FASS, Achievements

2018 FASS Employee Achievement Awards

October 09, 2018

In June this year, Dr. Jane Pulkingham, Dean of the Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences introduced the FASS Employee Achievement Awards, three new groups of annual awards to recognize the dedication and hard work of FASS employees including staff continuing faculty, and temporary instructors.

FASS is pleased to announce the inaugural winners of the FASS Employee Achievement Awards who were recognized at the 2018 FASS Autumn Reception on Thursday, October 11, 2018.

Individual Work Performance:

As departmental manager of Gender, Sexuality, and Women's Studies, Roberta Neilson juggles many responsibilities. She knows most of her students by name, and treats them all professionally and fairly. She also plays a key part in the many public outreach events and conferences organized by GSWS, and creates a warm, safe and inclusive space for her students and colleagues.

Lifetime Contribution:

Anita Turner has worked for 40 years at SFU, with 38 of those years spent in Psychology. She began as Assistant to the Chair, and trained eight of them over the years! For the last 12 years, she has been the Graduate Program Assistant, managing over 100 grad students and the accreditation process for the Clinical Psychology Program. She is truly one of the cornerstones of the department.

Team Award:

Department of Economics staff members Lisa Agosti, Azam Bhatti, Tim Coram, Ayktah Grover, Christine Harper, Mike Perry, Tracey Sherwood, Sarah Turner, Kathleen Vieira-Ribeiro, and Gwen Wild are the recipients of the FASS Employee Achievement Award in the Team category. Brian Krauth, chair of the Economics department, says that his department "has a reputation as one of the most well-run and trouble-free units in the university, and our outstanding staff is the primary reason for that.” He nominated his entire team because of the way that they are able to adapt to new needs, changes in university procedures, and their commitment to continuous improvement.

Sessional instructor:

Charmaine Perkins, has taught courses in Criminology since 2010. Multiple students nominated her for this award because she inspires students to think creatively and realize their potential. She challenges students intellectually, encourages them to identify their own biases and appreciate differing opinions.

Teaching assistant or tutor marker:

Thomas Vigié is the “go-to TA” for Economics, and has taught international finance, industrial organization, data analysis, intermediate macro- and microeconomics, and mathematics. He has also been a marker in PhD econometrics. Brian Krauth reports that “Thomas’ students love him…even when students might be unhappy with the course, they are happy with Thomas”.

Term teaching or research faculty:

As SFU strives to be Canada's engaged university, Clare McGovern from the Department of Political Science is a great example of how we all can bring our communities into the classroom. She emphasizes real world examples and simulations to stimulate student learning and integrates learning partnerships with government and non-government organizations to connect her students to the wider community.


Dr. Genevieve Fuji Johnson has provided excellent leadership to SFU’s Sexual Violence Policy initiative and is a Senior Advisor to the Provost on Equity, Diversity and Inclusion. She is also an active researcher and volunteer withom marginalized communities, including: women sex workers and survivors of violence. The FASS Changemaker Award exists to recognize a FASS employee whose work has ripple effects beyond their department and even beyond the institution. Her work is remarkably well-timed for the current zeitgeist of the #MeToo movement, and is helping to shape similar policies in universities across Canada.