EASC's Undergraduate Program

Located in the heart of the Cordillera and the centre of Canada's geoscience community, Simon Fraser University's Burnaby campus is home to one of Canada's newest Earth Sciences departments. As a program with a strong field-based component, our location affords us the opportunity to visit many local geological environments, ranging from glaciers to volcanoes, active river systems to tsunami sites, and from high mountain environments to the groundwater beneath our feet. And our mild, albeit rainy, climate allows for a year-round field season.

Students have a number of options, including a Major or Honours B.Sc. (with 3 streams) in Earth Sciences, a Joint Major or Honours with Chemistry, and an Earth Sciences Minor and Certificate. The department also offers courses in the Environmental Science program and collaborates with the SFU Science Co-op program.

Prospective students wishing to transfer credits from other institutions should refer to the British Columbia Council on Admissions & Transfer.

General information regarding Admissions, Tuition Fees, Financial Assistance, Calendar, etc. can be found through SFU Student Services.

Professional Registration as a B.C. Geoscientist

The right to practice in, and to accept professional responsibility for geoscience in B.C. is limited to those who are registered members of the Engineers & Geoscientists of BC (APEGBC). Requirements for registration can be met through the Earth Science Program's Geology or Environmental Geoscience streams.  Students interested in professional accreditation are encouraged to consider joining the "Member Advantage Program for Students".