Graduate Student Profiles

Doctoral (PhD) 

For job market candidates, please click here.

Mohamed Abubraidaa

Research fields: Monetary policy

mabubrai@sfu.ca
LinkedIn
 

 

Azraf Uddin Ahmad

Research fields: Development and political economics

azraf_ahmad@sfu.ca
 

Marieh Azizirad

Research fields: Macroeconomics, monetary economics

mazizira@sfu.ca
LinkedIn

Uzair Azmat

Research fields: Macroeconomics, financial economics, consumption and savings models

uaa4@sfu.ca  

Samuel Basoah

Research fields: Macroeconomics (experimental and computational), applied microeconometrics, monetary, labour, and international finance

samuel_basoah@sfu.ca
LinkedIn
 

Jorge Martinez Compains

Research fields: Non-parametric time series, applied econometrics, macroeconometrics

jorge_martinez@sfu.ca
LinkedIn
 

Anil Donmez

Research fields: Financial economics, learning & adaptation, time series econometrics

adonmez@sfu.ca
 

Stan Hetalo 

Research fields: environmental economics, natural resources economics, financial economics

stan_hetalo@sfu.ca

Dian Hong

Research fields: Auction theory/mechanism design and applied microeconomics

dha87@sfu.ca
LinkedIn

Kiarash Hosseini

Research fields: Applied econometrics, political economy, and labor economics

kiarash_hosseini@sfu.ca
LinkedIn
Personal website

Jeff Hsieh

Research fields: Econometric theory, applied microeconomics

jeff_hsieh@sfu.ca

Esmaeil Izadi 

Research fields: Political economy, applied microeconomics

esmaeil_izadi@sfu.ca

Garam Kim

Research fields: Development economics

garamk@sfu.ca

Saeedeh Malekan

Research Fields: Development economics, applied microeconomics, applied econometrics

saeedeh_malekan@sfu.ca
LinkedIn
 

Shirleen Manzur 

Research fields: development economics, political economy

shirleen_manzur@sfu.ca
LinkedIn
 

Jonathan Puigvert

Research fields: Times series, machine learning, financial econometrics, and monetary policy 

jpuigver@sfu.ca
LinkedIn  

Hanif Rashtian

Research fields: Macroeconomics

hanif_rashtian@sfu.ca
 

Maarij Rehman

Research fields: Political economy, environmental economics

mmr10@sfu.ca
 

Minoru Higa

Research fields: Environmental economics

dhigarey@sfu.ca
www.minoruhiga.com
 

Huiqian (Louise) Song

Research fields: Applied microeconomics, law and economics and property rights

huiqians@sfu.ca
LinkedIn

Wenqian Sun

Research fields: Econometrics

wenqians@sfu.ca
LinkedIn
sites.google.com/view/wenqian-sun

Xiaolin Sun

Research fields: Econometrics, applied econometrics

xiaolins@sfu.ca

Hung Truong

Research fields: monetary policy, behavioural economics

hung_truong@sfu.ca
 

Boyuan Wang

Research fields: Development and finance

boyuanw@sfu.ca
LinkedIn
 

Wenkai Wu

Research fields: health economics and development economics

wenkai_wu@sfu.ca

Sadaf Yalinejad

Research fields: Macroeconomics, finance, asset pricing

syalinej@sfu.ca

Boxi Yang

Research fields: applied microeconomics, labor economics, development economics

boxi_yang@sfu.ca
LinkedIn

Shelly Fei Yu

Research fields: Urban and transportation economics, environmental economics

fya24@sfu.ca

Shayan Zarifian

Research fields: Industrial organization, applied microeconomics, applied econometrics

szarifia@sfu.ca
LinkedIn