Graduate Student Profiles

Doctoral (PhD) 

For job market candidates, please click here.

Farouk Abdul-Salam

Research fields: Time series, financial economics, applied econometrics, experimental economics, learning & adaptation, and computational design

fabdulsa@sfu.ca
LinkedIn
sites.google.com/view/farouk-abdul-salam/home

Mohamed Abubraidaa

Research fields: Monetary policy

mabubrai@sfu.ca
LinkedIn
 

 

Azraf Uddin Ahmad

Research fields: Development and political economics

azraf_ahmad@sfu.ca
 

Marieh Azizirad

Research fields: Macroeconomics, monetary economics

mazizira@sfu.ca
LinkedIn

Uzair Azmat

Research fields: Macroeconomics, financial economics, consumption and savings models

uaa4@sfu.ca  

Ricardo Meilman Cohn

Research fields: labour, education, public and development economics

rmeilman@sfu.ca
LinkedIn
 

Jorge Martinez Compains

Research fields: Non-parametric time series, applied econometrics, macroeconometrics

jorge_martinez@sfu.ca
LinkedIn
 

Anil Donmez

Research fields: Financial economics, learning & adaptation, time series econometrics

adonmez@sfu.ca
 

Liang Diao

Research fields: property rights, development economics, economic history

liang_diao@sfu.ca
sites.google.com/view/liangdiao/home
 

Stan Hetalo 

Research fields: environmental economics, natural resources economics, financial economics

stan_hetalo@sfu.ca

Jeff Hsieh

Research fields: econometric theory, applied microeconomics

jeff_hsieh@sfu.ca

Esmaeil Izadi 

Research fields: Urban and transportation economics, environmental economics

esmaeil_izadi@sfu.ca

Garam Kim

Research fields: Development economics

garamk@sfu.ca

Brock Lalla

Research fields: Macroeconomics, macroeconometrics, monetary economics, and development economics

brock_lalla@sfu.ca
LinkedIn

Shirleen Manzur 

Research fields: development economics, political economy

shirleen_manzur@sfu.ca
LinkedIn
 

Garrett Petersen

Research fields: experimental economics, law and economics, mechanism design

gpeterse@sfu.ca
www.garrettpetersen.com
 

Maarij Rehman

Research fields: Political economy, environmental economics

mmr10@sfu.ca
 

Minoru Higa Reyes

Research fields: Environmental economics

dhigarey@sfu.ca
 

Wenqian Sun

Research fields: Econometrics

wenqians@sfu.ca
LinkedIn
sites.google.com/view/wenqian-sun

Hung Truong

Research fields: monetary policy, behavioural economics

hung_truong@sfu.ca
 

Boyuan Wang

Research fields: Development and finance

boyuanw@sfu.ca
LinkedIn
 

Wenkai Wu

Research fields: health economics and development economics

wenkai_wu@sfu.ca

Boxi Yang

Research fields: applied microeconomics, labor economics, development economics

boxi_yang@sfu.ca
LinkedIn

Shelly Fei Yu

Research fields: Urban and transportation economics, environmental economics

fya24@sfu.ca

Shayan Zarifian

Research fields: empirical IO (Industrial Organization)

szarifia@sfu.ca
LinkedIn