Ascension 2018

December 6 – 8, 2018 | 8:00 p.m.
Studio T – SFU Goldcorp Centre for the Arts
149 W. Hastings, Vancouver, BC

Students $7
Seniors $10
SFU Faculty / Staff / Alumni $10
General $15

Available online HERE

Ascension is an annual interdisciplinary production that began seven years ago as a collaboration between undergraduate music, dance, production and design, and film students at the SFU School for the Contemporary Arts, with support from the school. It is produced and organized by undergraduate students in the SCA: as creative partners, student performers, composers, choreographers, and lighting designers work together as a team to create a new interdisciplinary work every year. Creative teams often choose to project a dance-based film as part of the production. In the past, outside ensembles were often hired to play live music in the show. This year, the team has decided to give more freedom to composers, allowing them to take on the role of “composer-performer,” giving them agency over how they compose, present, and perform their music. Ascension advocates for creativity and the inclusion of artistic visions through and across the disciplines.


Charlotte Telfer-Wan – Artistic Director  
Vienna Wong – Artistic Dance Director  
Stefan Nazarevich – Artistic Music Director   


Henry Daniel  
Judith Garay  
Sabrina Schroeder


Rita Wei – Stage Manager
Emilee Shackleton – Assistant Stage Manager 
Qiana Yang – Assistant Stage Manager
Christian Ching – Technical Director
Mandeep Sunnerd – Assistant Technical Director     
Margery Liu – Lighting Designer   
Mashid Maleki – Lighting Designer   
Samaya Daker – Lighting Designer
Zeid Abughazaleh – Lighting Operator  
Kevin Kim – Sound/Projection Operator 


Cleo Agar – Co-Choreographer 
Ben Berardini – Composer  
Daniel Blackie – Composer
Anja Graham – Choreographer
Benomi Maratovic-Brome – Composer  
Sam Meadahl – Composer
Brett Palaschuk – Choreographer   
Kestrel Paton – Choreographer
Jackie Ritter – Co-Choreographer
Angela So – Composer
Seana Williams – Co-Choreographer  


Camryn Alyn
Ursula Blanchard
Dawn Briscoe
Brittany DeBoer
Carly Dubreuil
Andrea Isea Galindo
Amy Griffith
Sarah Kennedy
Athena Lewis
Nancy Li
Shannon Lin
Caroline MacCaull
Jaelan Mills
Alex Pickrell
Roya Pishvaei
Bronwyn Pollock
Indigo Porebska-Smith
Mackenzie Seaborn
Kenzie Skoglund
Lynnelle Sura
Melissa Swatez
Daria Vieru
Vienna Wong
Sarah Yu

Ascension is supported by the Simon Fraser Student Society, the Dance Student Union, the Music Student Union, the Theatre Student Union, and the SFU School for the Contemporary Arts.

December 06, 2018