Department directory

Office of the Chief Safety Officer

Mark LaLonde

Chief Safety Officer
Safety & Risk Services

  mark_lalonde@sfu.ca
   778.782.9208

Sharon Baker

Manager, Finance & Administration

e  sharon_baker@sfu.ca
   778.782.9623

Chas Florio

Director, Systems Analysis &
Project Management

  cflorio@sfu.ca
   778.782.3466

Denise Lin

Secretary

  denise_lin@sfu.ca
   778.782.9337 

Christina Hamfelt

Communications Officer 

  christina_hamfelt@sfu.ca
   236.888.3615

Sherry Hsiao

Project Coordinator

  sherry_hsiao@sfu.ca
   778.389.5143

Campus Public Safety

ADMINISTRATION

Andrea Ringrose

Senior Director,
Campus Public Safety

e  andrea_ringrose@sfu.ca
   778.782.8473

Azucena Madrigal Guerrero

Departmental Secretary

  secadmin@sfu.ca
   778.782.7343

CAMPUS PUBLIC SAFETY

Andrea Ringrose

Senior Director, Campus Public Safety

e  andrea_ringrose@sfu.ca
   778.782.8473

Jason Morlin

Security Supervisor

e  morlin@sfu.ca
   778.782.3922

Pamela McCafferty

Director

pamela_mccafferty@sfu.ca
778.782.4174

John Nguyen

Security Supervisor

e  john_nguyen_3@sfu.ca
   778.782.3922

Nicole Ly

Security Supervisor &
Residence Security Liaison

e  nicole_ly@sfu.ca
   778.782.3712

Maros Jerabek

Security Supervisor

e  jjerabek@sfu.ca
   778.782.3922

Vacant

Security Supervisor

e     778.782.3922

TRAFFIC SAFETY

Mike Spencer

Manager - Traffic Safety

e  spencerf@sfu.catraffic@sfu.ca
   778.782.3866

Ryan Buckberry

Traffic Enforcement Coordinator

e  rbuckber@sfu.ca ; traffic@sfu.ca

Shazain Rehman

Student Safety Engagement Program

e  sfucsp@sfu.ca
   778.782.5425

PHYSICAL SECURITY SOLUTIONS

Jason Eldridge

Manager, Physical Security Solutions

e  jason_eldridge@sfu.ca
   778.782.8634

Aleksey Sazhin

Locksmith

Tazruba Zaman

Access Control Clerk

e  access_control@sfu.ca
   778.782.5448

Don Flood

Locksmith Foreman

Aasea Malik

Access Control Clerk

e  access_control@sfu.ca
   778.782.5448

TBA

Locksmith

Jennifer Law-Claveau

Access Control Clerk

e  access_control@sfu.ca
   778.782.5448

Enterprise Risk & Resilience

Jacqueline Toering

Senior Director, Enterprise Risk & Resilience

e  jacqueline_toering@sfu.ca
   778.782.9855

Marta Spira

Coordinator, Travel Safety  

e  srs_ts@sfu.ca
   778.782.3560

Raveen Janjua

Director, Risk Management, Enterprise Risk & Resilience

e  raveen_janjua@sfu.ca
   778.782.4380

Vacant

Program Manager,
Insurance & Risk

e  risk_srs@sfu.ca
   778.782.9242

Alisa Zukanovic

Program Manager, Emergency and Continuity Planning

e  alisaz@sfu.ca
   778.782.9858

Nina Kwan

Secretary,
Enterprise Risk & Resilience

e   erradmin@sfu.ca
   778.782.6738

Darrell Akerstrom

Coordinator, Emergency and Continuity Planning

e  srs_em@sfu.ca
   778.782.8632

Environmental Health & Safety 

ADMINISTRATION

Melinda Skura

Senior Director,
Environmental Health & Safety

e  mkulbaba@sfu.ca
   778.782.7264

Sarah Gaita

Safety Assistant

e  sgaita@sfu.ca
   778.782.5935

RESEARCH & LABORATORY SAFETY

Monica Szczepina

Director, Research & Laboratory Safety

e  mszczepi@sfu.ca
   778.782.7265

Jutta Rickers-Haunerland

Program Manager -
Radiation Safety

Radiation Safety Officer

e  jhaunerl@sfu.ca
   778.782.3633

 

Catherine Peltier

Program Manager -
Chemical Safety & Hazardous Waste

e  cpeltier@sfu.ca
   778.782.8633

vacant

Radiation Safety Technician

e  
   778.782.3506

Binab Karmacharya

Program Manager -
Biosafety & Laboratory Safety

Biological Safety Officer

e  binab_karmacharya@sfu.ca
   778.782.6740

Miles Garcia

Research Safety Coordinator

e  mgarcia@sfu.ca
   778.782.5979

OCCUPATIONAL HEALTH & TRADES SAFETY

Tajinder Aujla

Director, Occupational Health and Trades Safety

e  taa19@sfu.ca
   778.782.4978

Vanessa Christner

Program Manager -
Ergonomics & Safety Management Systems

e  vanessa_christner@sfu.ca
   778.782.5728

Sandra Stan

Program Manager -
Indoor Environmental Quality (IEQ)

e  sandra_stan@sfu.ca
   778.782.3011

Nick Bryans

Program Manager -
Hazardous Building Materials

e  nbryans@sfu.ca 
   778.782.6558

Simon Wong

Program Manager -
IAQ & Trades Safety

e  simon_wong_9@sfu.ca
   778.782.3867

Justin Suen

Coordinator, Occupational Health & Trades Safety

e  justin_suen@sfu.ca
   778.782.3386