanities support and more.

Learn more

Big Data Academic Advisory Committee

Angela Brooks Wilson
Associate Vice-President, Research (pro tem). Office of the Vice-President, Research and International
avpr@sfu.ca

Fred Popowich
Scientific Director, SFU's Big Data Hub
bdidir@sfu.ca

Derek Bingham
Associate Professor, Statistics and Actuarial Science
dbingham@sfu.ca

Fiona Brinkman
Professor, Department of Molecular Biology and Biochemistry
brinkman@sfu.ca

Wendy Chun
Professor, School of Communication and Canada 150 Research Chair in New Media
whkchun@sfu.ca

Colette Colligan
Professor, English. Co-Director, Digital Humanities Innovation Lab
ccolliga@sfu.ca

Tenzin Doleck
Professor, Faculty of Education and Canada Research Chair in Analytics for Learning Design
tdoleck@sfu.ca

Keith Fong
Chief Information Officer
keith@sfu.ca

Uwe Glässer
Professor, Computing Science
glaesser@cs.sfu.ca

JM Goh
Associate Professor, Management Information Systems/Innovation and Entrepreneurship
jmgoh@sfu.ca

Pascal Haegeli
Assistant Professor, Department of Resource and Environmental Management
pascal_haegeli@sfu.ca

Mark Jordan
Associate Dean of Libraries, Digital Strategy
mjordan@sfu.ca

Carman Neustaedter
Dean, Faculty of Communication, Art and Technology, Professor
carman@sfu.ca

Jiannan Wang
Assistant Professor, Computing Science
jnwang@sfu.ca

Hui Xie
Professor, Faculty of Health Sciences
hui_xie@sfu.ca