2021-22 Shadbolt Fellows: Joanne Arnott, Megan J. Davies, Alana Gereke, and Erin Soros.

FASS News, Community, English, Gerontology, Urban Studies, Indigenous Studies

Introducing the 2021-22 Jack and Doris Shadbolt Fellows

September 17, 2021

The Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences (FASS) is pleased to announce the scholars selected to the 2021-22 Jack and Doris Shadbolt Fellowship in the Humanities Program. The program increases the visibility of the contributions of the humanities and arts to the university community. It also engages the wider community through publicly involved scholarship and creativity.

The 2021-22 Shadbolt Fellows (and host departments) are: Joanne Arnott (Indigenous Studies), Megan J. Davies (Gerontology), Alana Gereke (Urban Studies), and Erin Soros (English).

The Shadbolt Fellows will engage with Metro Vancouver communities through exhibits, performances, artworks, workshops and events that realize FASS's values of advancing reconciliation, Indigenization and decolonization at SFU as well as the strategic prioritiy of improving equity, diversity and inclusion at SFU more generally.

"We are fortunate to have the Shadbolt Fellows program bringing community-engaged scholarship, art and literature to SFU as well as the wider community throughout the academic year," says Peter Hall, Dean pro tem of the Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences.

"This year's Fellows each bring a critical lens to contemporary social life in British Columbia; they will explore Indigenous literature, place-based practices of care, experiences of aging during COVID, and mobilities within and beyond the pandemic. I look forward to the many ways they will engage students, faculty and local communities with their new written works, public talks, performances, exhibits, webinars and participatory actions."

Read more below about this year’s Fellows below. And please join us on October 25, 2021, for Storytelling, movement and influence in the Arts and Humanities: a conversation with SFU's 2021-22 Shadbolt Fellows, featuring all four visiting scholars. 

2021-22 Jack and Doris Shadbolt Fellows