Department directory

Office of the Chief Safety Officer

Mark LaLonde

Chief Safety Officer
Safety & Risk Services

  mark_lalonde@sfu.ca
   778.782.9208

Sharon Baker

Manager, Finance & Administration

e  sharon_baker@sfu.ca
   778.782.9623

Chas Florio

Director, Systems Analysis &
Project Management

  cflorio@sfu.ca
   778.782.3466

Denise Lin & Sherry Hsiao

Secretaries

  denise_lin@sfu.ca
  sherry_hsiao@sfu.ca
   778.782.9337 | 778.782.6738

Vacant

Communications Officer

  mark_lalonde@sfu.ca
   778.782.9208

Campus Public Safety

ADMINISTRATION

Tim Marron

Senior Director,
Campus Public Safety

e  timothy_marron@sfu.ca
   778.782.4174

Azucena Madrigal Guerrero & Dione Nyathi

Departmental Secretary

  secadmin@sfu.ca
   778.782.7343

CAMPUS PUBLIC SAFETY

Andrea Ringrose

Director, Campus Public Safety

e  andrea_ringrose@sfu.ca
   778.782.8473

Jason Morlin

Security Supervisor

e  morlin@sfu.ca
   778.782.3922

John Nguyen

Security Supervisor

e  john_nguyen_3@sfu.ca
   778.782.3922

 

Nicole Ly

Security Supervisor &
Residence Security Liaison

e  nicole_ly@sfu.ca
   778.782.3712

Armin Jiwani

Security Supervisor

e  arminj@sfu.ca
   778.782.3922

TRAFFIC SAFETY

Mike Spencer

Manager - Traffic Safety

e  spencerf@sfu.catraffic@sfu.ca
   778.782.3866

Ryan Buckberry

Traffic Enforcement Coordinator

e  rbuckber@sfu.ca ; traffic@sfu.ca

Gian Rico

Student Safety Engagement Program

e  sfucsp@sfu.ca
   778.782.5425

PHYSICAL SECURITY SOLUTIONS

Jason Eldridge

Manager, Physical Security Solutions

e  jason_eldridge@sfu.ca
   778.782.8634

Aleksey Sazhin

Locksmith

Megan Purdon

Access Control Clerk

e  access_control@sfu.ca
   778.782.5448

Don Flood

Locksmith Foreman

Mary Phan

Access Control Clerk

e  access_control@sfu.ca
   778.782.5448

Ed Herbert

Locksmith

Jennifer Law-Claveau

Access Control Clerk

e  access_control@sfu.ca
   778.782.5448

Enterprise Risk & Resilience

Laura Vajanto

Senior Director,
Enterprise Risk & Resilience

e  laura_vajanto@sfu.ca
   778.782.9855

Len Bennett

Director, Risk Management

e  len_bennett@sfu.ca
   778.782.4380

Laura Kerek

Program Manager, Emergency and Continuity Planning

e  laura_kerek@sfu.ca
   778.782.9858

Nedia Vanderelst

Program Manager,
Insurance & Risk

e  risk_srs@sfu.ca
   778.782.9242

Darrell Akerstrom

Coordinator, Emergency and Continuity Planning

e  darrell_akerstrom@sfu.ca
   778.782.8632

Sherry Hsiao

Secretary,
Enterprise Risk & Resilience

e    sherry_hsiao@sfu.ca
   778.782.6738

Marta Spira

Coordinator, Travel Safety  

e  srs_ts@sfu.ca
   778.782.3560

Environmental Health & Safety 

ADMINISTRATION

Melinda Skura

Senior Director,
Environmental Health & Safety

e  mkulbaba@sfu.ca
   778.782.7264

Anne Carchesio

Safety Assistant

e  carchesi@sfu.ca
   778.782.5935

RESEARCH & LABORATORY SAFETY

Monica Szczepina

Director, Research & Laboratory Safety

e  mszczepi@sfu.ca
   778.782.7265

Jutta Rickers-Haunerland

Program Manager -
Ionizing Radiation Safety

e  jhaunerl@sfu.ca
   778.782.3633

Catherine Peltier

Program Manager -
Chemical Safety & Hazardous Waste

e  cpeltier@sfu.ca
   778.782.8633

Alina Tepes

Radiation Safety Technician

e  atepes@sfu.ca
   778.782.3506

Eric Bouchard

Program Manager -
Biosafety & Laboratory Safety

e  eric_bouchard@sfu.ca
   778.782.6740

Miles Garcia

Research Safety Coordinator

e  mgarcia@sfu.ca
   778.782.5979

OCCUPATIONAL HEALTH & TRADES SAFETY

Tajinder Aujla

Director, Occupational Health and Trades Safety

e  taa19@sfu.ca
   778.782.4978

Vacant

Program Manager -
Environmental & Safety Management Systems

e  taa19@sfu.ca
   778.782.4978

Sandra Stan

Program Manager -
Indoor Environmental Quality (IEQ)

e  sandra_stan@sfu.ca
   778.782.3011

David Fenner

Program Manager -
Hazardous Building Materials

e  david_fenner@sfu.ca
   778.782.6558

Simon Wong

Program Manager -
IAQ & Trades Safety

e  simon_wong_9@sfu.ca
   778.782.3867

Justin Suen

Coordinator, Occupational Health & Trades Safety

e  justin_suen@sfu.ca
   778.782.3386