Graduate Mini Course

Every year, a visiting professor is invited to the SFU Burnaby campus to teach a short course on a specialized subject in their field of expertise. It is a unique opportunity for graduate students to learn from some of the world's top scholars.

SUMMER 2023  

"Monetary theory and policy" by david andolfatto, miami herbert business school, University of miami

David Andolfatto received his Ph.D. in economics in 1994 from the University of Western Ontario, London, Canada. A native of Vancouver, British Columbia, he began his academic career in Canada as a professor of economics. In 2009, he was awarded the Bank of Canada Fellowship Award for his contributions in the theory of money, banking, and monetary policy. In that same year, David left Canada to become Vice President, and then Senior Vice President, in the research division of the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis, where he served as a senior policy advisor for James Bullard, CEO and president of the Bank. He left the Fed in 2022 to become Chair of the Economics Department at the University of Miami Patti and Allan Herbert Business School.

Summer 2023 Schedule

  • Monday, May 8th: 9:30am - 11:20am
  • Tuesday, May 9th: 9:30am - 11:20am
  • Wednesday, May 10th: 1:30pm - 3:20pm
  • Thursday, May 11th: 12:30pm - 2:20pm

Location: WMC 3611

Course Syllabus


The mini course is open to all economics graduate students.

Graduate students outside the Economics Department are welcome to attend (space permitting). Contact the Graduate Chair at  

Past mini courses

2022 - Colin Cameron, University of California - Davis


Slides and materials:

2019 - Ian Crawford (University of Oxford)

"Empirical Revealed Preference" 
* 2019 Ian Crawford mini course.pdf
Presentation slides

2018 - Arthur Lewbel (Boston College)

"The Identification Zoom - Meanings of Identification in Econometrics" 
* 2018 Arthur Lewbel_Part1.pdf
Presentation slides
* 2018 Arthur Lewbel_Part2.pdf
Presentation slides
* 2018 Arthur Lewbel_Part3.pdf
Presentation slides

2016 - Randall Wright (University of Wisconsin)

"Liquidity: A New Monetarist Perspective"

 2015 - Robert Feenstra (UC Davis)

"International Economics and Trade"

2014 - David Figlio (Northwestern University)

2012 - Jeff Smith (University of Michigan)

2010 - Arthur Lewbel (Boston College)

"Nonparametrics for Noneconometricians"
* 2010 Arthur Lewbel.pdf
Presentation slides

2009 - Klaus Schmidt (University of Munich)

2009 - Kevin Milligan (UBC)

2008 - John Abowd (Cornell University)

2007 - Randall Wright (University of Pennsylvania)

2006 - Randall Wright (University of Pennsylvania)